We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of HSM Golden Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
HSM Golden Playa
Ranked #30 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Good hotel, excellent location on the waterfront near the beach, great food at the restaurant, the abundance of various fish and seafood, almost everything was OK. All double rooms have sea view . But the air conditioner in the room was poor, the room was poorly cooled. We had to open the balcony door and then very noisy hotel-neighbor Tropical disturbed our sleep. Also staff of the nearby hotel Tropical started to clean their territory very early talking very loudly, they were not caring about sleep of the gusts of The Tropical hotel and hotel where we stayed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kznsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Customer Service at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and that you liked our restaurant. . However, we will inform our quality department about all your suggestions. Hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 171 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Fantastic beach location and views. Quiet part of resort. Spotlessly clean. Good food. Very courteous and helpful staff. 10min. from airport by taxi. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DCamerondac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Customer Service at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and that you liked our good service. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I recently stayed at the HSM Golden Playa resort (July 2012). Upon first glance the resort seemed nice enough, not luxurious but clean and functional. It was later on that several things occurred that made me realize this is not a 4 star resort.

The Good:
- The pool area is nice
- The lounges at the pool are comfortable (if you can get one)
- The beach is at your doorstep
- The view from our room was spectacular
- The food is good enough, with a decent size buffet for breakfast and dinner.

The Bad:
- Our toilet would not flush and they could not get someone to fix it until the next day and couldn't move us to a new room. All they did was offer us a bucket to use over night to empty the toilet! How disgusting!!
- The lounge chairs at the pool are never available, people put their towels on them early in the morning to save them for the whole day - no one monitors it. So, there is rarely a lounge chair available - even when there are very few people at the pool. The resort doesn't seem to care, other than posting a few tiny notes around the area - that no one listens to. This was incredibly frustrating!
- The resort charges for a bunch of extras that should be included. For example: the internet, to use the safe in the room, and they require a deposit for a pool towel. They also charge for all drinks during dinner, even water.
- There were very loud noises that woke us up every morning around 8am. We suspect it was chairs scrapping along the ground in the dining room - the sound vibrated up the walls. We were on the 4th floor and the dining room was on the 1st floor. I can't imagine how loud it would have been on a lower floor. We were not happy to be woken up every morning.
- The pool closes at 9pm.

Additional notes:
- The beach is gorgeous, but the area itself is a little run down.
- There is a very nice boardwalk that goes the entire length of the beach. There are little shops and restaurants along the beach - so it is nice for a walk.
-There are a couple of public transit buses that stop outside the hotel that take you into Palma. It takes between 30-50 minutes to get there.
- There is also a public transit bus that goes to and from the airport.

Overall the resort is okay. Many families seemed to be enjoying themselves. But if I ever go back to Mallorca, I will likely look for somewhere else to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the quite side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deb_seethesights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Customer Service at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you liked our restaurant and that you have spent a nice time with us. However, we will inform our quality department about all your suggestions. Hope to see you again in Hoteles Saint Michel.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

One of the best Holidays we ever had. The hotel was great. The staff all so kind and helpfull. Breakfast and diner where lovely, and every day different. We have made the reservation at the Hotel Group trough email. And if we had a question, we had the answer the same day. So a great team to help you. The room that we had was a suite at the top floor. Wauw....what a view!! So We will definitely come back to do this al over again. Thank you to all the nice people of HSM and "Hotel Golden Playa".

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CallaKok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, Customer Service at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

Dear Guests,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you have spent a nice time in our hotel and that you liked our good service. See you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel!

With kind regards,

Your
HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We chose this hotel due to its location and we are not mistaken, is in front of the best palm beach area, in the middle between Arenal and Can Pastilla. If you want to go to the city of Palma, the location is great too, you can take 2 bus lines, number 25 and 2 near of the hotel.

Take note of the 25 bus if you want to go beyond the city, Alcudia, for example, because this bus has a stop in The Intermodal Station, in Square Spain, an important transportation point for moved in the island.

The main advantages we saw were:
- Reception staff very friendly and willing to give us indications of any kind
- Breakfast and dinner buffets plentiful and varied, 7 days without repeated plate, great!
- Facilities of the hotel in good condition, pool, jacuzzi, bar
- Spacious room
- Bus Stop 50 meters

And....of course, the hotel isn't perfect, there is the list of disadvantage:

- Rooms without remodeling, all the furniture is neglected, including beds were not very comfortable, but you can sleep, specially if you had a long day at the beach :)
- Do not have a minibar in the rooms!!! incredible, on the beach this is a must, a big contra!
- No vending machines of water or ice, must always call the room service
- They can improve the night show, seems focused in older people.

Mallorca is a great beach destination, enjoy your travel !

Have fun!

Room Tip: Docuble with terrace and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mai_ccs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, hsm customer service at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to know that you liked our hotel and good location. On the other hand we will inform about all your suggestions to our manager, so we can get better. Hope to see you next time in Hoteles Saint Michel.

With kind regards,

HSM
Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We accomodate in june 2011 for 10 days at this hotel. Location is very close to the beach, just 30 m, in the quiet area of Playa de Palma, on the border with Can Pastilla. Room is spacious, clean and recently furnished. Simple decorated, but have a great seaview from balcony and we found all the amenities in the room. The strong point of the hotel is the restaurant and their halfboard. various meals, vegetables, salads, sweets and many many more. Food was really great. Also champagne at breakfast. You must pay only drinks at dinner.
Nice outside lounge area with pool gives us relaxing time. Also if you need, can buy anything from many markets in the proximity.
We have only one complain: outside the room, on the elevators area smells unpleasant, something like fish. Probable they have a bad ventilation system or anything.
Gennerally speaking, it was very good value for money paid.
I recommend this hotel if you want a quiet zone, close to the beach, an excellent pool area and one of the great halfboard.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank snookie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4409, HSM Customer Service at HSM Golden Playa, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Good afternoon,

Thank you for your nice comment. We are happy to know that you appreciate your holidays and the food in our hotel.

We hope to see you soon again in Hoteles Saint Michel!
Your
HSM Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2009

Having stayed in several hotels in Playa de Palma ( I visit twice a year to visit family ) this hotel is without a boubt the best yet. Small enough to offer friendly,personal service. The rooms are large and always kept clean. All double/twin rooms have sea view and I was lucky to be allocated one for sole occupancy. I believe there are single rooms but some are on the roadside of the hotel so would not afford a great view. The food was plentiful and there was a large choice. A nice touch was a thermos pot of real coffee and hot milk served to the table at breakfast time. The pool is clean and relatively quiet with the beach just across the road. More sun parasols at the pool would have been welcome to beat the mainly German guests reserving sunbeds as early as 0730 despite clear signs asking guests not to. This is a German resort but the hotel is in a quieter location and there was no noise at night and no rowdy bars nearby. I shall definitely use this hotel again without a doubt for my regular visits to this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillianlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.0 mi away
HM Tropical
HM Tropical
#14 of 78 in Playa de Palma
468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Negresco
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 78 in Playa de Palma
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
HM Gran Fiesta
HM Gran Fiesta
#27 of 78 in Playa de Palma
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grupotel Acapulco Playa
Grupotel Acapulco Playa
#19 of 78 in Playa de Palma
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caballero Hotel
Caballero Hotel
#10 of 78 in Playa de Palma
542 reviews
0.3 mi away
HM Balanguera Beach
HM Balanguera Beach
#4 of 78 in Playa de Palma
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HSM Golden Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HSM Golden Playa

Address: Calle Marbella 14, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: $114 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HSM Golden Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GENERAL: The 4* hotel HSM Golden Playa is situated in front of a long, sandy beach. The hotel has been recently refurbished (winter 2010-11) and offers high quality facilities and service. Its superb location and staff's friendliness are acknowledged among its faithful clients who visit the hotel year after year and offer the best recommendations. The hotel opens from February to October. LOCATION: The hotel HSM Golden Playa is situated in a sea front position in Playa de Palma, one of the most popular and visited resorts in Majorca. Playa de Palma extends between the municipalities of Palma de Mallorca and Llucmajor and it is 4,5 km long. The most outstanding features of the hotel are: its proximity to Palma de Mallorca (12 km) and the airport (4 km); being one of the longest and beautiful beaches in Majorca, its long sea promenade with countless bars, restaurants and shops, ideal to go by tourist train, by bike or simply walking. Impressive marine park "Palma Aquarium", one of the biggest in Europe, is only steps away from the hotel. The water park "Aquacity" is situated 6 km away. The golf course Golf Son Antem is 10 km away. At its east end there is sports port Club Nautico de S'Arenal (Llucmajor). It is worth mentioning that there is an efficient public bus service to Palma de Mallorca and El Arenal, the bus stop is only few meters away from the hotel. The hotel HSM Golden Playa has a direct access to the beach and the sea promenade. ROOMS: The hotel offers refurbished double and single rooms that give a fresh and more up-to-date look to the hotel. All the rooms offer modern decoration with bright, mediterranean colours. All of the rooms include a bathroom, hairdryer, heating and air conditioning, mini fridge, safety deposit box (extra charge), telephone, WIFI (extra charge), music channel, LCD satellite TV and a balcony! All of double rooms come with a spectacular sea view (direct or lateral). The hotel also offers comfortable and cozy Junior Suites, with a direct sea view. Junior Suites consist of a living room and bedroom with LCD satellite TV and a bathroom, spread in 29 m². GASTRONOMY: The hotel offers a half board food and beverage package (breakfast and dinner). In 2011 the restaurant began to offer an outstanding buffet with show cooking. All meals are served in thematic buffet style and offer a wide selection of cold and hot dishes, a variety of homemade desserts and fruit. Drinks in half board are not included in the price (dinner). The clients are asked to wear suitable clothes for dinner. FACILITIES: The hotel offers a spacious swimming pool for adults and a separate one for children, with spectacular sea view! There is a spacious terrace with sunbeds and sunshades. Bar service at the pool, with its "chill out" corner, an ideal place to have a drink while enjoying beautiful sunset. In winter the hotel offers indoor swimming pool and "wellness & relax" area which includes: Turkish bath, hydrotherapy pool, jacuzzi, sauna, small gym, with no extra cost. Refurbished and spacious common areas. Bar indoors, game room, meeting room. Storage place for bicycles. CHILDREN: Swimming pool for children. There are also baby cots and high chairs available in the restaurant, at no extra cost. ADITIONAL SERVICES: 24/7 reception. Pool towels and bathrobes for rent (with a deposit). WIFI in common areas (no extra charge), WIFI in hotel rooms (extra charge), Internet corner (extra charge). Rent a car and rent a bike. Massage service (extra charge). We accept Visa and MasterCard credit cards. SPORT AND ENTERTAINMENT: The hotel is specialized and certified in cycling tourism: not only the hotel has a well prepared storage room for bicycles, but also it offers the general information about cycling routes, meals adapted to the cyclists' needs, etc. Possibility to practice sports in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HRS, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your HSM Golden Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Playa Hotel Playa De Palma
Golden Playa De Palma
HSM Golden Playa Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing