We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice centralized location”
Review of Dhevaraj Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dhevaraj Hotel
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Nan
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice centralized location”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We spent a night there in the wake of tropical depression Haima. :( Rooms were ok. The 3 star rating speaks for itself. Showers were strange in that the shower with no bath tub was right next to the toilet.

Food in terms of breakfast included was actually pretty good! Not much of a view in this hotel as it was in town but it is close to most shopping. There is a night market (talak) right across the hotel that is interesting. WIFI available for free. Beat it out of town the next day since the rain did not appear to be letting up. Just as well we did as we heard in the news that they had 1.6m of water flooding in town.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gator232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
19
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

On first sight the hotel corridors do remind one of a scene from 'Prisoner Cell Block H' but the rooms within are fine, albeit the doors appear a little rickety. The 'en suite' shower is a little novel as the bathroom/toilet is the shower area. The shower is powerful with plenty of hot water, but plan your ablutions carefully, keep dry clothing to a minimum as everything is covered in spray once showering begins!! Remember Nan is not Bangkok and while these facilities may seem a little basic, they work perfectly and are kept clean by friendly efficient staff. Laundry facilities are cheap and quick, a very useful service minimising an accumulation of dirty clothes. Beds/pillows a little 'firm' but not a problem. Hotel facilities good including small pool and karaoke bar neither of which give rise to disturbance of any kind. Pleasant live entertainment in restaurant nightly, though few guests in attendance which is a pity. Bar prices reasonable, hotel value excellent!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hereman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2010

I have never been in such a poorly maintained hotel. the dining area was disgusting, and it was hands-down the worst two meals I have had my entire 2 months in Thailand. The breakfast is free and I am going to opt out for the remaining 2 nights here. The staff is hit and miss, more miss than hit. Laundry service is priced like this is a 5-star establishment. 3 pairs of underwear costs the same as I have paid on average at any laundromat, and unfortunately the front desk people were unwilling to direct me to a different one and I wandered around trying to find one and had no luck. THe gym that is advertised on the site and on the front of the building is not being managed or something according to the woman at the front desk so was not available (which is part of why I was actually overlooking some of the bad reviews to stay here). The desk staff seems interested only in keeping you in the hotel for meals, services, and to book things through them. I found them less helpful and more opportunistic. The hotel is quiet, and the pool and pool area is very nice. The water is very hot and rooms are reasonably clean though could use some updating and maintenance. I stayed in a standard room.

Internet is free for 2 hours per day (wifi), or you can pay 30 baht and get unlimited for 24 hours. connectivity was fine.

You can't beat the location, it's right in the middle of town, convenient to anything you could want. The whole place just needs a makeover and update and a good deep cleaning. The chef needs replaced and the staff needs some friendliness.

If you know this going in and are OK with the price (it's not the cheapest, and not a great deal by any means for the price), then you may be fine. I can tell you that I won't be back to this one.

Spa is less than fantastic. got a foot massage and the woman seemed more interesting in watching the Thai drama on TV with the other 3 women standing around as I got my massage, than she was in actually doing the massage...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jharrisphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nan hotels

Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
999 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 467 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

i chose hotel dhevaraj as apparently only decent option in nan (once there, i also discovered a much fancier and more modern "nan boutique hotel", although far less centrally located). airport pick up didn't show up on arrival and had to be called by airport info desk. check-in efficient, got what they call a VIP room (their best) but merely looking as a very nomal one for thai standards, few amenities, no safe, old style big tv set, furniture and decoration rather dated and slightly worn. the hotel faces the most 'central' street in nan: my meaning for 'central' is just geographic as almost no shops geared at tourists can be found, only one micro café exists few steps from the hotel and no restaurants whatsoever in the western meaning are to be found in such 'central' street. the hotel building is huge, with a very 1980s soviet-looking architecture, with an ugly façade, a nice revamped lobby & inhouse café, a gloomy oldish swimming pool area where you cannot have access even with singlets (just barefoot), a very dark and totally uninspiring coffeeshop with plenty of noise coming from resident thai singers, an extensive menu but so-so service and especially worn and dirty tablecloth, no napkins whatsoever but small towelettes looking like toilet paper. prices very cheap. in the same coffeeshop a dull buffet breakfast is served. scarce choice of fresh fruit, mainly thai food, very bad coffee and tea, no scrambled eggs, small slices of ham floating in an uninviting waterish container, sugar has to be taken on the buffet table and not put on tables, only non dairy creamer powder available, no milk to be found unless after long and patient wait convincing a waitress to ask for it in the kitchen. the building is composed by two adjoining atriums where the inner parts of the rooms do face. the THB69 buffet lunch looks very canteen-style and definitely not inviting, preferred to have lunch at a simple, charming and absolutely unexpected italian restaurant 'da dario' located at 10mins walk from the hotel. the best part of the hotel would be the massage parlour, but they located it in the worst possible place i.e. next a terrible and loud karaoke where off-key drunkards spoil your relax with their shouts through the thin walls. the lack of knowledge of foreign languages is almost total: only one senior receptionist spoke a decent english, with all the others it was very frustrating even the simplest communication. my travel partner felt sick and we asked for an in-house doctor: they claimed he didn't exist and suggest to go across the street at a public medical place, i insisted stating that the person had fever and couldn't leave the room, they suggested her being visited by a nurse or sent by ambulance to the hospital, both options rejected by me. we ended up asking for telephone help through our insurance in italy: is it ever possible that the best hotel in town has no in-house doctor? to conlcude my review of the dhevaraj hotel in nan i would say that it's probably the best solution in the city, but it's definitely not at western standards, its clientele is 95% thai and if everything runs fine it is just acceptable, but once you have some problems, language barriers could prove very bothering and frustrating. furthermore remember that in nan no taxi or tuk-tuks exist and organizing a city tour or an excursion look like a very hard job as the hotel apparently doesn't rent their minivan and both for lack of organization and for language misunderstandings you can wait hours before your plan is achieved, maybe with just the help of a tour guide linked with the hotel who can drive you around (at a cost).

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danielFlorence_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

Spent one night here. Clean room with windows opening on an inner courtyard (covered with fiberglass over roof). Supposedly as good as Nan has to offer, and that may be correct.

Bathtub and shower, A/C (didn't need it), plenty of hot water and no power outages. Its within walking to almost everything in the "downtown" part of Nan. It has a huge parking lot in back, and appears to cater to locals in Nan on business, and an occasional tour group traveling north to see the mountains or border with Laos. It was almost empty when we checked in early afternoon and the parking lot was pretty full when we returned from our travels in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights on our tour of Thailand.

Comfortable clean accommodation, right in the centre of Nan, complete with swimming pool.

Had a thai massage with herbs there which was approximately £6 for two hours, and was worth every penny.

Only complaint was the breakfast, which in all honesty just wasn't to my taste.

Otherwise no complaints at all :-)

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaxGallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami, florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

The Dheveraj Hotel was, until recently, the "premier" hotel in Nan... well-appointed, surrounding a covered courtyard with an in-house restaurant, bar, karaoke lounge, and massage, this hotel is super convenient, as it is directly across from the night market on the main street in Nan, as well as minutes from just about anything you would need...our A/C room was clean and comfortable, and had recently been renovated... while in Nan, don't miss Hattasin crafts shop, a local product outlet run by the hill-tribes themselves... for tours and travel arrangements, go to Fhu Travel down the street...

  • Liked — The quality for the price...
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BIPPYinMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nan hotels
0.0 mi away
Wiang Phumin Hotel
Wiang Phumin Hotel
#8 of 21 in Nan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nan Boutique Hotel
Nan Boutique Hotel
#2 of 21 in Nan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nan Noble House Garden Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sukkasem
Sukkasem
#5 of 21 in Nan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sasidara Resort Nan
2.4 mi away
Baan Nan Hotel
Baan Nan Hotel
#1 of 42 in Nan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dhevaraj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dhevaraj Hotel

Property: Dhevaraj Hotel
Address: 466 Sumonthavaraj Road, Nan 55000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Nan Province > Nan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Nan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dhevaraj Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Dhevaraj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing