We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”
Review of KP Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
KP Grand Hotel
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Chanthaburi
New Baltimore, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Centrally located”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This hotel is perfect if you are interested in buying gems. It's right in the center of town and it's the tallest building so you can't miss it. Right next to the hotel is Robinson mall and flea market which serves locally made food and other small items. If you are looking for evening excitement this place is not for you. Once gets dark it seems nothing was opened. The food varieties around the hotels were very few. A decent noodles stall across the street and a restaurants which serves good food but on the higher price range. The hotel did offer good variety of breakfast. However, I did asked them to remove the tray of rice porridge since it had hair(s) in it. Personally, as fast as he took that tray to the back and brought it back out, it looks fishy. I stayed away after that.

The hotel was clean but it was nothing impressive. The room were a bit dated and need fresh new paint. We were on the 15th floor and had a good view of town. The hotel didn't really offer anything to their patronage. They weren't friendly and yet weren't rude either. I guess they were very nonchalant with all their guess. They didn't go out of their way to help anyone for sure. Their concierge service was ok. I have a feeling that the concierge make additional money selling taxis services to their customers on side trips, so it's better to negotiate on your own. I don't know but that's just through observation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adpentinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    25
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
11
15
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Going to Chanthaburi to buy gems? The closet big hotel is across the bridge and about a ten minute walk to the center of the gem market. I am not sure about anything else being close by, but their breakfast buffet and hotel staff more than make up for any deficiencies.

Only one person spoke much English, but she was extremely helpful by introducing me to local contacts for my business.

Room are adequately furnished if somewhat worn, but still clean.

Room Tip: Higher is generally better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eraldo7411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, good bathroom with nice white towels. We stayed on the 16th floor with nice views over the city. We could see the famous Catholic Church from our room. Breakfast was excellent but we don't know where everyone goes at night because the beautiful 18th floor restaurant was empty apart from us two. There was a great piano player/ singer and two girl singers entertaining an empty room. Prices were very reasonable at less than $10 for dinner for 2. Great jewellery shop attached to the hotel too. The hotel organised us a driver for day which was great too to see all the tourist spots. No night life so don't come here if you want Bangkok type of night life. The hotel has a lovely pool on the third floor which is a actually above the jewellery shop. Free WIFi in all rooms was handy too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oncewereworkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

1.The hotel is ideally located near the gemstones market.......perfect for the business as well as family purpose

2. Friendly and helpful staff always willing to fulfil the guests' requirements.

3.The fitness centre opens late though ....at 1200 hrs

4.No vegetarian options available.

5.Try the Soni Yadav's restaurant for pure veg and Indian food near by

6.Neat and well maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guptaeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel has the making to be a fine hotel but that is where it stops. I was a walk in as I wanted to go to namtok phliu national park and it rained that day I got the superior room on the 8th floor there was a good will gesture of free greetings drink on the 18th which is quite a pleasant view. This is one of the tallest buildings in chanthaburi. The whole floor had a damp musty smell and left over room service plates sitting on a table outside the lift it was there in the next. morning. My bedroom had a sickening smell to it as well but had a good view TV was the old tube type and the remote worked once or twice then it wouldn't work due to flat battery. Breakfast was ordinary but admittedly got there at 9:30 and I think it finished at 10:00am. Everything is rather dated but is in a good location to markets which are a supprise

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chanthaburi hotels

Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location of the hotel is good in proximity to the river and the various gem stores (that were unfortunately closed during our stay). The room was rather big and could have offered a nice view over the city if the windows would have been cleaned in the last weeks/months. The bathroom showed mold and the water in the pool was green. The only highlight was the staff that was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 05Traveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hotel is located in the gem street area, walking distance to the local chatuchak, robinsons. Rooms are spacious. 7-11 just opposite the hotel so no problem if you feel hungry at night, there are some local foodsellers just beside the 7-11 store too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabyPanda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chanthaburi hotels
1.1 mi away
Maneechan Resort & Hotel
Maneechan Resort & Hotel
#1 of 23 in Chanthaburi
150 reviews
1.4 mi away
New Travel Lodge
New Travel Lodge
#5 of 23 in Chanthaburi
56 reviews
3.6 mi away
Blue Rabbit Hotel
Blue Rabbit Hotel
#7 of 23 in Chanthaburi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverawan Hotel
Riverawan Hotel
#6 of 23 in Chanthaburi
6 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kasemsarn Hotel
Kasemsarn Hotel
#4 of 23 in Chanthaburi
95 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pimdara Hotel
Pimdara Hotel
#12 of 23 in Chanthaburi
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KP Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KP Grand Hotel

Property: KP Grand Hotel
Address: 35/200-201 Trirat Road | Chanthanimit, Muang, Chanthaburi 22000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chanthaburi Province > Chanthaburi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 23 Hotels in Chanthaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KP Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your KP Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing