We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like friends”
Review of The Paddock

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Paddock
Ranked #6 of 7 Malpas B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Last minute booking that couldn't have been better if spent weeks searching. From the minute we arrived we felt at home. We were treated like friends and Gail and Steve were so easy to speak with and share time. The rooms were fantastic and clean and airy. The service was outstanding. The garden was beautiful. A tranquil haven but not too far from a well loved visit to Chester and surrounding areas. We can not fault this stay. My biggest regret is not being able to stay longer. The hardest aspect was leaving this lovely home.
We will return and hope it doesn't get too booked up by having such fantastic reviews and hosts. Thank you Gail and Steve. From nina and Steve.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saffron11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail G, Owner at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great reveiw. We love meeting people from all over the world and it is amazing how quickly you often click with guests, finding experiences in common to chat about. Increasingly guests seem to be preferring to stay out of the centre of Chester for a more peaceful stay and then travel in the short distance to visit.. It will be great to see you again when you return to explore our beautiful area in more detail.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 25 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Gail and Steve gave us a lovely welcome, within 20 minutes we were sat in the sunshine on the decking in the garden with tea and cakes (with candles for my daughters' birthday which we only mentioned in chatting on arrival). Lovely clean rooms and facilities, wonderful breakfast, nothing is too much trouble for Gail and Steve, who have great local knowledge - and recommendations on e.g where to eat locally (and even to book for you). We stayed on our visit to Carfest North, and Oulton Park is an easy 30 minute drive away. Our first experience of a B &B as a family - and we will definitely be back. We are worried that anywhere else just won't be as good!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail G, Owner at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

What a wonderful reveiw, thank you so much for taking the time to post it. We were pleased to make your stay enjoyable, it is always great to see a family like yours having so much fun together. There is a lot to see and do in the area and as you say Oulton Park is a lot closer than you wold think, we are getting more guests visiting to attend events there all the while. It would be lovely to see you back again somtime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely B&B, great rooms, immaculately clean and comfortable bed. Welcomed with tea and home baked cake. Wonderful breakfast with locally sourced food. Gail was so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for her. We were cycling the Cheshire Cycleway and The Paddock was an ideal stop over as it was only a few minutes walk from the route. there was also secure, undercover parking for our bikes and only a 5 minute walk to the local pub where good food was available. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jebpgb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail G, Owner at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a great reveiw. We are getting more cyclists visiting us with being on such a major cycle route and it is good to know we are offering what you need in the way of comfy beds, immediate refuelling and a good healthy breakfast to start your next long day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Location, rooms, food, hospitality, friendliness - each one gets excellent from me. Perfect venue for golf buddies to gather and explore some excellent local courses, and Steve is a great guide for that, or alternatively do the walks on the Sandstone Trail. Gail's cooking is second to none - nobody does a full English better! Have stayed at the Paddock before, and the standards never slipfrom being first class. I will undoubtedly return, as Arnie might say . . . 'I'll be back'!

Room Tip: They're all brilliant - but the one with the state-of-the-art shower is terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail G, Owner at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

It will be great to see you back again next year. Hopefully I can make you a different selection of cakes and keep the coffee flowing. Our aim is to make our guests feel at home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just stayed here for the 2nd time for 5 nights visiting relations and friends. The Ski Lodge room is very comfortable and spacious, snowscape pictures on the wall and an ensuite top of the range shower room with an amazing jet spray shower. Beautiful garden views from the breakfast room and landscaped front garden from the bedroom. Fresh real coffee always available, tea coffee making, biscuits and chocolates in the room. Breakfast cooked and/or cereals yogurt and fresh fruit delicious. You couldn't get friendlier hosts than Gail and Steve. A real rural retreat, just perfect. Will certainly go back for a 3rd stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail G, Owner at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for visiting us for a second time and hopefully we will see you again next year. I am pleased that you enjoyed our fresh coffee and cakes. I hope that the small extras we provide made your stay that bit more special. If the sun will shine next year you could take afternoon tea on the decking or in the garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is my second long stay at Gail & Steves (12 days) - I had the boathouse room - cosy very good en suite with a fantastic view of the back garden. The breakfast's are always hot & a wide variety of choice if needed. The best hosts around - Presently in a Dutch hotel wishing I was back at The Paddock. For attendees of the local aviation courses - book this B&B as soon as you can !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avspookDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail G, Owner at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

It was great to have you back to stay with us again, your sense of humour is always welcome at the Paddock. I am glad you appreciated the hot breakfasts, as you know my aim is always to cook good local produce and serve it when you are ready for it. We look forward to seeing you again if you come over for another course. Thank you for posting the reveiw for us and I hope you have a lovely Christmas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have come to attend a training course at Tattenhall and am staying at the Paddock for about 2 weeks. Its a home away from home. The room I am in is the biggest Gail had to offer - so i decided to call it the Princess room. With an attached bathroom and a state of the art shower. Everything about the facility was fantabulous but what really moved me was the hospitality Gail and Steve offered. It was like being with family. Gail took care of our wonderful breakfasts. Every evening she asked what we would like for the next morning. She baked us wonderful cakes for tea. I felt so spoilt. Steve was always around to help and has an great sense of humor - despite of the fact that i locked him out of the house twice. Im going to miss them terribly when i leave. I recommend this place to everybody ......ur going to love it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank birdseyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gail G, Owner at The Paddock, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you so much for writing a fantastic review. We really enjoyed having you stay with us and being able to get to know you and learn about Dubai and India. Having people stay with us from different countries and backgrounds makes our job so interesting . We'd love to see you again and I'll try to produce a different selection of cakes for you to sample.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Malpas hotels
3.1 mi away
Hampton House Farm
Hampton House Farm
#2 of 7 in Malpas
86 reviews
4 mi away
The Hough B&B
The Hough B&B
#5 of 7 in Malpas
22 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mulsford Cottage B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Millmoor Farm Holidays
Millmoor Farm Holidays
#4 of 4 in Malpas
6 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Cholmondeley Arms
4.2 mi away
Millmoor Farm
Millmoor Farm
#2 of 4 in Malpas
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Paddock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Paddock

Address: The Paddock Malpas Road | Tilston, Malpas SY14 7DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Malpas
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Malpas
Hotel Class:4 star — The Paddock 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Paddock offers secluded accommodation in a rural setting with extensive garden. Ideally placed, the B&B is within easy reach of Chester, Wrexham, Carden Park and many local attractions. Three newly refurbished rooms with luxury en suite or private bathroom ensure a comfortable stay before enjoying a locally sourced breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Paddock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Paddock Malpas, Cheshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing