We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frustratingly inconsistant!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Electric Theatre

Royal Electric Theatre
Ranked #20 of 28 Restaurants in Mexborough
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Frustratingly inconsistant!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Eaten at this restaurant on 6 occasions. To sum it all up, its frustratingly inconsistent. Had some good food and service here and had some very bad food and service. Visited last week. Booked a table for 8pm. We arrived 15 minutes late and table was not ready. We were asked to wait without being offered drinks in the waiting area for 15 minutes. Sat down at 8:30pm and ordered starters but felt rushed the whole meal. We were asked if we wanted to order more starters before we had finished half of what we had ordered. As soon as we had finished the starters we were pushed to order to main course. The staff left at approximately 9:30pm and at 10Pm were the only people sat in the restaurant. At 10pm we were half way finishing our second bottle of wine and the staff turned off the music! I walked straight to the bar and asked the manager if were keeping him up and how rude they were being turning off the music. When we left at approximately 10:20pm they pulled the shutters down before we had reached our park car across the road. If you must eat here then get the first sitting and expect inconsistencies.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ellismx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    9
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Superb Chinese restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Absolutely superb. The food is cooked to order and is red hot. Very good portion size. I would recommend to anyone who likes chinese food. Staff are very helpful and the actual place is very welcoming and spotless. Background music is just at the right sound level and is not the usual silly chinese music but some popular music from England. 10 out of 10 all round.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tazziesden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Never had a bad meal here. Eat here about once a month. The dishes are freshly cooked and delicious. Highly recommend- especially the smoked chicken and lamb and lettuce wraps!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lizbob77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Best chinese resturant in south yorkshire all food freshly cooked when ordered even on the all u can eat buffett

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChampSouthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An all you can eat but have the manager and telling you eat too much..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

I don't think that there are many people that can say that they have been to an ALL YOU CAN EAT and then get told by none other then the manager that you cant have any more and told that you eat too much. Then have him always hovering over your table making you and the rest of your party very unconfortable it was made worse with have a rude member of the kitchen staff come out and talk very load to us saying that we have to have all the veg that was served with the dish even after we had requested no veg......2 waitresses were being constantly told off for reasons i am not quit sure but they did speak up on our behalf. I am normally a placid man but i must admit for the 1st time i was ready to lose my temper. After the ordeal was over we as a group had felt insulted and angered by the shear awful way we had been made to feel. Please AVOID this place unless you wish to pay nearly £20 and then only have 2 or 3 dish's, Anymore and you may find yourself with a rude person starring at you

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lawrence k, Manager at Royal Electric Theatre, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
U had over 10 dishes per person in that night, surely our foods in top quality. But u can't order each dish totally without veg, that make us v difficult to cook and downgrade our quality. The price is £15.80, just over £1 on yr each dish when order like u, what did u expect?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Electric Theatre also viewed

Mexborough, South Yorkshire
Mexborough, South Yorkshire
 
Mexborough, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 
Mexborough, South Yorkshire
Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Royal Electric Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing