We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to visit”

Mugdock Country Park
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Milngavie
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed May 17, 2014

Great place to visit although parking can get too much if its a weekend afternoon particularly if sunny ! They need to put on a park and ride bus again from Milngavie station.

Great to walk and get some country views - lots of paths and moorland walks at Mugdock country park. Also places to eat. To see on your walk there is a castle, a loch, sometimes some cattle, and there are WW2 gun emplacements in the field - ask for details of how to find these before setting off. Views from car park towards Ben Lomond and the Campsies which can be lovely.

Thank JennySki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mugdock_Country_Park, Mugdock Country Park Office at Mugdock Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, and im so glad you enjoy your visits to Mugdock.

Im glad you made it to the Gun Sites, they are often missed!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"garden centre"
in 45 reviews
"country park"
in 29 reviews
"play area"
in 11 reviews
"gift shop"
in 10 reviews
"all ages"
in 12 reviews
"nice cafe"
in 7 reviews
"bbq area"
in 7 reviews
"castle ruins"
in 9 reviews
"something for everyone"
in 8 reviews
"dog walkers"
in 11 reviews
"west highland way"
in 14 reviews
"wee cafe"
in 5 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 6 reviews
"highland cattle"
in 4 reviews
"anti aircraft"
in 4 reviews
"love this place"
in 4 reviews
"cycle hire"
in 4 reviews
Filter

145 - 149 of 240 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2014

Place was quite transformed from my last visit some years ago... a very positive improvement to the place! Maybe someone should take on the restoration of Craigallan Castle as that is still a bit of a mess.

Thank Craigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mugdock_Country_Park, Mugdock Country Park at Mugdock Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thanks for your review! Lovely to have you back for a visit after so many years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

It is not too often you get to enjoy a country park complete with a castle, but this one has two; Craigend Castle and Mugdock Castle. Both are in ruins but have great history.

The park itself has some wonderful walks through woodland or around the lake, a pleasant visitor centre, garden centre, restaurant, children's play and picnic areas, and gift shops. It makes for a great family day out.

There are several car parks for the park, but to get the most of it, use the one at the visitor's centre.

1  Thank KieranG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mugdock_Country_Park, Mugdock Country Park Office at Mugdock Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review of Mugdock Country Park, it really is appreciated. We work very hard at making Mugdock accessible and enjoyable for as many people as possible and its lovely to hear when you have a good time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Went for a drive and stopped off at Mugdock Country Park - what a great place. Woodland, lake, forest walks, cycle paths, ruined castle, BBQ area, children's play area etc. Had afternoon tea for 2 in restaurant - only £15 well worth the money, sandwiches made to order and home made cakes - delicious. Although the car park was really busy the park covers such a wide area it still felt peaceful. Great place for families, couple, individuals & groups.

1  Thank MaggieGlenrothes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mugdock_Country_Park, Mugdock Country Park Office at Mugdock Country Park, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Thanks for your review and im glad you had a good experience here. With over 600,000 visitors a year you might think that Mugdock would feel busy, but there is so much space and so many paths to take it only takes a minute to find a quiet spot!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Lots of good picture opportunities. This is a must.
My girlfriend ad I visited Mugdock Park during the bank holiday weekend for a walk and had a great time. Luckily the weather was fantastic so it was a perfect day to go for a hike. We walked on some of the walking trails and it probably took us between an hour to an hour and a half. The paths are well maintained and I hardly saw any litter.
There are great views to be had, particularly around the loch. I see as well that there is a pretty decent looking kids play area with swings etc., as we don’t have kids we didn’t spend any time here but they looked to be of good quality.
There is a nice gift shop selling crafts and a café, while we didn’t eat here it smelled like there was some good food on offer and there are toilets which are very clean. I would definitely recommend a visit here if the weather is nice as it makes for a fantastic walk.
There is no charge to come here but there is a donations box at the gift shop so if you are inclined you can make a donation, I always do because I think this is a fantastic place.

1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mugdock Country Park also viewed

Milngavie, East Dunbartonshire
Milngavie, East Dunbartonshire
 
Strathblane, Stirlingshire
 

Been to Mugdock Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing