We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Playa Park
Ranked #68 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Riu Playa Park is situated only 300 mtr from the Bierstrasse, the populair hangout for the mostly German girls and guys. Although the noise from the street is hardly noticable, the hotel it self is a popular sleeping place for them and when comming home they make a lot of noise.
Swimming pools oke, all-inclusive oke, staff fine, security a bit too little, overall try not too disturb yourself too much when people are loud and you have a fine holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    101
    71
    31
    33
See reviews for
92
81
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ive just returned from a short break at this hotel in playa de palma. I wanted somewhere that didnt involve much travelling as I had my elderly mother in law and small son. The plus points first.. The hotel, although a little dated, was fine. The staff were excellent, especially considering what they had to put up with and the food was better than some 4 stars I have stayed in. The all inclusive bar was well stocked and even included branded spirits which was a first. As most of the beer and soft drinks were self serve during the day it meant there wasnt huge queues at the bar and there was none of the ridiculous "only 2 drinks at a time" nonsense.
The restaurant staff were helpful and courteous and always had a little play with my son. One evening the waitress noticed that my son hadnt eaten much and sent the head waiter over to see if they could make him something else, a really nice touch.
The problem is the clientelle and the location and it was a big problem. Lift and shift this hotel to another location and it would be great but this is NOT the place for families, elderly, English or in face anyone else other than an 18-30 German bloke. We didnt come across another English person during our stay.
We would be by the pool by 10am most mornings and already the pool bar was full of German lads, all drunk probably still from the night before, chanting football type songs and wheeling getto blasters in the size of coffins!!! At one stage I was listening to three at the same time. As the morning went on, more and more groups joined in and by lunchtime there were probaly a hundred or more young lads, all different groups singing and chanting various songs. There was no break from it, it went on all day and night.
You couldnt go out of the hotel to get a break from it because, as you stepped out of the front door, you walked into one massive 24 hour drinking street. We went for a walk at 11am on our first day and there were just massive bars, like aircraft hangers, already full with very drunk crowds spilling into the road. The whole area reaked of urine.The hotel is about 350m to the beach, we thought we would get through the drinkers and have a walk down the beach. Mistake!!! The beach was again full of the same. You couldnt find a square inch to sit even if you wanted to which you wouldnt. There were lads carting buckets over from the beach front shops full of alcohol and so many bottles of spirits and beer to pour into them. Every group had one of the music systems and most were already drunk. I doubt most of them had been to sleep. The stench was disgusting. It wasnt a one off, this is EVERY DAY. There is no chance of a break from it.
To say Im glad we were all inclusive is an understatement, you couldnt find a restaurant. The resort caters for the masses and is just bars and snack bars. Someone put on a previous review that it is a german Magaluf, this is incorrect. Ive been to Magaluf and this place is 100 times worse. This is just a place for blokes (there were hardly any women/girls), all German to drink all day and night. Ive never seen anything like it. Stay away...

Room Tip: High floors that dont overlook the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Trudi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is a nice hotel in the worst resort I have ever been to. I wish I had taken notice of the reviewer who said it is like German Magalluf, because that's exactly what it is. The hotel guests were exclusively German apart from us and very, very loud. As soon as you go out of the hotel you are in a scene from a documentary about young people behaving like louts whilst on holiday. Drinking hard from 10am, urinating in the street, it is very intimidating and i am used to going out drinking. Horrible. If it sounds a bit xenophobic it's not meant to be, it was just unrelaxing and unpleasant. Woken up several times a night by singing and shouting. Good points are nice, fresh, plentiful food and drink. But it was still the worst oil day ever.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Minotaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTS
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a very warm welcome from reception and were told we had a very nice room and we were not disappointed. The room was 611 and was on the 6th floor (as requested) and had a fabulous view of the sea and the bay. The receptionist rang our room to see if we were satisfied with the room and always said Hello to us when we passed through reception.
Yes the room is basic but it is a 3* and it is Majorca and we previously stayed in a 3* a couple of years ago in Majorca and it was well below the standard of this Riu. The room was very comfortable as was the bed and we had no complaints about any of this.
The food in the dinning room was always hot and varied I tried most things and found the meat to be very tender and the taste of the fish was not over powering. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and helpful and always took the time to speak with us.It was my birthday whilst we were there and at dinner I found a bottle of bubbly in a wine bucket on our table and a candle which the waiter lit on our arrival. All the waiters came over and wished me a happy birthday.
The bar staff were again friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our total experience was so positive that we were sorry to leave, we really felt valued.
We also found the Germans we spoke to were friendly and genuine.
I really would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of holidaying in Majorca. Go with an open mind and everything else will fall into place. Well done Riu.

Room Tip: Our room 611 didn't get the sun until late afternoon but as it was so hot we were glad of the sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wainie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Pros - the staff are very polite and attentive. The drinks are generous and plentiful. The 21 bus takes you to the airport for 2.5 Euros each. The 25 bus to Palma is only 1.5 Euro and Palma is well worth a visit. The cakes are good.
Cons - the place is pretty dated and has limped over from the 1980s I would say. Bits of it are just worn out. The food was generally just about OK, but on some nights it was just poor with inedible fatty meats. One night I just had chips and bread.
The TV only shows one british channel which is Sky News. As said before, they have wifi at 5E per day, or I think 15E per week, which would have been fine, but it only works in the lobby, no access from our bedroom.
We thought that as it was 3 star it would be OK because it is a Riu, but it was disappointing and is probably 2 or 3 years overdue for a refurbishment. I think we shall not book a hotel less than a 4 star from now on.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrewsAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de Palma hotels

Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were impressed with the hotel. It was spotlessly clean and we had a very good room, with a sea view. We arrived at the end of February, just after a period of cold rain, so the room was a bit chilly. Upon telling the reception staff, they immediately gave us a small fan heater and an extra blanket, which resolved the problem.

We found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. The menu was a little limited and, as the majority of guests were German, featured pork quite a lot - well, every day to be honest - but all the food was well prepared and some of it unusual. I have never had Fried Milk before. It was a little bland but the chef cured that with a healthy dose of Triple Sec and Rum.

We also noticed that some of the German guests have an odd sense of humour. We entered a lift, just after a group of giggling Germans left, to be met with a horrendous, eggy pong - Let's face it, farting in a lift is just wrong, on so many levels!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenDragon54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a week here. Excellent value, pleasant room with balcony overlooking the two outdoor pools. It was sunny and warm enough to lounge round them first few days (though no-one actually in them). Staff all extrememly friendly and obliging. It seemed there was just us and one other couple who were English, all the other guests being German.

Good buffet meals - plenty of choice. Two sittings and ours was 7pm. Counters began to be cleared of food by the staff well before 8, so we learnt to go in no later than 5 past 7 unless we wanted to rush the meal.

Close to sea and lovely flat prom - strolled miles in both directions. Bus to Palma close by.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor but all floors were laid out the same. Four lifts each holding 6 person...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SussexClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Festival
Hotel Riu Festival
#21 of 77 in Playa de Palma
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Palma Playa
Hotel Palma Playa
#27 of 77 in Playa de Palma
312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#23 of 77 in Playa de Palma
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Caballero Hotel
Caballero Hotel
#6 of 77 in Playa de Palma
518 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#8 of 77 in Playa de Palma
1,579 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pabisa Bali
Pabisa Bali
#45 of 77 in Playa de Palma
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Playa Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Playa Park

Property: Hotel Riu Playa Park
Address: Calle Pare Bartomeu Salva 15 | Playa de Palma - Mallorca, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Palma
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Playa Park 3*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Located in Playa de Palma * 9-storey building * 14,000 m2 garden * 350 m from the beach * 12 km from the centre of Palma * 100 m from various shops * 5 km from the airport * 300 m from a bus stop * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Playa Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Playa Park Hotel
Riu Playa Park De Palma
Hotel Riu Playa Park Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing