We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT CHOICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Occidental Playa de Palma
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I were looking for a warm place where he could cycle while on R and R from Afghanistan. I researched and found Mallorca to be warm, equal distance for both of us to travel and cycle friendly. Further research brought me to Barcelo Pueblo Park because of their cycling facility.

We were not to be disappointed. We planned one week at Barcelo and another at different location. The other location was lovely, but we checked out early and went back to Barcelo, since I was not feeling well and Barcelo provided excellent facilities for my husband's sport. And I could put my feet up out by the pool.

Jan and Peter in the cycle shop were great. The shop itself was wonderful, had great bikes for rent. We shipped my hubands, but it never arrived. The rental worked just fine. There are three ride group options. Ronald was my husband's group leader. Riding with the group gave him an idea of where to ride, safety and some challenge. He claims a great experience and when we come back, he is familiar so he can ride alone easily.

Pool was crystal clear and when it got cool, the cover was pulled over one of the pools. I would have liked a larger fitness room with more options, but I did use it and it was adequate. The reception staff was very helpful and all spoke english. Trust them when they say take the bus. It is very simple and there is a tourist information office at the Plaza de Espana that will help you get on the right connecting bus. You can go all over, bus drivers are helpful. Have small Euro. Denomination of 10 Euro or less. Right down the side street (Mision San Diego) of Barcelo is a supermarket. Buy yourself liters of bottled water to drink. Saves alot of Euro! At the end of the street is beach 6. Turn right, second restaurant, Sea Club, best salmon of my life, great steak and a beautiful breakfast. Wait staff excellent.

Next visit we will get an apartment. I believe the price is comparable to a superior room, which we had. Our first room was on the fourth floor. Too hot, when we came back, we had one on the second floor. Much more comfortable. But they were clean, comfortable, nice TV. Housekeeping did a fabulous job and they were PLEASANT!

Our first stay we were half board. Breakfast is nice, plenty to offer, staff friendly and helpful. Dinner was also very good and there was plenty to please everyone. The desert table was very nice. When we checked back in we decided to skip the half board and go out for our evening meal, just because after so many days we wanted some variety and beachside dining. The inside bar is nice, outside terrace, nice, evening live music, nice. All in all, very nice and we would go back and may actually return in May if our plans work out. The location is so central that the whole island can be enjoyed.

We went as a couple, but certainly a place for a family as well.

Some comments I read prior to booking that I would like to respond to.

"Walls were thin"...Could I hear the people in the next room? Yes, but if you get an apartment, probably not a problem. No one was disruptive very late and I have had the same problem in just about every hotel I have stayed in.

"Mostly German tourist area"....This is true, but really, who cares? Although on our last day, a German man had a real problem with my huband's US flag on his back pack. We were in the restaurant and this guy started in German. Who knows what he said, but between the two wives, we managed to shut the men up.

As I said above...everyone was wonderful, not much of a language barrier, and a great place to be! Thanks for a wonderful R and R period and we hope to see you all again!

Room Tip: Second floor is probably best, but I would spend the extra for an apartment next time. But be sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,721)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed as a party of four over the last weekend in order to participate in the Palma marathon that took place on Sunday. Overall, can highly recommend this as a great hotel to stay in with wonderful facilities. You must of course be aware of what the wider area is like (mass tourism aimed primarily at the German market, with a few really very large German beer halls), but this hotel was perfect for what we were looking for

+ Initially allocated a handicapped room beside the lift that had a tiny bed. When we talked to reception and indicated that this was not really appropriate (my feet would have stuck out more than a foot beyond the end of the bed...) we were given an apartment out beside the pool
+ if you have a choice, can totally recommend taking an apartment here. Very different feel to the hotel, much more private, plenty of space
+ the area around the swimming pool is lovely, with the trees and individual apartment buildings
+ Palma is easily reachable with a taxi that will take no longer than approx 15 minutes and cost approx 15-18 euros

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JonnyNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun T, Director de Recepción at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Johnny,

First of all would like to thank you ofr taking some time to share your experience with us, we try to provide with the ebst service and comfort possible, and try to satisfy all our guests needs, so indeed when our guests are quite tall, it is recomended to stay in an apartment.

We hope you had a good journey back home, and that you had a good result in the marathon

Hope to welcome you again in the near future

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Great hotel is exactly as described , we stayed for 4 nights a short break with our 3 year old very clean rooms, very quiet and right near the beach.
Good selection of food and staff very helpful and friendly
Would stay here again !!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vixter72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun T, Director de Recepción at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Vixter72,

Thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts with us, it is a great pleasure to know that you had a lovely stay, its our aim to make all our guest feel like home.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

we booked to go away in may and this hotel came up and what a pearl it was !!!!!!! it wasnt a cheap holiday but well worth the visit....we arrived late in the evening and went to reception to be told what we had booked wasn't available but had upgraded us to an apartment !!!!!! it was gorgeous we had a first floor apartment with a pool view.as we were late they had left the restaurant open so we could help ourselves to the buffet food,it certainly ticked all our boxes.
the pool area was very busy but we found if you took the sun loungers away from it then you still could enjoy the area....the food in the restaurant was delicious and puddings mmmmmm very tasty indeed.we would certainly visit this hotel again ....the nightlife is noisy on the front but we found the dutch bar very nice and friendly...very noisy of a daytime but its funny as well

Room Tip: first floor apartments are far better with nice balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurie98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun T, Director de Recepción at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Laurie,

First of all would like to thank you for taking some time for sharing your holiday experience with us.
Our aim is to work hard to satisfy our guest needs, and is a great feeling to know that we get the results.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

After my own research and reviews from several sites, decided to take a change with this hotel. It's was not easy to find something that would be nice for my kids (age 11 and 16). I was not disappointed at all. We booked a bungalow and got one close to the pool on the first floor. It was good simple and clean and with a basic little kitchen. All the people working at the hotel were very friendly and helpfull especially at the reception. It's also a big plus that this hotel is not directly on the boulevard (just a 5 min. walk) and close to busstops. There is a big supermarket with good prices only 10 min. away. We have traveled a lot and stayed in hotels from 2* to 5*, personally I would give this hotel a just under a 4*.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NetherlandsKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arun T, Director de Recepción at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Dear Karin,

First of all would like to thank you for taking some time to share your holiday experience with us, we are happy to know that guests that travel a lot like our hotel.

Our aim to sastify all our guests needs, and we try our best to do so.

Hoping to welcome you again in the near future

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice looking and clean aparthotel with things to improve. Because of some negative comments about the size of the standard hotel rooms we booked an appartment. We asked for a quit apartment and they met our preference and got one at the back of the complex. It was a nice appartment with a good size living room / kitchen and bedroom. Good points of this complex:
- Clean and goodsized appartments and main areas / poolarea
- Well situated, close to the beach but not so close that you cannot sleep because of the
noise coming from bars and discos
- Good breakfast buffet with showcooking
- Friendly an helpfull staff at the reception and restaurant
Things to improve:
- Airconditioning in the complex not working very well so its was to warm to get a goodnight sleep
- Only 4 parasols available for over 120 beds by the pool so you were either the whole day
in the burning sun or the whole day in the shade
- Rude and unfriendly staff at the poolbar (accept for the waitresses)
Overall we had an ok holiday but would not return

Room Tip: If you are looking for a quiet appartment you should go for buildings 1, 2 or 3. We saw the standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monique E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2011

This Barcelo hotel was the base for a 4 day break for a group of 8 running in the Majorca marathon event. We were moved here after the original hotel that we had booked was closed for the winter.

On arrival, the reception service was fantastic, and it continued that way throughout our stay. We had opted for all inclusive to avoid long discussions about where to eat and who had eaten what...this was the first AI experience for some of us. The food was great - good choice, good quality and plenty of it. The drinks available were fine - a nice selection of wine and the beer was okay - but when the bar staff serve all inclusive guests the service seems less than when serving paying customers; lack of tips maybe, but we would have rewarded good service.

Bedrooms were a little small and TVs old fashioned (not flat screen)., Pools were good with nice sun loungers. All in all an excellent location for a break - we stayed 4 nights - and good value for money. Close to the beach. A German area with oompah bands and bier kellers; good atmosphere

The hotel looks due for a bit of a refurb, but I would recommend this to anyone as a base for an activity holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank roadsrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
989 reviews
0.8 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#14 of 74 in Palma de Mallorca
1,765 reviews
0.2 mi away
Myseahouse Neptuno
Myseahouse Neptuno
#31 of 78 in Playa de Palma
154 reviews
11.4 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#5 of 38 in Palmanova
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Playa de Palma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Playa de Palma

Address: Fray Joan Llabres 16, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Barcelo Pueblo Park)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa de Palma
#4 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Palma
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: $65 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Playa de Palma 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Occidental Playa de Palma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Pueblo Park Hotel Playa De Palma
Barcelo Playa De Palma
Barcelo Hotel Pueblo Park
Occidental Playa De Palma Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing