We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would have been better without the cockroaches .-)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Miguel Playa Hotel
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Would have been better without the cockroaches .-)”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my friend (both 24 yrs) for a week in August 11. The hotel had quite a good reviews so we decided to go with it.

After arrival the receptionist told us that they currently have no free room for us (thought we booked the hotel in mid May and other people checking in with us had it booked only for couple of weeks) and that they have to move us to a different hotel for one night.

After half an hour of complaints we gave up and moved to Cosmopolitan hotel just across the street for one night.

The hotel was obviously overbooked and after some time we had noticed that the hotel moved people to various hotels everyday.

When we returned the other day, we were given room nr. 216 with a balcony and aircondition. The room was fine, clean and of a good size, the balcony faced west with sun shining on the balcony for the whole afternoon. The pooled seemed clean and cozy but we did not use it as the sea is only a 5 minute walk.

The hotel is nicely located in the district of shops, bars, restaurant, cafes etc, yet quiet. The food was of a very good standard with vegie options. We went with a half board which was sufficient as there are literally dozens of a small bars, where you can have a lunch from 2 EUR.

Other unpleasant surprise apart from the moving were cockroaches. We had two in our room and spotted others in the dining room. The staff told us that they disinfect the hotel but they just keep coming back :-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Tish272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

The Don Miguel is a nice hotel, close to the nightlife of the Yumbo. When arriving I was put in a room on the fifth floor which had no balcony and was like a prison cell. I immediately complained and I was moved to a ground floor room with a balcony overlooking a tennis court, which was an improvement. The staff were generally helpful, although they didnt look like they wanted to move my room, but I insisted. Was staying half board, food of a good standard and plenty of choice. Pool a good size, plenty of loungers to use. Only downside for me was the hotel caters mainly for Germans, for the first 3 days I was there i met no English people at all. Luckily for me a meet a great couple of lasses from Sheffield way who was great to chat to round the pool. Would prob stay somewhere else next time, just due to lack of English conversation!

Room Tip: dont settle for a poor room complain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Archie6977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

The room was comfortable and clean, the views of the bridge and gorge from the balcany were unreal, I could have sat there for days. The staff was reasonably helpful but a bit grumpy, we didn't eat at the restraunt as it seemed over priced, but overall a pretty nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZacharyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2009

I’m not sure the hotel knew what had hit them when we turned up!! 6 over excited girls all under 25! However they coped very well, the staff were great, always available and always helpful.

We booked a 3 bedroom apartment, we were that impressed we even ooood and ahhhd as we were shown round!! The apartment was perfect, clean, tidy, spacious, with a large kitchen and lounge as well as an ensuite on one of the bedrooms. The 3 balconies always caught the sun and our main balcony overlooked the pool, it was fabulous!!!

I could not recommend the apartments enough, the resort is quiet, but with enough to keep you amused. The hotel / apartments are close to the beach and the local restaurants were lovely!

We has a fab holiday, and just had to recommend it to others, hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Stayed August 2009
Helpful?
6 Thank Claire240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropolitan Playa
Hotel Metropolitan Playa
#61 of 77 in Playa de Palma
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Palma Playa
Hotel Palma Playa
#27 of 77 in Playa de Palma
313 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cosmopolitan
Cosmopolitan
#15 of 77 in Playa de Palma
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nets
Hotel Nets
#71 of 77 in Playa de Palma
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
THB Maria Isabel
THB Maria Isabel
#39 of 77 in Playa de Palma
187 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mac Paradiso Garden
Mac Paradiso Garden
#56 of 77 in Playa de Palma
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Miguel Playa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Miguel Playa Hotel

Property: Don Miguel Playa Hotel
Address: Calle Mar del Japo 2, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Miguel Playa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Otel, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Don Miguel Playa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Miguel Playa Hotel Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing