We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It will be good”
Review of Le Meridien Nagpur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Meridien Nagpur
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Nagpur
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It will be good”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We chose Sun n Sand because of its location - handy for the new cricket stadium which is aboiut 15 Km south of Nagpur. Sun n Sand had been open for about three years when we visited. It has all the facilities you might need but the systems don't yet work smoothly. The staff are friendly and willing but do not seem to know what they are supposed to be doing a lot of the time. The wine list looks fine but they only have a couple of the wines listed. The buffet breakfast looks what you would expect but the fruit selection is limited and, given that Nagpur is the City of Oranges, it was surprising that orange juice was not available on several days. On the plus side, the 'Kebab Hut' restaurant (at lot more up market than its name would suggest) serves amazing birianis and excellent kebabs. Forget the sort of kebab you find tempting only after a skinful of beer on a Saturday night, these are delicate and subtly spiced. You can see the cooking taking place in steamers and on chargrills as the kitchen protrudes into the restaurant. When they get the systems and processes sorted, this will be a very good hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilf E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Le Meridien Nagpur, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur & taking time out to share your feedback with us. We have noted your comments and shall take relevant action.

My team and I would like to welcome you again on your next visit to Nagpur.


With warm regards,

Abhijit Rege
General Manager
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    170
    40
    10
    13
See reviews for
73
28
31
246
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Visited on England's 2012 tour to India. The hotel is located about 4km from the cricket ground so is an ideal location for getting to and from the ground, also good for the airport and easy enough to get into Nagpur. I was very impressed by the hotel, it does look like a power station but the rooms are excellent, very clean and the wifi connection was generally quick and probably one of the best I used during my stay in India. The breakfast and buffet are both very good and the beer is also a good price for an Indian hotel which is a bonus on a cricket tour. The staff were very helpful and airport pick up and drop off went well. There is nothing around the hotel but it is cheap enough and easy enough to travel into Nagpur.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yorkshire_Bri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Le Meridien Nagpur, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur and taking time out to share your feedback with us.

My team and I would love to welcome you again on your next visit to Nagpur!


With warm regards,

Abhijit Rege
General Manager
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is rated as a 5-star hotel and came recommended. However, it is now quite old and showing its age. When you consider that the Radisson Blu,a brand new hotel just down the road, is cheaper, this hotel is really quite poor and needs to buck up its ideas to compete.

Positives:
- Very good food quality and selection in the restaurant. Averagely expensive as you would expect a hotel like this to be but still worth it.
- The pool is excellent. Long swim length and cool water. Changing rooms/spa etc are a bit dank but functional.

Negatives:
- The biggest negative is that it is in the middle of nowhere. Quite literally. You can not go for a stroll out of the hotel because it is not located on a street, there are no shops nearby, it is literally isolated.
- Coupled with this is the transport service provided by the hotel. Because it is so isolated, you can not flag down a local cab because they do not pass. So you have no choice but to use the hotel transport service at what ever price they quote.
- The rates are expensive considering it is an old building. It may have been a luxurious 5-star when it was first built but not now.
- Extremely slow internet in the room

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nckog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Le Meridien Nagpur, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

Firstly, I would like to thank you for your positive comments about the food, swimming pool and the spa.

I would like to bring to your notice that Sun-n-Sand Nagpur was commissioned in November, 2009 and is just 3 years old. The pricing for Guest rooms is in line with the market rates (Hotel's such such as The Pride and The Radisson).

The location for the Hotel was selected on the basis of the upcoming MIHAN project and SEZ being developed in the vicinity. The development is in full swing and it's only a matter of time that the area would become a world class location. Having said that the Hotel is located at a short 5 minute drive from the Airport and city centre is about 15 minutes away.

My team & I would like to welcome you again on your next visit to Nagpur.


With warm regards,

Abhijit Rege
General Manager
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Hotel was the venue of the conference which I was attending and hence it made perfect sense to stay there. Overall a pleasant stay since the rooms were quite spacious and neat, the staff courteous, while the banqueting and dining facilities could be rated as fair.
Did not have to travel to Nagpur city center which may be a bit of an ordeal since the highway leading to city is generally jammed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arunkk09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Le Meridien Nagpur, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to review us on Tripadvisor.

We would love to welcome you again at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur!

With warm regards,
Abhijit Rege
General Manager
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A Good hotel property, but the location is not pleasant at all. Its located 6-7 KM from airport, but the city centre or any other city attraction is about 15 KM or more away. The hotel itself is good, nice spacious rooms, clean bathroom. Dinner buffet was very good, though B/F was OK. Kebab Hut restaurant is also very nice option to eat. Staff is friendly.

The AC Control was not working in my room during my stay and even a false smell was coming from the AC Duct. The staff did their best by frequently spraying the room freshner, and even puting an electrnic room freshner in the room, but it didnt help much and overall it was a major irritant during my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shonababu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Le Meridien Nagpur, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for appreciating our property and the services we offer. The location for the Hotel was selected on the basis of the upcoming MIHAN project and SEZ being developed in the vicinity. The development is in full swing and it's only a matter of time that the area would become a world class location. Having said that the Hotel is located at a short 5 minute drive from the Airport and city centre is about 15 minutes away.

I have informed the Engineering Department regarding your comments and corrective measures have been taken. My team and I would love to welcome you again at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur and assure you of a pleasant stay during your next visit.

With warm regards,
Abhijit Rege
General Manager
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Located bang opposite to Mihan fly over and around 3-4 kms from the airport.

Way to the hotel on a service road is a bumpy ride but you enter the hotel and wow! Things seems to be in order

Rooms are big and neatly done. Toiletries were in place. Although the view from the room was not that great but who really cares when you reach hotel late night after hard days work

Breakfast was decently spread but food was nothing great to write about.

Service was prompt and polite.

Overall a thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shreyansss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Le Meridien Nagpur, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to share your feedback with us.

We have noted your comments and I have shared the same with relevant department. Your feedback serves as a motivation to our team.

My team and I would love to welcome you again at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur.


Regards,
Abhijit Rege
General Manager
Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Wow my first stay at a Sun-n-Sand group of hotel and it was an experience worth remembering. Great Rooms spacious and not compromised. Close proximity to the airport makes it worth it as well. Food was great specially Veg. Wroth coming back here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amitahuja1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnSandHotelGroup, General Manager at Le Meridien Nagpur, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us! We would love to see you again at Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nagpur hotels
4.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Nagpur
3.1 mi away
The Pride Hotel Nagpur
The Pride Hotel Nagpur
#7 of 44 in Nagpur
501 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel The Nagpur Ashok
Hotel The Nagpur Ashok
#4 of 44 in Nagpur
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Tuli Imperial
Tuli Imperial
#11 of 44 in Nagpur
260 reviews
3.8 mi away
Urban Hermitage
Urban Hermitage
#3 of 44 in Nagpur
61 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Majestic Manor
The Majestic Manor
#8 of 44 in Nagpur
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Nagpur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Nagpur

Property: Le Meridien Nagpur
Address: Wardha Road | Opp. MIHAN Flyover, Nagpur 441108, India (Formerly Sun-n-Sand Hotel, Nagpur)
Location: India > Maharashtra > Nagpur District > Nagpur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 44 Hotels in Nagpur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Meridien Nagpur 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW HEIGHTS OF INSPIRATION Journey through an illuminating voyage of discovery at Le Meridien Nagpur. Explore the “Orange City”, famous throughout the country for its local oranges. Nagpur is also known as “The Tiger Capital “, because of the city’s connection to the tiger reserves in India. The city is the geographical centre of India featuring the ‘zero mile’ marker. It is a primary hub for trade and commerce, with all the country’s main highways intersecting here. With its lush gardens, religious and cultural sites, Nagpur is an ideal city to explore the wonders of the vast Vidarbha region of Maharashtra. Awaken in one of India’s most livable cities. EXTRAORDINARY SERVICES Feel transformed with a visit to our spa for a sensorial massage or body treatment featuring local, holistic products. Work off stress and relax completely in the fitness centre or outdoor swimming pool. For sightseeing tours or inspiring ideas to explore the city, our Concierge team is the local expert. Le Meridien Hub, our innovative reinterpretation of the hotel lobby, is a gathering place for creative minds to converse, debate and exchange. It’s our innovative and reinterpreted hotel lobby concept. STIMULATING GUESTROOMS Experience our 133 elegant rooms and suites promising the ultimate in chic comfort. With local city views and the exquisitely plush, signature Le Meridien bed, our spaces are designed to awaken the senses. Business travellers will appreciate the High Speed Internet Wired and Wireless Internet available in every guest room. Our artfully-designed guestrooms and suites include 69 Deluxe 60 Executive Club 3 Suites 1 Presidential Suite ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Nagpur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing