We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Aussies in a foreigh place!”
Review of Muong Thanh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Muong Thanh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Dien Bien Phu
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Two Aussies in a foreigh place!”
Reviewed October 28, 2011

When we got to DBP, we felt pretty out of place! We stayed at Muong Thanh for one night (we came there from Hanoi to see the war museums and have a look around). I wouldn't say it was bad at all. The hotel looks huge from outside and it's grubby in the lobby. The staff have trouble with complex english, but simple stuff seemed to be ok. Some girls were better than others. We wanted to see if we could hire a bike somewhere, and one girl behind the desk offered to bring us her personal one from home! Lovely, but she didn't really understand us...she was very friendly and would go out of her way to help us. We exchanged money readily, and there's good internet available in the lobby.

Our room was simple, you get there by going up a lift which is slow! But we were very happy with the room and bathroom. Clean, and dated, but good value.

If you want to use the pool, you have to pay a fee. We didn't bother. The restaurant for dinner was average...but we didn't want to go out on the street again (we'd had a REALLY bad experience at lunch with a local restauarant...).

Breakfast is again average, it's a buffet. But what more would you expect? Most people we've heard from use DBP as a stop over to other places. I don't think it's intended for long stays. To be honest, I was expecting worse from reading other reviews prior to coming!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morgaine_Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    35
    47
    15
    6
See reviews for
11
42
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
South East London
Level 6 Contributor
357 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

Stayed here for one night after travelling down from Sapa by car and waiting for a flight to Hanoi. The outside is very grand with a selection of strange animals and statues. However, once inside the staff neither spoke or understood much English which made communication very difficult. The lift didn't work properly and the breakfast was appalling, with no western style breakfast food at all, apart from some cardboard like white bread. The guy cooking the eggs looked half asleep and his apron was filthy.
The room was was well appointed but the jacuzzi bath did not work at all and the lighting in the bathroom was dim to say the least!
The bar had a very limited stock and shut at 10.00.
The town of Dien Bien Phu is worth a visit but the problem is that if you need to stay overnight the choice of hotels is really very limited.
The problem here is that if you need to stay in Dien Bien Phu there really is very little choice

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dien Bien Phu hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I had such bad experiences from both Muong Thanh Hotels including this one and the other in Sapa that totally ruined my north Vietnam tour last Feb. The four star rating which I believe based on self-rating is a total joke. The facade is grand but everything else is worse than 1 star. No heating, hot water on and off, bathroom was wet at all times due to leaking (in a brand new hotel!), very bad smell in room at all times, breakfast was almost non-existent with undrinkable coffee, bed sheets were damp and smelly. Need I say more? I'll stay away from any Muong Thanh hotels ever!

Room Tip: None.Just never stay in any of this group's hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Therese O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Muong Thanh Hotel was our second try to find a reasonable accommodation in DBP. The pool and the lobby looked really grand when we entered and we felt a bit out of place with our bag packs. The receptionist greeted us quite friendly and one of the many employers who populate the place showed us a room. Unfortunately it was reeking of cigarette smoke. We were shown another room, this time the sheets were not changed (stains and hair). The third room looked kind of OK. Later we found out that we shared it with a geko. I don't mind gekos in my room but my girlfriends hates it and it is certainly not standard in these kind of hotels. The plumbing was faulty (no "u" under the sink) which was responsible for bad smell in the bath room.

The service is worth mentioning. The receptionist was friendly but pathetically helpless. Ordering a taxi for the next morning or paying by visa were beyond her knowledge.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellenreiter125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi/vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

This is the best hotel in this small historic town since there is no other around.

Goodies:
- room
-TV
- free internet

Badies:
- the whole hotel has a communis design with a lot of concrete animals !!! funny
- pool has to be paid extra ( 20000 VND = 1 USD)
- Sauna ( 250000 VND = 12 USD ) !!
- the secury can open your room door at any given time ( they oped at 6 am and check whether we are still there !!! and kept chatting in the corridor over walky talky !!) after that we could not sleep any more
- the cook at the egg station at breakfast cooked the egg with 1 hand and talked with the other hand, spit all over the egg !!!! what a hammer
- massage is a covered brothel, the girls are prepared to do fuuny thing with you, but they might ask for 100 USD !!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed in this property for one night on the 57th anniversary of the French defeat in 1954 which made for a very memorable day. This is clearly the best property in DBP, but in saying that, come with both a sense of adventure and humor, which, if you choose to visit DBP, is a given.

The rooms are simple, clean, and Vietnam comfortable. The beds are hard, as is the case pretty much everywhere in Asia. There were no bugs in the room, but consider wearing insect repellant, especially at dusk, if you are outside.

As is the case with many hotels severely off the beaten track in Vietnam, the common areas and restaurants have a strange sense of scale and peculiar lighting. It's as if they've read a book about western hotels and tried to make the areas appear opulent in a western style. The result never quite works, but it is intriguing nonetheless and satisfies the locals who seem quite keen on their versions of big western style "white weddings" in what they perceive are fancy hotels.

There was no wireless internet in the rooms, but there was wireless in the reception area as well as three desktop computers. Keep in mind that unless you are clever with computers, Facebook and other social networking sites are not available in Vietnam.

I don't recall if there was an in-room safe. I'm thinking there wasn't.

Unless you have an iron stomach and an enormous sense of adventure, you are best advised to eat in the hotel. In saying that, the food is a mixture of Vietnamese and their curious interpretation of western food. Given a choice, I'd stick to the Vietnamese and keep a supply of toothpicks nearby. As alluded to in other reviews, the breakfast buffet is pretty awful, but, again, you're in DBP. Did you really expect more?

There is a karaoke bar in the basement, but keep in mind that "karaoke bar" is a code word for massage parlor in that part of the world. There were no shortage of BMW, Mercedes and Lexus vehicles in the parking lot, driven in from Hanoi with politicos enjoying the fruits of their position. I'm not sure this is what Uncle Ho had in mind, but there you go. I guess that's progress.

There are a couple of roadside "fresh beer" joints about a 15 minute walk from the hotel, (turn right when you leave the property), but you're best advised to stick with bottled beer, which is ridiculously inexpensive.

The area is safe and the locals are delightful, though we were well aware the locals were asking our guide where we were from, and exceedingly happy we were from Canada.

DBP isn't for everybody, but if you are intrigued by military history, it is well worth the short flight from Hanoi, especially if you have a guide and especially if you can plan your travels around May 7th.

Strange as it sounds, DBP was a highlight of our extended trip and strangely enough, the Muong Thanh was one of the reasons. It's a curiously strange place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TedBellScottsdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

Perhaps the best accommodation in DBP as of February 2011. Perhaps the only tourists who come here are those interested in military history. (The French were vanquished here in 1952 by the Vietnamese forces led by Gen. Vo Nguyen Giap on Ho Chi Minh;s orders.) Situated next to what used to be the French military encampment “Beatrice” (yes, all the sites were named alphabetically for examples of Gallic pulchritude!), the hotel name is more a reference to the extensive rice fields that once radiated out from this spot. Traffic today? Military history buffs, French war vets looking to open old wounds and then some business travellers, and NGO and aid agency workers, in what happens to be the second-poorest province of Viet Nam. The rooms in this hotel on the edge of town are very decent although they appear a little unfinished, rough around the edges. They have all mod cons, including hot water (needs turning on), air conditioning, broadband connectivity, and cable TV. There is a decent restaurant in the hotel, open for lunch & dinner, with a wide choice for all, including vegetarians. The buffet breakfast, however, leaves much to be desired with fresh fruit and eggs to order being the only decent things on offer. The hotel has 4 renovated tennis courts at the rear as well as a bar and two gazebo-style restaurants/cafes that I did not visit. The gift shop is just about okay, selling—among other things—the rice for which the province is famous! There is also a swimming pool right out front, which does not make for much privacy, I would imagine, since the neighbouring buildings tower over the compound walls. Was there in winter and the pool looked thoroughly unkempt. In summer, I reckon a lot of town residents also frequent the pool as they were doing the hotel’s tennis courts. Motley, quirky concrete statuary outdoors—near the pool and the tennis courts—includes a giant dragon, tribal folk in grass skirts, rhinos and giraffes, medieval knights on horseback and the four main characters from the Chinese epic, Journey to the West. The place to stay if you ever find yourself in DBP overnight!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peneliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dien Bien Phu
0.3 mi away
Phuong Nam Hotel
Phuong Nam Hotel
#1 of 7 in Dien Bien Phu
13 reviews
1.2 mi away
A1 Hotel
A1 Hotel
#4 of 7 in Dien Bien Phu
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Him Lam Resort
Him Lam Resort
#5 of 7 in Dien Bien Phu
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Cong Doan Dien Bien Hotel
Cong Doan Dien Bien Hotel
#3 of 7 in Dien Bien Phu
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muong Thanh Hotel
Muong Thanh Hotel
#3 of 25 in Thanh Hoa
18 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ruby Hotel
Ruby Hotel
#1 of 7 in Dien Bien Phu
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Muong Thanh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muong Thanh Hotel

Property: Muong Thanh Hotel
Address: 514, 7/5 str, Him Lam ward, Dien Bien Phu, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Dien Bien Province > Dien Bien Phu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Dien Bien Phu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muong Thanh Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attracting a lot of budget travelers, this well located hotel in the center of town is reasonably priced with simple and comfortable rooms. Muong Thanh Dien Bien Phu Hotel has a fair range of recreational facilities including a large swimming pool, a sauna, a gym, and a karaoke room. The hotel is a mere stroll from the city center, and guests can walk through the local market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Muong Thanh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muong Thanh Hotel Dien Bien Phu, Dien Bien, Vietnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing