We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxation and Fresh Air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Faasai Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Chanthaburi
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxation and Fresh Air”
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Another great stay at FaaSai
The staff do a great job, even those not confident in their English, and the food (at least the Thai food, we didn't try any other!) was authentic and excellent.
Great rooms, comfortable clean and with all mod cons, and lovely terrace / balconies, where we sat out to watch sun rise and sun set!
Lovely pool, and beach a short walk away, and lots of potential in local tours to aquarium, mangrove forest etc.
Our two little girls had a great time, and want to go back as soon as possible.
This is truly excellent for those who value simplicity and comfort!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pradiphat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    26
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
40
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Many hotels claim to be eco-friendly, but Faasai walks the walk. Very pleasant, reasonably-priced, simple accommodation, friendly and helpful staff. The co-owner, Bronwen Evans (New Zealand), goes out of her way to make guests feel welcome and comfortable. Ask her about "energetic molecules" and you'll get an education into a natural lifestyle you might not have been aware of. Terrific food.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friendofganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponsonby, Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We loved the idea of going somewhere before the crowds come along and spoil it so we chose Faasai Resort & Spa. It is near the quiet fishing villages and beaches of Chanthaburi . It has about fifteen rooms, is comfortable and relaxing with beautiful tropical gardens and is just a 5 minute walk to Kung Wiman Beach which is gorgeous and unpopulated.
Faasi was recently chosen as Best Small Accommodation in the Green Awards for Thailand tourism and no wonder. The building and garden are beautiful, there are many rare trees and herbs, solar water panels and it even has its own conservation project with wetlands and freshwater springs close to the resort. We loved the house manager Sula, who is an amazing cook and gives fantastic spa treatments and Thai massages.

It was the best bed we had on our Asian holiday and the only place where we could read in bed. It gets very dark quickly so we enjoyed our bedside lights. There were all sorts of interesting articles to read and we enjoyed having a drink in the beautiful garden . We explored the local area by bike and also rented an old utility which cost 400 Baht [$12US] for half a day. We got there by taxi for $80US and this was organised for us by the resort so it was painless. It was about a two and a half hour drive from the international airport so we did not even have to go into Bangkok city.

Brand spanking new roads have been going up in the district as the
government is starting to open up the east coast to tourism so if you want
a really authentic experience it would be a good idea to go soon. We will try and get back there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatPonsTeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2010

After the great reviews we read on Tripadvisor and their website our expectations were high. From the moment we entered the resort we were a bit disappointed. The garden especially was not well kept. We don't support the Thai way of gardening where every liitle leaf on the ground is swept immediately but everything looked a bit shabby. Bricks missing in boarders, everywhere weed or it looked like that, anyhow everything grew everywhere. We didn't see any gardener either the 4 days we stayed there. If they maintained it more the garden would have been very beautiful.
We had a brick bungalow. We were very enthousiast about the spacious balcony. It was very relaxing to sit there, with a view on the mountains, sensing the nature, airy. The room was ok but wasn't as tasteful decorated as the website suggests. Just like any other ordinary hotel in Thailand, impersonal. The bathroom was nice with a big tiled bath but everything looked a bit shabby. The eating area could also be nicer. Just next to the space where they park their cars. Not a very ecological feeling. The food was tasteful though, fresh from the garden, good selection, although their forest cuisine was not available. Also they couldn't offer every meal fish. That's a pity because you expect that when you stay near the see and near a fishing village.... Another minus was the walk to the beach. It was a 10 minutes walk with small kids along a big road with not a lot of traffic but very hot because of a lack of shade and far from "romantic". The walk through the forest to the beach was not possible because of snakes they told us. The beach is quiet. We were almost always alone, but not as beautiful as you read. Along the beach is a big concrete wall. At the other hand there's a great local atmosphere with very basic restaurants. You can watch fishermen putting out their nets. Much nicer is chaolao beach, 10 kilometers further. A huge long beach, very broad during low-tide, quiet, you don't see any tourist, only locals. We spotted only one speedboat. You wonder why everybody goes to Hua Hin. We could also rent a car from the resort, a kind of songtaew taxi, a very old one. You pay only 400 Baht a hour, that's true, but it's far from safe because very old but anyhow it was fun to drive. My husband asked for a massage after dinner (7pm) but that was not possible because the person responsible with the massage was already gone. You expect to book a massage after dinner when you are in a resort that calls itself a spa.
The big plus was the personnel, very sweet and helpful, who tried very hard to feel yourself comfortable. Also, we liked the pool a lot. Big enough, clean and with a nice view.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BangkokHoneybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2010

I was in Faasai for 3 days for new year 2009. If you need rest, nature and quiet, but also activities, hiking and sightseing, this is the right place !
We could rest a lot, but also swim, walk to the beach (5 minutes' walk away), play badminton or just enjoy the fountains and fishes.
Bronwen, the owner with Surin, explained a lot to us about the place, the herbs and trees, and took us through the jungle to the beach so that we could discover nature there. The staff set a badminton net just for us so that we could play, and were all so nice and helpful, you can really feel this is a family-runned place. The bungalows are very nice and clean with king-size beds. And it is a real pleasure to read by the pool, with only the birds and the fountains to hear around you.
I'll make sure I come again !

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sab344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We are an elderly couple who have travelled very extensively throughout Thailand over many years. In the middle of 2007 we saw an article featuring Faasai Resort in our Australian Sunday paper which immediately interested us. After viewing their web page we made contact with the Resort via email and made arrangements to stay there for 2 weeks in October of that year. We were picked up from our Bangkok Hotel by their minivan and booked in to one of the villas. We can't begin to describe the wonderful time we had there and the staff just couldn't do enough for us. The villa itself had everything you wanted for a very comfortable stay and the terrace was huge overlooking lovely gardens. Around the grounds were little huts, boardwalks, two ponds, one with a fountain and the other with fish. The swimming pool was very clean and next to it you could have a wonderful massage.

In February this year we had another 2 wonderful weeks at Faasai Resort and we were welcomed very warmly by all the staff and, of course, Bronwen and Surin the owners. My husband has made a very special bond with Lung It, the gardener, even though he can't speak a word of English and we can't speak Thai. He was very excited to meet up with us again and when we left he said through an interpreter that he would like to come home with us. This is the type of experience which makes our trips to Thailand so wonderful and personal, well away from the tourist side of things.

We hope to make another trip to Thailand next year and will certainly be staying at Faasai Resort once again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maggie421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MCR
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2009

We've never been better looked after. The rooms are sumptuous and everything is on hand or at a quick phone call away. My daughter adores going there and having friends to play with; you are made to feel like u r part of their family.
The garden leaves me flabbergasted at its gorgeousness, and I marvel at what new seeds of rocket or bourgainvillea are growing.
Can't recommend it highly enough. Sunset on top ot the water tower or the penthouse is an experience we won't forget. As I said, Eden...

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minihaha184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chanthaburi hotels
17.3 mi away
Maneechan Resort & Hotel
Maneechan Resort & Hotel
#1 of 23 in Chanthaburi
149 reviews
16.5 mi away
Riverawan Hotel
Riverawan Hotel
#6 of 23 in Chanthaburi
6 reviews
15.5 mi away
New Travel Lodge
New Travel Lodge
#5 of 23 in Chanthaburi
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Chaolao Cabana Resort
Chaolao Cabana Resort
#10 of 23 in Chanthaburi
58 reviews
14.9 mi away
Blue Rabbit Hotel
Blue Rabbit Hotel
#7 of 23 in Chanthaburi
4 reviews
16.1 mi away
Rimnaam Klangchan
Rimnaam Klangchan
#3 of 23 in Chanthaburi
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faasai Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faasai Resort & Spa

Property: Faasai Resort & Spa
Address: 26 / 1 Mho 7, Sanamchai | Nayaiarm, Kung Wiman Beach, Chanthaburi 22170, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chanthaburi Province > Chanthaburi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Chanthaburi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Faasai Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Faasai Resort and Spa is a garden eco-resort in the eastern province of Chanthaburi, which is a a three hour drive from Bangkok. It is a short walk from the safe swimming beach of Kung Wiman and close to the mangrove fringed bay of Kung Kraben, perfect for boating or bird watching. The resort's garden spa is spacious and full of light and its signature treatment is the Royal Thai Spa package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Faasai Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faasai Resort And Spa
Faasai Hotel Chanthaburi
Faasai Hotel Chantaburi
Faasai Resort Chantaburi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing