We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality”
Review of Manvers Arms

Manvers Arms
Ranked #1 of 30 Restaurants in Mexborough
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Home cooked food served all day every day 12-9pm excluding Sunday 12-8pm full lunch and evening menu and special board. Sunday carvery only 12- 5.30. Function room available for weddings and parties. Christmas menu available throughout December
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

For me this is the best restaurant in the area. Good quality food cooked really well nice environment. The best meat pie I have ever had even better than my nan's

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz h, Manager at Manvers Arms, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Micheal
Thank you for your wonderful review its always nice to hear customers enjoy the food at the pub and hope to see you again soon
Liz Hudson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    83
    16
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like a wine, gets better with time!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We've eaten here a few times but not since January & I wouldn't have thought it possible but the food got better! There is only one thing to match the food.... The service, the staff are friendly, polite and super efficient. Well done guys

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T0M0UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz h, Manager at Manvers Arms, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Mark T
Thank you for your review its lovely to hear you are still enjoying the food and the service we provide.
You are the 100 th review we have had and its lovely that it is a very positive one so because the are the 100 th we would like to invite you for a complementary meal for two at the Manvers Arms please contact me to reserve your table.
Again thank you and look forward to seeing you soon
Liz and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed to have only just found this place! ”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited here at lunch time and really enjoyed it - very fussy family when it comes to eating out!
Good quality homemade food, generous portions & friendly staff in nice surroundings. We will be returning!
Nice to finally find somewhere decent to have a pub lunch, Thank you manvers arms :)

Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz h, Manager at Manvers Arms, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear LittleSa
thank you for your lovely review we are glad you have found us to and really pleased you enjoyed your lunch at the pub.
The staff are very friendly and efficient and all of them are a pleasure to work with.
We hope now you have found us you return soon.
Thank you again
Liz and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sea Bass Baby!”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Great food. Really good chips. Fantastic Sea Bass. Well worth a visit. Very large portions. Only problem, no light in gents. Soon fixed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnofGauntLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz h, Manager at Manvers Arms, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear JohnofGaunt
Thank you for your recent review really glad you enjoyed your sea bass and liked the pub.
We hope you return soon to sample more of the food.
And I have sorted the toilet light.
Best wishes
Liz and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

I visited yesterday with friends for lunch. I have been a few times this year after having several recommendations.

Each time we were greeted by friendly and efficient staff. Nothing is any trouble and we have always felt very welcome.

The food is delicious and plping hot. The portions are generous and should suit the heartiest of appetites.

There is a decent menu and a daily specials board. This is all available from noon to 9pm and it is advisable to make a reservation to avoid disappointment.

The Manvers Arms is now a firm favourite

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank abc5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liz h, Manager at Manvers Arms, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review so pleased you are enjoying the food and service it is lovely when people take the time to give feedback and helps us so we know we are on the right tracks to giving our customers what they want.
Hope to see you again soon
Liz and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manvers Arms also viewed

Doncaster, South Yorkshire
 
Mexborough, South Yorkshire
Rotherham, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Manvers Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing