We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sized rooms, good breakfast, close to the river and gem markets”
Review of KP Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
KP Grand Hotel
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Chanthaburi
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms, good bathroom with nice white towels. We stayed on the 16th floor with nice views over the city. We could see the famous Catholic Church from our room. Breakfast was excellent but we don't know where everyone goes at night because the beautiful 18th floor restaurant was empty apart from us two. There was a great piano player/ singer and two girl singers entertaining an empty room. Prices were very reasonable at less than $10 for dinner for 2. Great jewellery shop attached to the hotel too. The hotel organised us a driver for day which was great too to see all the tourist spots. No night life so don't come here if you want Bangkok type of night life. The hotel has a lovely pool on the third floor which is a actually above the jewellery shop. Free WIFi in all rooms was handy too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oncewereworkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 65 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2013

1.The hotel is ideally located near the gemstones market.......perfect for the business as well as family purpose

2. Friendly and helpful staff always willing to fulfil the guests' requirements.

3.The fitness centre opens late though ....at 1200 hrs

4.No vegetarian options available.

5.Try the Soni Yadav's restaurant for pure veg and Indian food near by

6.Neat and well maintained.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guptaeti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel has the making to be a fine hotel but that is where it stops. I was a walk in as I wanted to go to namtok phliu national park and it rained that day I got the superior room on the 8th floor there was a good will gesture of free greetings drink on the 18th which is quite a pleasant view. This is one of the tallest buildings in chanthaburi. The whole floor had a damp musty smell and left over room service plates sitting on a table outside the lift it was there in the next. morning. My bedroom had a sickening smell to it as well but had a good view TV was the old tube type and the remote worked once or twice then it wouldn't work due to flat battery. Breakfast was ordinary but admittedly got there at 9:30 and I think it finished at 10:00am. Everything is rather dated but is in a good location to markets which are a supprise

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

The location of the hotel is good in proximity to the river and the various gem stores (that were unfortunately closed during our stay). The room was rather big and could have offered a nice view over the city if the windows would have been cleaned in the last weeks/months. The bathroom showed mold and the water in the pool was green. The only highlight was the staff that was exceptionally friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 05Traveller05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Hotel is located in the gem street area, walking distance to the local chatuchak, robinsons. Rooms are spacious. 7-11 just opposite the hotel so no problem if you feel hungry at night, there are some local foodsellers just beside the 7-11 store too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabyPanda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stay in KP Grand Hotel every year. That is because we want to have a different feeling from staying in the countryside to be in a town. Chanthaburi is a busy town on Fridays and Saturdays because of the gem-auctions. In front of KP Grand there is a beergarden with live music in the weekends which make the stay in Chanthaburi even better. The hotel has a good breakfast buffet and a good restaurant. In the beergarden you can also enjoy good food. The rooms are spacy and clean. The staff is helpfull and has a correct behaviour. The swimming pool is not attractive. Nobody is using it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaifanOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night with my wife and two kids as we planned to go to the early moring mass the next day in the Catholic Church nearby. Overall I would say it's a decent stay. The first thing that I noticed as the room was opened was an unpleasant smell (like stale tobacco). The smell went away after about half an hour later. The room was spacious and pitch black when you turn the lights off. The A/C was okay but the TV has poor reception.

The Good: Really nice breakfast selection. The lobby makes you feel you are in a 4 or 5 star establishment. Ample parking

The Bad: Funny smell inside the rooms.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chanthaburi hotels
3.6 mi away
Blue Rabbit Hotel
Blue Rabbit Hotel
#5 of 23 in Chanthaburi
5 reviews
4.7 mi away
Eco Inn Chanthaburi
Eco Inn Chanthaburi
#9 of 23 in Chanthaburi
1 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maneechan Resort & Hotel
Maneechan Resort & Hotel
#1 of 23 in Chanthaburi
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riverawan Hotel
Riverawan Hotel
#6 of 23 in Chanthaburi
9 reviews
4 mi away
Pimdara Hotel
Pimdara Hotel
#8 of 23 in Chanthaburi
4 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kasemsarn Hotel
Kasemsarn Hotel
#3 of 23 in Chanthaburi
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KP Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KP Grand Hotel

Address: 35/200-201 Trirat Road | Chanthanimit, Muang, Chanthaburi 22000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chanthaburi Province > Chanthaburi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Chanthaburi
Price Range: $31 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — KP Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your KP Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing