We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here Unless You Have To”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chanthaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The River Guest House
Ranked #21 of 37 Chanthaburi B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 7, 2010

My boyfriend and I were horribly disappointed by this Lonely Planet recommended hotel. The hotel was not only extremely dated but was very unclean. We found two dead cockroaches in the bathroom. We were shocked to find a massive live one under the pillows. The receptionist did give us a new room when my boyfriend presented the fiend in a glass cup. That room was cleaner and bug free. We both opted to skip taking a shower due to the condition of the bathroom.

The breakfast was pitiful. This place may have had charm at one point in time but the owners have not done anything to keep it.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Starrykady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (34)
There are newer reviews for The River Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 34 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2009

It's been twenty years since I've been in Thailand and when i was here last I had my own apartment, so I was a bit leery about staying in a guesthouse for more than a few nights. But the minute I met the Innkeeper, Nuch, and felt the warmness of the River Guesthouse I knew I could call this place home for the month I stayed.
The rates range from 150 baht with fan and shared bathroom to 350 baht with air, TV, hot water and as we called it "the Balcony of Life." There are rooms that range in between depending on what amenities you desire.
We happened to get an even better rate for two of their best rooms on the 4th floor because of our extended stay. If you stay short term you are provided with a breakfast and daily housekeeping.
The location is as good as it gets, right on the river and the "Gem Bridge" and a short walk to all the gem action and the Namphu Market. There's even a 7/11 about five minutes away, but we preferred to spread the wealth and purchased our necessities from the many little shops within walking distance.
I can't say enough about the staff. Nuch was gracious, cheerful, funny and helpful. I've forgotten alot of my Thai and she was always there to correct my pronunciation and tone. Maem, the main housekeeper was friendly and did a great job on the rooms.
The large public patio on the ground floor is airy and though it is just next to the bridge feels secluded and peaceful. The Bangkok Post was provided each day and there is a lender's library of English and Spanish books.
Their public internet computer was down while we were there, but fortunately, I had a mini laptop and the internet service was free in the lobby. None in the rooms.
I must say, though, my favorite feature was the enormous balcony for the rooms on the 4th floor facing the river. I was able to do my full yoga and exercise regiment every morning looking out at the river and we even had a few poker games at night. The third and second floors also have balconies, but just not as large. The room was comfortable, but you just can't beat the "Balcony of Life."
I felt lucky to find a quaint little city like Chantaburi, as Bangkok and Chiang Mai (my past homes while here) have grown up considerably in the past twenty years. But I felt even luckier securing a long term situation at the River Guest House. Can't go wrong.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
Thank _2013643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gatoloco1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank aungkitr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
Thank Atk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chanthaburi hotels
0.4 mi away
Kasemsarn Hotel
Kasemsarn Hotel
#4 of 23 in Chanthaburi
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riverawan Hotel
Riverawan Hotel
#6 of 23 in Chanthaburi
7 reviews
0.3 mi away
KP Grand Hotel
KP Grand Hotel
#17 of 23 in Chanthaburi
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tamajun Hotel
Tamajun Hotel
#1 of 50 in Chanthaburi
29 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hop Inn Chanthaburi
Hop Inn Chanthaburi
#1 of 37 in Chanthaburi
20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baan Luang Rajamaitri Historic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Guest House

Address: 3/5-8 Srichan Rd. | T. Wat Mai. A Muang, Chanthaburi 22000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chanthaburi Province > Chanthaburi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Chanthaburi
Number of rooms: 70

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing