We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best carvery around”
Review of Manvers Arms

Manvers Arms
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Mexborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Home cooked food served all day every day 12-9pm excluding Sunday 12-8pm full lunch and evening menu and special board. Sunday carvery only 12- 5.30. Function room available for weddings and parties. Christmas menu available throughout December
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best carvery around”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is very local to where we live and every Sunday I crave a manvers Sunday lunch carvery!

It gets very busy so it is best ring up before and make sure they have a space to avoid disappointment.

The meat is gorgeous, I don't eat a lot of red meat but their beef is so nice!

I have never had a meal here which hasn't been nice!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keeley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz h, Manager at Manvers Arms, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
H Keely
Thank you for your review so glad you enjoy the meat makes getting up at five on a sunday morning to cook it worth while, hope to see you again soon
Liz Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    81
    16
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Man Versus 'Excellent' Food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

My friend and I called in for lunch and we were glad we did. Everything about the Manvers Arms says quality; the décor, the service which was very friendly and welcoming, and the delicious freshly cooked food from a nicely varied and enticing menu. I chose the sausages, Yorkshire puddings and mashed potatoes. I received a beautifully presented plate consisting of three Yorkshire puddings sat on beds of creamy mashed potato and tasty sausages on top made with evidently good quality meat. I also had a generous dish of four vegetables to enjoy with it and a rich gravy. My friend chose a Chinese chicken dish with a generous portion of noodles and fries which he also enjoyed. I sampled a couple (or three or four) of his chips and they were lovely. My Achilles heel appeared on the dessert menu, so we had the sticky toffee pudding and ice cream and rounded off an excellent lunch. Importantly, I would also like to add that the dishes were of very good value; I have paid much more for far inferior meals in national parks and tourist hot-spots. There is a carvery available on Sundays and food is served daily between 12 noon and 9 p.m. Adwick-Upon-Dearne's Manvers Arms is one of South Yorkshire's better kept secrets that I advise you to seek out. In short, excellent, great value food served to exceptionally high standards in a clean, nicely presented pub within a pretty village location. What are you waiting for?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richthehiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz h, Manager at Manvers Arms, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
OMG
What a wonderful review thank you so much what more can I say fantastic please come back soon
Liz Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow, wish we had been sooner.”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

What can I say......we pass this place quite often but have never been, today we decided to give it a try and went about 6 ish, when we arrived we were asked of we had booked (oops we hadn't) but lucky for us as we arrived a table for two cancelled, I wish I knew who they were so that I could thank them! The menu isn't pages n pages long it's 2 pages of top quality meals and wow great portions and fab value for money, the food is beautiful too I had the roast dinner (I'm a big eater and I was stuffed) the veg n mash were lovely, the husband had steak cooked to absolute perfection with home made chips that were to die for and the mushrooms were really tasty too. I can honestly say this place is a gem and we will definitely visit again. The building itself is clean and tidy and the food is absolutely fantastic the service is the best I've had in a long time and I can't wait to go back there. Once again a BIG thank you to the couple that cancelled their table for two for fish and chips.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsgillott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz h, Manager at Manvers Arms, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Mrs Gillott
Thank you for your review and I am so pleased we managed to get you in too, the pub is old and a bit dated so we do our best to keep it as good as the budget allows but are slowly making small improvements that we hope will make it nicer over time but really appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon
Liz Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quality dining”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have just had the pleasure of sampling the hospitality at the Manvers Arms . It was a special family gathering for my wife's 50th birthday . We were made very welcome from the moment that we arrived . 18 people in total for our group , and everyone commented on the quality of the food and service . Everything was freshly prepared and cooked to perfection. We will be visiting this venue again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz h, Manager at Manvers Arms, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review its lovely to hear from customers and get feedback and hope you will visit again soon
Liz Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

For me this is the best restaurant in the area. Good quality food cooked really well nice environment. The best meat pie I have ever had even better than my nan's

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz h, Manager at Manvers Arms, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Micheal
Thank you for your wonderful review its always nice to hear customers enjoy the food at the pub and hope to see you again soon
Liz Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manvers Arms also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Mexborough, South Yorkshire
Swinton, Rotherham
 
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Manvers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing