We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large clean room and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Muong Thanh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Muong Thanh Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dien Bien Phu
Perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Large clean room and friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived in DBP on a mid afternoon flight from Hanoi. We were surprised by the size of our room and for the price we paid (about $40 aud) including breakfast was good value for money. The room was clean, tidy, and there was plenty of hot water for our shower. We had dinner at a restaurant about 500 metre toward the city centre, on the opposite side of the road. The food was good local food and very cheap.
We left early the next morning by bus to Sapa so did not eat breakfast at the hotel. The staff were friendly and we were able to communicate by using a bit a of charades, my limited knowledge of Vietnamese and a kind smile.
I wanted to get my hair cut so went into a salon just up from the bus station. A little was lost in the translation, but I ended up with a 30 minute head massage, hair wash for 50,000 dong! Unfortunately no hair cut but a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldmancockatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    34
    46
    15
    5
See reviews for
11
40
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

better than the hotel under the same name in lai chau.
rooms are quite ok, large, clean, tv, and a decent wifi conection.
the overall atmosphere is a bit dull.
relatively pleasant outside swimming pool.
the worst point is the restaurant. staff doesnt speak any english and is very laid back. the food is awful. oil, oil, oil, and oil...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

This is the largest hotel in town, most others were smaller inns or other such. The staff's english was decent, they might have to get a collegue to assist but our questions were all answered. They even helped to book us an out of town trip via taxi, getting us the rate and then requesting the driver. The hotel is quite large, big cavernous dark hallways, and the restaurant portions confusing. The free breakfast (get there EARLY) was in a hall which is near the entry, a bit confusing and get there early or else food runs out. It was an okay breakfast, nothing special and a bit of a carb overload, but there was pho.

The hotel restaurant seemed overpriced, all dishes were more for banquets so we had to go outside next to the hotel entrance to find a simple restaurant and get fried rice. Be prepared to eat a lot of fried rice and pho, not too many restaurants in town or during the day. Its a working city so the hours are geared towards such.

We didn't have any problems with too much noise in the hallways, but you can hear noisy party goers near their cars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tigger2lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
187 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a pleasant, Western style hotel. As typical in Vietnam, everything is just a bit sub-standard (floors not quite level, hallways dark, etc) but the room was large, light, and comfortable. It even had a bathtub. The breakfast buffet is large, mostly Asian, and all mediocre. Very little English is spoken at reception. The gem of this hotel is the pool - a huge, clean, cool excape.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

The hotel is massive, relatively modern and clean. They also have tennis courts, swimming pool, coffee shop and a bar. Only a couple of staff spoke English, but most were still friendly and helpful. Free wifi was good in the lobby and ok in the room. The restaurant food was reasonably priced and good quality, free breakfast was ok, fairly cold and not much left if you don't get in early.The hotel is quiet expensive for what it is, but in Dien Bien Pho you don't have much choice, a dindgy questhouse or here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

after hours in the heat, we arrived and quite happy about the rooms (airco), the swimming pool, breakfast, ...

this hotel has no real thrills but is a nice place to explore the region of Dien Bien.

the negative comments are not to be compared by what I felt and saw, therefore I can recommend this place. staff is ok, a bit slow and most of them only speak vietnames, so communicating can be a bit difficult.

the food is something I can't recommend, it was cheap but I believe that the restaurant just next to the hotel was cheaper and better

bathrooms are well equiped and the big swimmingpool is a welcoming refreshment after the heat during trips in the war fields

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benjaminv816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halong bay, Vietnam
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Central hotel but this is a love market where some nights, there were girls knocking your door. The hotel is living on prostitution. Be careful !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DragonCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dien Bien Phu hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dien Bien Phu
0.3 mi away
Phuong Nam Hotel
Phuong Nam Hotel
#1 of 7 in Dien Bien Phu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Him Lam Resort
Him Lam Resort
#5 of 7 in Dien Bien Phu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
1.2 mi away
A1 Hotel
A1 Hotel
#2 of 7 in Dien Bien Phu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cong Doan Dien Bien Hotel
Cong Doan Dien Bien Hotel
#4 of 7 in Dien Bien Phu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muong Thanh Hotel
Muong Thanh Hotel
#2 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruby Hotel
Ruby Hotel
#1 of 7 in Dien Bien Phu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muong Thanh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muong Thanh Hotel

Property: Muong Thanh Hotel
Address: 514, 7/5 str, Him Lam ward, Dien Bien Phu, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Dien Bien Province > Dien Bien Phu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Dien Bien Phu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muong Thanh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attracting a lot of budget travelers, this well located hotel in the center of town is reasonably priced with simple and comfortable rooms. Muong Thanh Dien Bien Phu Hotel has a fair range of recreational facilities including a large swimming pool, a sauna, a gym, and a karaoke room. The hotel is a mere stroll from the city center, and guests can walk through the local market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Muong Thanh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muong Thanh Hotel Dien Bien Phu, Dien Bien, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing