We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good start and a good advocate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Foot Forward

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Milngavie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Best Foot Forward
Ranked #1 of 3 Milngavie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A good start and a good advocate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Four of us let two rooms just before starting the WHW. The location is a reasonable walk from the train station and close by the trail head. The rooms were nice although not spacious. One of our party had flown in from the states that day and BA lost her bag with almost all her gear. Mrs. McNeill personally did battle with BA over the bag and the airline was the worst for it. She then ransacked her husband's and daughter's possessions to try and outfit our friend. In short, we could not have asked for a more helpful hostess. Her breakfast was one of the best along the WHW too!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXtravelers16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    55
    15
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
53
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
alethia1
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Morag is a great hostess, and her B&B is a perfect place to start the WHW. She let us in hours before check-in, the room was huge and beautiful, the en suite bathroom lovely, the breakfast was huge and plentiful and very well prepared for a day of hiking, and we were able to meet a number of other walkers we walked much of the way with. We walked with our 11 month old baby, and Morag was more than prepared for that - with a spacious room, and a travel cot for the baby. It was a perfect way to start the WHW!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alethia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Morag made our pre WHW nights stay a relaxed, comfortable & welcoming experience. The steep drive to the door was excellent preparation for the walk ahead. Morags wealth of experiencing in meeting the needs of many a WHW walker, made us much less anxious about setting of, our luggage carriers & and chatting to fellow walkers.
Our room was more than comfortable & well appointed, the local smoked salmon for breakfast was delicious & the packed lunches a total bargain (Huge!!!).
We would thoroughly recommend Best Foot Forward.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We booked a triple room, for three of us, talk about spacious!! It was a perfect place to stay on our first night before we started The Way. As I mentioned, our room was huge, en-suite too was spacious, which was excellent, when there are three adults sharing. We also liked the little added extras, including the jar of cookies! To sum up, Breakfast was excellent, rooms were bright and clean, beds were comfortable and Morag is the most wonderful and knowledgeable host. What more do you need?!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a lovely time, Morag was very kind to us, and was in full availability to every request. The room was huge and amazing, and the tariff was more than fair. This was our first stop before starting the West Highland Way, and it sure came through.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank henrythebestdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Great place to start the WHW ideally placed close to the actual start of the walk. Morag is really friendly and great host. 10 of us stayed and we all thought the accommodation and food was great . Rooms spacious, clean, tea, coffee, biscuits etc etc . Thanks Morag

Room Tip: two rooms downstairs have 4 single beds in each
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 157lynne157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed here the night before starting to walk The West Highland Way.
Very warm welcome, good accommodation and excellent breakfast..
I have stayed here several times before and the host, Morag, has maintained a good standard in her accommodation, food and approach to her guests.
I would recommend this accommodation to anyone staying in Milngavie.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveMJohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milngavie
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Milngavie) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Glasgow (Bearsden) Hotel
3.2 mi away
Kirkhouse Inn
Kirkhouse Inn
#1 of 1 in Strathblane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Boclair House Hotel
Boclair House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bearsden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
10.4 mi away
Winnock Hotel
Winnock Hotel
#1 of 2 in Drymen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Foot Forward? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Foot Forward

Property: Best Foot Forward
Address: I Dougalston Gardens, Milngavie, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Milngavie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Milngavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Also known as West View Guest House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Best Foot Forward Milngavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing