We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Vio.com
Etrip
StayForLong
Expedia.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveler rating
4
24
30
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4
24
30
8
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 71 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel is very clean and also the service has been good. With Thai hotels the finish can be a bit rough, but the location is serviceable.
We decided to stay in the hotel for dinner and had dishes of larb, morning glory and somtam, with rice. A very good meal with generous proportions, and a couple of additional chilis thrown in (great!!).
On top of that we used the service of the foot massage at the health centre, good value and good service, very relaxing.
We were only there for one night, but it provided what was required and rested us for further travels.

Date of stay: May 2012
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank rod_heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Dhevaraj Hotel was very pleasant. The rooms were definitely small but they were modern looking and nicely done up with good lighting and furniture. Beds/mattresses were very good, not too hard or too soft and 2 pillows each were provided. Mini-bar available in the room plus the usual 2 free bottles of water provided and even the charge for the other water was only 20 baht which is not too bad for a city hotel. No tea/coffee making facilities, mini safe or hair dryer in the room. Also only one available power point in the room which is a minus point. Furniture was modern and enough storage space was provided. Air-con was excellent with good controls. Flat screen Cable TV was available including BBC World News though few other English channels except the Asian Food Channel and some sports and a few others.
Bathroom was smallish but one didn't feel too cramped, and also looked fairly modern. Few free toiletries though. Shower with a small bath but a good shower with excellent water pressure
Although we were on the top, 5th, floor, there wasn't much of a view, at least on our side as the buildings nearby were of a similar height. Our room, 517, though had an excellent view of the main car park so we were able to periodically check up on the car!
There are some limited car parking spaces available at the front of the hotel but they fill up quickly. However, go down the lane to the north side of the hotel and there are plenty of parking spaces available at the back & side of the hotel.
Breakfast was buffet style in the big Coffee Shop, better in fact on our second morning, a Saturday, than our previous morning. However, good choice on both days but mainly Thai choices (as there are very few Western visitors in Nan), apart from the ubiquitous fried eggs, ham, toast & jam etc. But the Thai choices are quite adequate and although not the tastiest, are perfectly eatable on the whole. Coffee is not that good though. We didn't have any other meals in the hotel so can't comment on their 'normal' food though one of us who wasn't feeling too well did try room service on one occasion and said the Thai food was fine. Good room service menu choice.
The rest of the hotel is pleasantly decorated, in a modern fashion, with one large atrium going right up to the roof, which has access corridors to many of the rooms, plus another smaller atrium, where most of the rest of the rooms are located. Many (most?) of the corridors have two chairs and a small table outside each of the bedrooms where guests can sit and share a snack with friends or chat to other guests. A very nice feature.
Internet WiFi in the room was provided for 30 baht for 2 hours, get the password from Reception. I meant to try it but didn't have time, so can't comment on the speed or coverage. There were 2 PCs near Reception which I presume was for guests who didn't bring their own laptop. There were 2 lifts by Reception and another lift near the exit/entrance to the rear car park and we rarely had long to wait for a lift.
We found the hotel staff to be generally friendly, maybe a little reserved sometimes but we suspect they are not very used to many Western guests. Their English was limited but one could get by.
As well as Function Rooms, they have a Karaoke Bar, which I didn't try, but also a Massage Parlour which I did try. As well as the usual Thai Massage etc they had a 2 hour aromatherapy massage for only 600 baht which is pretty good for a hotel massage. The cubicles were clean with plastic covered mattresses, not the somewhat dingy mattresses that one sometimes finds elsewhere.
The hotel's location is excellent right on one of the main streets of Nan City. It is right opposite the main market in Nan. That is mainly a food market, both fresh and also ready to go, plus some clothes stalls and a large DIY section. In the evenings there are also a number of additional stalls set up on the pavement in the area selling more clothes and similar. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of many sights - turn right out of the hotel and right again at the main traffic lights onto Thanon Suniyapong which is where you will find the Nan Museum and 3 of the best temples in Nan City – Wat Phumin, Wat Mingmeun and further up, Wat Panton - and many others. In the other direction, a couple of hundred metres beyond the Market is the Nan River with its Promenade area and a number of pleasant riverside restaurants.
The Dhevaraj wasn't 4 or 5 star luxury but for a 3 star hotel we thought it was excellent and would stay here again without any hesitation.

Room tip: A room on the top, 5th floor, is likely to be quieter as a number of groups use the hotel. Also rooms nearer the front are also better as nearer the lifts.
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthurrvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

This hotel is probably the biggest in Nan. It's been there a long time and it shows. Clean enough, but forgetable. There are better choices I'm sure

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 59Thunderbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

With 150 rooms, the 1st room we were shown was too complicated to find again. We took the 2nd room we were shown because of fatigue at end of long day. It was pretty nasty (& I'm no hotel snob.) The carpeting was dirty, smelly & frayed including in the elevators & rooms. The swimming pool was disgustng including broken, filthy furniture & rusting metal deck. Are they kidding??? Breakfast was nearly inedible, while 8-10 servers strood in the center of the room watching a loud TV on the wall.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asianculinaryadventr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We spent a night there in the wake of tropical depression Haima. :( Rooms were ok. The 3 star rating speaks for itself. Showers were strange in that the shower with no bath tub was right next to the toilet.

Food in terms of breakfast included was actually pretty good! Not much of a view in this hotel as it was in town but it is close to most shopping. There is a night market (talak) right across the hotel that is interesting. WIFI available for free. Beat it out of town the next day since the rain did not appear to be letting up. Just as well we did as we heard in the news that they had 1.6m of water flooding in town.

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gator232
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews