We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated and quiet”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chanthaburi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Al Medina Beach House
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Chanthaburi
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in August in the Rabat room on the ground floor for 4550 baht per night, inclusive of breakfast. It is debatable whether everything in this resort is Moroccan in style, but since we are not in Morocco, any lapses could be overlooked. Some would argue this place is overpriced.

RECEPTION
We found the staff to be friendly and helpful. A staff came out to greet us when we got out the car and helped to take our luggage to the car when we checked out. We were served iced lemongrass juice while waiting to be checked in. We booked and paid in advance during a travel fair months before, so check-in was quick. We had booked the Sale room but due to electricity problem in the room, we were upgraded immediately to the bigger Rabat room at no extra charge. We were quite happy with that. The staff helped us to move our luggage between rooms.

LOCATION
If you are looking for a nice and quiet getaway not heavy on touristy activities or entertainment that you usually find in cities (i.e. nightclub, fine dining, theatres, etc), then this is not the place for you. It is located at the far western end of the Khun Vimarn beach and is far from any major sightseeing spots. Nearby are other lower-end beach front resorts and outdoor restaurants, but nothing more. There are no convenient stores or supermarkets within walking distance. The beach is right in front of the resort, although the water is muddy and not particularly attractive. Most people come by car, although I heard there are minivans leaving from Victory Monument and/or other locations within Bangkok that bring you to Chanthaburi (not sure, however, where they drop you).

ROOM
Our room has large windows and a healthy dose of natural light. The whole building seems to be built with quality materials, with thick walls that insulate well against the heat outside. This is evident in the coolness of our room (may be warmer for upstairs rooms) without turning on the air-con. The mattress is comfortable and is placed on an elevated platform. In the Rabat room, the platform is much bigger than the mattress so you have ample room to sit on.

The room opens up to a small porch, half of which is taken up by a small open air tub with a built-in seat, as well as with a shower head above the tub. However, the porch overlooks the garden with little partition, so it is not very private and you certainly cannot take a shower or a soak naked.

The doors to the room, however, have gaps around the edges and are thus not very sound-proof. On a positive note, it was great to fall asleep to the sound of waves breaking on the beach. Some insects do get into the room, but we did not have any major problems with them (only the occasional ant).

ACCESSORIES
The room comes with an air-con, which to the credit of the designer is not aimed at the bed! There is a small fridge (with a few soda and bottles of beer you can enjoy at a charge), a DVD player, and a medium-size TV (not flat-screen). On the second floor you will find a big shelf with a small selection of mostly English and Thai movies (DVD and VCD) that you can borrow at no charge. There is small wardrobe with a hair-dryer and safety box inside.

Two bottles of water at room temperature are provided at no charge and two more in the fridge. They served us a plate of pomelo (already peeled) when we first checked in. There is even a box of dominoes for each room. Hot water can be provided upon request though it would have been nice if a few tea bags are provided (hint: bring your own tea bags or instant coffee).

The Rabat room comes with two small low chairs (supposedly Moroccan, but what do I know) and a low coffee table, all placed on a bamboo mat.

There is a reading lamp next to the bed.

There is no pool or fitness room.

INTERNET
There is free wifi in the lobby and on the second floor common area, but the signal does not reach our room or the rooftop.

BATHROOM
The bathroom in the Rabat room is reasonably spacious for two people. There is hot water for the shower and water pressure is good. Shower head is removable. Towels, big and small, are provided. The toiletries provided include: two glasses, a shower cap, a bar of soap, shampoo, bath gel, and a pack of q-tips. There are no hooks in the bathroom, but sufficient shelf space, as well as a short ladder, apparently used for hanging towels/clothes.

MEALS
Breakfast is included in the room price and is served with coffee, tea or ovaltine and with a mixed pineapple/papaya blended iced drink. You get to choose one of 3 dishes. It is served in the lobby, on the porch, on the beachfront platforms with tables/chairs just outside the hotel, or on the roof top.

For lunch and dinner, you could either eat at the hotel or at one of the cheaper restaurants just down the road to the left of the resort (15-minute walk), which serve pretty good fresh seafood dishes plus the usual Thai numbers. We had dinner at the resort both nights we were there, and you can order in advance and tell them when you wish to start. The second night we had them serve dinner on the rooftop, which was quite cool and breezy after-dark (though get your mosquito repellant ready). They have a 'house red' but we didn't try it and would certainly encourage you to bring your own wine. Beer is readily available in the other restaurants down the street and at a cheaper price.

The food at the resort is not exceptional but is fine, though definitely overpriced. The menu is mostly Thai, with a few Western dishes here and there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Machaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (34)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 34 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2011

I get to stay in Al Medina with my husband 2 weeks ago. We got the biggest room on 2nd floor. The room doesn't look as good as photo shown in website. Amenities in room is not adequate and not worth for a 9,000 THB per night value. Breakfast is weird but the coffee is good. The beach is quiet and somehow private. Staffs are very friendly and has service mind. I also found some corners are good for photo shoot.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dba_7181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Pro: Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is delicious, delicate and stylish. Many nice spots for photo taking.

Con: Location is far from anything. Beach is not beautiful and can't swim and no activity. think twice if you will stay there more than one day. Pool at the bulcony is so so. It had insect at night and it's not far from the street so we afraid there was not very private so we did not really enjoy it much. Some spots are better to get renovated.

Overall Iquite satisfied. However, Chantaburi is a bit far from BKK and there was nothing much to do there. The hotel was nice but I don't think i will go there again as I have gone through it all in one day. From the same price, itis better to stay at Boutique hotel in Huahin.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kunny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

My boyfriend & I expected a small getaway to an enchanted Moroccan style boutique hotel on a quiet beach. Everything on the website convinced us to pick Al Madina. We paid over 10,000 THB for a 2-night stay and ended up with sth below 30% of its price. All rooms were well decorated, and, as they promised, had Moroccan touch here & there. But they really have to work hard on maintenance. The room was filled with insects and peeling walls. The jacuzzi (a.k.a open-air cold tub) was filled with so many insects that we could not soak in. Some furnitures were broken down. It was like a deserted mansion. They offered a quiet beach as promised, but the sharp rocks & tides kept us away from the sea. The breakfast was horrible. We couldn't believe they would serve fried chopped-pork-mixed-with-flour-and-bones in the ABF. On the second night, our room was filled with mosquitoes and the most horrible thing, Paederus beetles!! My boyfriend got many terrible burns from this dangerous bug and it was so painful. Never again to experiment Moroccan fancy in Chantaburi!!!
Pro: friendly staff, quiet beach, creative decor.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank 101Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

The distance from Bangkok to Chanthaburi is quite far but when I arrived the hotel, I know that it's worth. The hotel is cute and small consisted of 8 guestrooms. It is not surprising to me that we are just only one couple in this hotel in the first night. The staffs are friendly and make guests feel warm like I stay in my own house. The decoration in hotel is chic and wonderful. I enjoyed taking a photo very much.

In the first night, we stayed in "Fez" room. The good characteristic in this room is the private jacuzzi. This hotel doesn't have a pool so refreshing myself in jacuzzi with a sea view is so wonferful. The second night, we stayed in "Marrakesh" room. This room has a panoramic sea and mountain view. To tell you the truth, the view is not stunning like I expected but the room is cosy and comfortable.

We also had a dinner on the rooftop of the hotel. It is such a romantic dinner. Just the two of us with delicious food, the dome and candles.

However, in the second night, it is the peak holiday in Thailand so all the hotels in that area are fully occupied and it affected the electricity of the hotel. The room I stayed named "Marrakesh" have an electricity problem all night. If you want to stay here please avoid this room because I heard from the staffs that other rooms are fine and had no any problems.

Another thing that I need to suggest for other tourists is, this hotel is very near mountain and beach so the animals neighbor like insects and others may visit you. If you are allergic to mosquitoes, please be well-prepared. Bring a mosquitoes repellent with you.

If you are looking for a hideaway peaceful resort where you can be chill-out and take your time with your beloved, it is your answer. but if you prefer the big hotel with a familiar name like Hyatt, Hilton. You may be disappointed and feel that the price you pay is so expensive.

have a good stay !!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank sweetpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2010

Al Medina is amazing. Wow! Lovely style. Very creative. Each room is differently designed. Gorgeous roof terrace. Lovely quiet location with good beach right opposite the road. Somewhere to chill and do nothing for a few days. Or explore the surrounding area which is very unspoilt, remote and different.

Nice touches were a DVD/CD library, loads of magazines, ability to have breakfast in a sala on the beach, incredible design and little touches all around to surprise one.

The manager was so very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.

I'd say the only downside was that it was very pricey, so not your everyday type of spot, but definitely worth it for a treat or romantic break (during the week days when the rates are a little lower).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Julian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

it was quite, peaceful, with great service. Room was comfortable. Menu food was very good. Breakfast was just ok. Great place to relax and see the area. the beach is lovely, until you get up close, then you see the trash. Ok for a walk, but not for going in the water or laying out. The staff was extremely helpful and we really enjoyed our time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nancylee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chanthaburi
5.1 mi away
Chaolao Cabana Resort
Chaolao Cabana Resort
#12 of 23 in Chanthaburi
62 reviews
17.7 mi away
Maneechan Resort & Hotel
Maneechan Resort & Hotel
#1 of 23 in Chanthaburi
169 reviews
4.6 mi away
Chaolao Tosang Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.8 mi away
Riverawan Hotel
Riverawan Hotel
#6 of 23 in Chanthaburi
9 reviews
16.6 mi away
KP Grand Hotel
KP Grand Hotel
#16 of 23 in Chanthaburi
65 reviews
0.4 mi away
Faasai Resort & Spa
Faasai Resort & Spa
#4 of 23 in Chanthaburi
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Medina Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Medina Beach House

Address: 99 M.7 Kung Vimarn Beach | Nayaiarm, Chanthaburi 22170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chanthaburi Province > Chanthaburi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Chanthaburi
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Al Medina Beach House Hotel Chanthaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing