We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palma Bay Club Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Palma Bay Club Resort
Ranked #67 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We booked to go here for a week at short notice and chose it because the transfer time from the airport wasn't going to be too long which is a must when travelling with a 1 year old. upon arrival late at night the hotel was far nicer than we had anticipated and all our requests had been dealt with prior to our arrival ( cot bed and such like ). Being a seasoned traveller I know that sometimes the meals you get in all inclusive hotels can being somewhat hit and miss, this place couldn't be further from that, the quantity, quality and variety were excellent, we even had Rabbit, Quail and Veal !!! The pool and its surroundings where always kept immaculate even though they don't seem to adhere to there own rules of no smoking by the pool or not being allowed to reserve sunbeds first thing the bog of for the rest of the day just incase you wanted to use them. The 24hour gift shop on site was great for those late night snack cravings and had almost everything you would need even if mot things were about 50% more expensive than shops on the main strip just 0.5 miles away on the beach front.

The entertainment crew were always on hand throughout the day to keep both children and adults amused with activities and there's even a mini club where smaller children can play in safety giving the adults a little respite. Big thanks have to go out to Johanna, Aga, Mar, Dave, Nick and Mario for doing the job they do and I won't hold it against them for making me take part in the comedy show on the thursday night.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to Palma and would happily return again if we go back to Mallorca. The other reviews about large groups of loud music playing German yobs I think is a little over emphasised, Yes there are groups of young non British people there to have a good time and yes Palma may look on the surface that someone has transplanted a German town into the island but we had no problems with them and didn't see anyone else having problems either.

Room Tip: Don't stay in Nubia, Gobi or Sahara. the other blocks are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveJennaAmber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    762
    660
    331
    430
See reviews for
823
895
57
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

I wish I had looked on Tripadvisor first. It seems the most common theme is that rooms are not available , and you get put somewhere else , this happend to us and we were told we were being upgraded and sent by minibus to the SAGA hotel. This place was awfull, dirty , old fashioned and had no airconditioning and was therefore blindingly hot. We were eventually( the next day ) found a room in the 'annexes ' called Sahara , Nubia and Gobia , these at least have aircon, but they are very basic and small like hostel rooms. They are also a walk away from the main part of the resort and on a very busy road. The staff were less than helpfull and whilst we were in reception there were two other couples being sent elsewhere too. The resort advertises multiple restaurants , but the Oriental never existed at all and when we went to eat in the less busy of the two that were actually open, a waiter pointed to my wifes wristband and said we shouldnt be eating in there. So in fact you have a choice of precisely one. The food when you managed to get it was ok, just ok. There are supposed to be several bars , in fact there was only one during the day and another that opened at night, hence both were very crowded and both served drinks in small plastic cups like you get at a water cooler ....even at the indoor bar at night. This is the worst holiday I have ever had . I would not recommend this place to anyone. A terrible place that is made worse by the awful customer care.Please dont go there , you will regret it.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, or at least a room in the main part of the resort. You may be lucky!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartinDC666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de Palma hotels

Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Im just back from a week at Palma Bay Club Resort, with my 2 young kids, 5years & 3years. Had a ball, lots going on, activities during the day & at night for both kids & adults. The Hotel was very clean, beds changed daily, towels changed every day. Kids entertainers were brilliant, mini club was great for the kids. The food was nice in the restaurant & snack bar, the only thing I would say is that there should be a bigger range for children at dinner, alot of food too fancy for children, but apart from that, the food was tasty. I felt really safe as everything in one complex, the kids could have a bit of freedom at night, playing in the games room. great pools, some shaded suitable for children. overall a good experience, and would go back again..

Room Tip: We stayed in the havana hotel, room 519, lots of room for families, great view overlooked all resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumnock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Have just returned from our second time at Palma Bay having booked again after enjoying our first stay so much. This trip was a disappointment for a couple of reasons - firstly, on arrival we were informed that there was a problem with our room and would not be available for 3 days. We were placed in an alternative hotel and offered, as compensation, use of Palma Bay facilities. Despite explaining that we had already paid for use of these facilities staff persisted in telling us that this was great compensation. We were also given no information on he hotel facilities or where to eat leading to an embarrassing encounter with a waiter who told us we should not be in the restaurant - despite our attempts to explain we did not even have a room he continued to tell us we should not be there. The following day, we were informed our room would not be available for 6 days (we were there for a week). Eventually we got our room after 3 days. While at the other hotel we noticed that we were not the only ones wearing Palma Bay wristbands, leading me to wonder how common and/or intentional the 'problem with your room' was.

Secondly, the evening meals had considerably dropped in quality. Meals were bland and often quite tasteless. While there the restaurant had themed nights, Mexican and Italian, however, all this consisted of was be dish from each country. These were lasagne with almost no meat and mince wrapped in tortillas and labelled burritos.

Overall a disappointing return to a hotel we had greatly enjoyed. Next year we have a family holiday planned for 12 people and had planned to recommend this hotel, however, unfortunately for Palma Bay we will now not even be considering it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilleroed
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Thanks for a lovely holiday. The staff were nice and allways polite. The pools were nice and the children used a lot of time bathing.

The food were always different in the big buffets.

We were all relaxed after our holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henriette_AHilleroed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Palma Bay is a large hotel complex with an excellent range of facilities all to a good standard. Food is good and menu varied.
Location good, only a short walk to the beach if you want a break from the four different pool areas on site. Palma is only a short bus trip (1.50 euro’s).
Staff fluent in many languages and found then to be very friendly (5 stars for customer care).
A very good place to stay, this trip was a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bled, Slovenia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am just back from my 7day break, I stayed in Palma Bay - Acapulco building with my boyfriend. Food was pretty tasty and there were a lot of different things to try - I would say there is something for everyone. We rented a car, so we didn't spend much time at the resort. Of course there were lots of Germans there:) they were loud, but also quite friendly - we had no problems with them. The room was cleaned every day, but not perfectly I'd say. The towels were not clean, just folded.. I also didn't like staff's attitude - on the third day of our vacation we were gone from breakfast till dinner. When we came back the door was OPEN. At first we thought we left it open, but then we realised that the doorlock isn't working. We went to the reception to tell them that and some rude guy gave us another key-card. After telling him several times that the lock is broken and there is no problem with key-card he didn't listen to me and told me to go and try the new card. Of course, it wasn't woking. This thing repeated a few times and i was really nervous because we were tired and couldn't get into the room. After 1,5 hour the problem was finnaly solved.

Apart from that, staying at Palma Bay was pretty great. I would recommend it to young people or young couples. If I had little children I wouln't come here - the noise till 6 in morning can be disturbing :)

Room Tip: The highest floor is not the best option, because it can get veeeery hot. We stayed in 2nd floor - p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JM A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
0.4 mi away
Caribbean Bay
Caribbean Bay
#15 of 48 in El Arenal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.4 mi away
whala!beach
whala!beach
#13 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
0.7 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#9 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Blue Bay Hotel
Blue Bay Hotel
#4 of 5 in Cala Major
3.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
0.8 mi away
Blue Sea Costa Verde
Blue Sea Costa Verde
#19 of 48 in El Arenal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pinero Hotel Bahia De Palma
Pinero Hotel Bahia De Palma
#10 of 48 in El Arenal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palma Bay Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palma Bay Club Resort

Property: Palma Bay Club Resort
Address: C/ Bartomeu Calafell, 23 | El Arenal, 07600 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Palma Bay Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Satisfaction on 6178 acres.Palma-Bay Club Resort hotel is located in a quiet area in the beach of Palma (Arenal), 350 metres from the beach and 5 minutes from the leisure and shopping centres. It also has a large children’s area and a great entertainment team, who with our staff help you enjoy an unforgettable holidays. The hotel has an area of 25.000 square metres with some restaurants, a snack bar and various bars as well as large gardens and 4 swimming pools It’s only 8 Km from the airport and 10 Km from the capital of Mallorca, Palma. It’s a resort with more than 500 bedrooms, most of them with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Palma Bay Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Palma Bay
Palma Bay Playa De
Palma Bay Club Resort Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing