We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for large family gathering”
other travelers have booked this property
'Pleasant Hill' is a substantial villa with 1½ acres of mature private gardens - plenty for twenty!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Pleasant Hill' is a substantial villa with 1½ acres of mature private gardens - plenty for twenty!
A capacious kitchen-living area with stunning views - ideal for entertaining large groups of friends Let 'Pleasant Hill' offer you the warmest of welcomes
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
'Pleasant Hill' is a substantial villa with 1½ acres of mature private gardens - plenty for twenty!
A capacious kitchen-living area with stunning views - ideal for entertaining large groups of friends
Let 'Pleasant Hill' offer you the warmest of welcomes
A capacious kitchen-living area with stunning views - ideal for entertaining large groups of friends
A capacious kitchen-living area with stunning views - ideal for entertaining large groups of friends
A capacious kitchen-living area with stunning views - ideal for entertaining large groups of friends
A capacious kitchen-living area with stunning views - ideal for entertaining large groups of friends
A capacious kitchen-living area with stunning views - ideal for entertaining large groups of friends
Let 'Pleasant Hill' sparkle at you.
Tuck into home-made fare - fresh baking and jams.
Smart, well-fitted kitchen area replete with appliances for entertaining large groups of friends.
Smart, well-fitted kitchen area replete with appliances for entertaining large groups of friends.
Let 'Pleasant Hill' brighten your visit.
Bedroom 1 - 
Quad-Family Room
Bedroom 2 - 
Quad-Family Room
Bedroom 3 - 
Double Room
Bedroom 4 - 
Quad-Family Room
Bedroom 5 - 
Twin Room
Second Lounge/Bedroom 6 - 
Quad-Family Room
Second Lounge - plenty of room to relax on cosy chairs.
Tuck into tasty home-made fare - fresh baking and jams.
Large Double Bathroom - plenty of clean space to refresh yourself
Let 'Pleasant Hill' sparkle at you!
Upper Floor Landing Area - extra space for youngsters to play?
Well equipped Utility Room for all your cleaning needs
The warm glow of Pleasant Hill awaits you
The glow of Pleasant Hill shows off its warm welcome
The glow of Pleasant Hill generates a warm welcome
'Pleasant Hill' is surrounded by a high boundary stone wall with substantial private garden space
Make use of substantial mature private gardens - plenty of space to play games and kick a ball.
Make use of substantial mature private gardens - plenty of space to play games and kick a ball.
Make use of substantial mature private gardens - plenty of space to play games and kick a ball.
'Pleasant Hill' is surrounded by a high boundary stone wall with substantial private garden space
'Pleasant Hill' has proven ideal as a private place for many family gatherings & wedding parties.
Make use of substantial mature private gardens - plenty of space to relax or play games.
'Pleasant Hill' has proven ideal as a private place for many family gatherings and wedding parties.
Make use of substantial mature private gardens - plenty of space to relax or play games.
Make use of substantial mature private gardens - plenty of space to relax or play games.
Make use of substantial mature private gardens - plenty of space to relax or play games.
'Pleasant Hill' has proven ideal as a private place for many family gatherings and wedding parties.
'Pleasant Hill' has provided a colourful private place for family gatherings and wedding parties.
'Pleasant Hill' provides a colourful backdrop for private family gatherings and wedding parties.
Evening Views from Pleasant Hill Garden (1)
Evening Views from Pleasant Hill Garden (2)
You may hear the Milngavie Pipe Band which regularly practises outdoors.
Highland Dancers competing at Scottish Highland Games. [Check for other Highland Games via 'SHGA']
Caber Tossing at Milngavie Highland Games. [Check for other Highland Games via 'SHGA']
Milngavie sits at the start of  the West Highland Way - a beautiful 95-mile walk to Fort William
View from reservoir - an easy, short walk from the villa - en route to nearby Mugdock Country Park
View from Walkway around nearby Milngavie reservoir. [An easy, short walk from the villa]
View from reservoir - an easy, short walk from the villa - en route to nearby Mugdock Country Park
View from nearby Milngavie reservoir. [An easy, short walk from the villa]
View from reservoir - an easy, short walk from the villa - en route to nearby Mugdock Country Park
'Pleasant Hill' has proven ideal as a base for many wedding parties and family gatherings.
'Pleasant Hill' has proven ideal as a base for many wedding parties and family gatherings.
Milngavie sits on the edge of beautiful countryside with access to so many beauty spots
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Milngavie, East Dunbartonshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Alison W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for large family gathering”
Reviewed June 28, 2018 for a stay in June 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Booked for family wedding in Milngavie. Plenty room for 10 adults and 5 children, and for the bride and bridesmaids to get ready on the big day. At the owners suggestion we did a supermarket shop to be delivered before we arrived. This was a brill idea and the shopping had been unpacked and put away for our arrival. The owner is just next door and was on hand immediately for the one query we had. A lovely quiet spot with the town centre just 2 minute walk away. Best fish and chips we've had for a while!

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2018
Thanks for your remarks, Alison. We're delighted to read your compliments about the property, the area and the extra help provided. We've now hosted well over 30 wedding and family parties and continue to be happy to help these become such joyous occasions.
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisepat...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Hen Weeknd”
Reviewed May 28, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Just spent 3 nights at the house which was ideal for a group of 20 Hens!! Big house and garden and the weather was perfect!

Well stocked kitchen with all appliances you would need - ideal for large groups. Lovely big garden - a few more sun chairs would have been baeneficial to such a large group! As there was 20 of us a 3rd shower would have been helpful but all and all a great weekend in an ideal venue!

Special mention to Chris who was very helpful and promptly replied to any queries we had with very useful information and suggestions.

Thank you for a great weekend!

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2018
It's easy to host when a large group of guests seem delighted by what the villa, the village and the vicinity have to offer. Louise and her group of 20 were able to make good use of the garden and terrace area during glorious evenings. We did have plenty of additional outside chairs and realise we should have produced these ahead of their visit. [They'd been placed in the garage during a windy/wet spell beforehand, and it was an omission on our part that we hadn't put them back out.] We ask all guests to raise any issue at the time so we can immediately remedy almost anything - we’re only next door. Overall, though, it’s heart-warming that Pleasant Hill has yet again provided a warm private place for groups of friends to gather ensemble and make the most of Milngavie’s easy access to the region’s many adventures.
Thanks again, and haste ye back.
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 11, 2018
It's always easier to host when a large group of guests seem delighted by what the villa, the village and the vicinity have to offer. It was a great start that Stephen and his pals were able to make good use of the wider garden area during a glorious evening spent playing football on the lawn by the main hoose, followed by a BBQ. Stephen took good notice of the advance information so was able to arrange for a supermarket delivery of groceries (which we could stack before they arrived) plus organise several outdoor activities around Loch Lomond and Glasgow. We always find it heart-warming that the villa provides a warm private place where groups of friends can gather ensemble and make the most of Milngavie’s easy access to the region’s many adventures.
Haste ye back
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 10, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Date of stay: April 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 11, 2018
Lovely, lovely people - always easier to host when guests seem delighted by what the villa, the village and the vicinity have to offer. So happy with your respect for our home, the neighbourhood and general area and especially for making use of the wider garden area for your Easter egg hunt. We find it particularly heart-warming that the villa provides a warm private place where multi-generations of families can all gather, congregate and eat ensemble plus make the most of Milngavie’s easy access to Glasgow, other city centres and adventures further afield.
Haste ye back.
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Avramov
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed December 30, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful holiday villa in Milngavie .We were 10 adults and 7 children travelling together and there was plenty of space for all of us with six good sized double bedrooms. There was a spacious, well equipped kitchen and a fantastic living area. Chris was a great host and always really helpful when we needed advice on the local area. He is gracious host who will make your stay a very comfortable and feel like home. Many Thanks ! Highly recommend

Date of stay: December 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2018
Diyan's family and friends were a delight to host and have made several remarks of gratitude, as well as presenting a generous farewell gift and card. They had travelled long distances after a rare fall of December snow, but at least this provided a ready supply to build snowmen in the wider garden.

We were happy to pack&stack a large supermarket order they had sensibly placed in advance as that helps get everyone settled in as soon as possible. At least with close access to the village and ample supply of major supermarkets, it’s not a challenge for guests to re-stock provisions at almost any time of year.

We not only appreciated their high respect for our property but were also all the more content because they seemed happy to explore the many beauty spots within easy range - even in mid-winter!

Super guests! Haste ye back.

Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
108vz
Hungary
1 review
“Nice and tidy house, awesome landlord”
Reviewed October 30, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Our group of 15 has been staying for 3 weeks and we have found the villa to be warm, very comfortable and provides a super base for our team. The hosts have always responded swiftly to any request for assistance. We have booked to stay for a further 5 weeks

Date of stay: October 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Thank you for your kind review. It has been a pleasure to host your group who have a tough schedule of working night-shifts nearby. This has made for an interesting challenge to our servicing routine (eg. cleaning the villa/bedding during night-times), for 15 laundry washes each week and for individual cooking. Sleeping in different beds, your team members have tested and shown great appreciation for both the villa’s capacity and accommodation flexibility. They have been very agreeable and are great ambassadors for your country. Obviously we are now hosting a further group of 14 for a further 5 weeks, so we trust the second stay is equally warm and comfortable.
All good wishes,
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bairerrin
Sandpoint, Idaho
1 review
“A perfect house”
Reviewed September 25, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We chose this house as a base for our adventure wedding in Scotland. The village looked charming and the house was suitable for our large party of 11. It turned out to be so much more! The owners are lovely, friendly, and helpful people. Chris went out of his way to make sure we were having a great time. He even loaned my new husband a pair of kilt socks for our wedding! The house is comfortable and full of everything we needed. The village of Milngavie is a short walk down the hill and the people are so lovely! We got to know the bartenders and restaurant locals and now we leave as friends. We will never forget this place and hope to visit again.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 27, 2017
What lovely, lovely guests who seemed delighted by what the villa and Scotland have to offer. So happy with and respectful of our home, the garden, the "recycling police", the village [the pubs], the general area, and the ease of access to almost everywhere. We were so pleased we could help in a modest way towards this wonderful wedding event, and we blush with pride at the happy faces beaming throughout their stay.
Haste ye back.
Chris
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing