We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value For Money”
Review of Hotel Riu Bravo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Bravo
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
Douglas, Isle Of Man
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Value For Money”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Very recently returned from a week's holiday at this hotel. My friend and I both thoroughly enjoyed everything about our holiday. The food and drink at the hotel was excellent in quality, quantity and choice, and it was nice to be able to see that much of the food was cooked at the buffet in full view of the guests - no question of fried or scrambled eggs and omelettes etc sitting on hot plates for long periods of time. In addition, if packed lunches were required you could choose your own rolls, meat, cheese etc and fruit from the breakfast buffet and make up your own lunch, rather than following the normal practice of staff preparing packed lunches the night before and ending up not being very appetising. As regards drinks, previous experience of local spirits on offer on all inclusive holidays has been that they are not always what we are used to at home, but whilst I'm no connoisseur, I was pleasantly surprised at what I considered was the quality of the brandy and whiskey on offer. The entertainment provided was reasonable, though perhaps not to everyone's taste, but as hotel entertainment goes much of it was far superior to the so called entertainment provided at other hotels we have stayed at. Apropos of another review, the hotel itself is perhaps somewhat tired and dated (no doubt this will be addressed in the refurb) but everywhere was spotlessly clean. Our two rooms which, whilst not enormous, were not what I would call small, and were well serviced, towels changed every day, plus if you wished you could have your bed linen changed whenever you wanted. Drinking water was readily available at no charge and could be easily stored in the room fridge. We found that all the staff were most pleasant and helpful. As regards noise, we personally never noticed any untoward levels of noise from anyone at the hotel itself. Perhaps we weren't there at the time it was happening. The only small amount of noise we did both notice came from other hotels and nearby bars. However , it did not seem to go on to a terribly late hour, was not in our opinion overly obtrusive and was no more than one would expect in a holiday resort.

Room Tip: When we travelled the weather was unusually hot for October. If you wished to avoid the room becomi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    204
    54
    16
    17
See reviews for
121
188
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I last stayed at this hotel in September 2006 and my review then called it a great hotel. We booked for three weeks in September/October this year and in retrospect it was one week too many. A lot can change in the time since our last stay much dictated by economic circumstances and some by our advancing years. Thankfully the staff were as friendly and helpful as before but the hotel itself was the same and looking its age. Having said that it was always clean and tidy. It is closing for refurbishment at the end of October and it will be interesting to see it next year when it reopens. The rooms are standard Riu, on the small side but adequate and with more than enough drawer and hanging space. Drawback here was the noisy air conditioning but presumably this will be sorted in the refurbishment. The food was not of the same standard as our previous visit but this seems to be the case all over Spain. Similarly with the drinks, premium spirits having been replaced by lesser known inferior quality Spanish brands. Again this seems to be the current trend. We are now of an age when a holiday is a time for relaxation. Unfortunately this was not always possible here. This is a very busy hotel and there seemed to be parties arriving at all hours. Many were German men on short weekend breaks there for the drinking, it was Oktoberfest time. During the day they congregated at the pool bar shouting and singing but at least they drowned out the music. By night the decamped to the beerkellers shouting and singing into the early hours. Six am!! Mid week was quieter. All in all not a holiday destination we will be revisiting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Reroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a nice hotel at the wrong end of the beach.
We used SAGA to come here and it was muted as a 'stay and relax' holiday.
Far from it.
The hotel is tired, but usable, the food is excellent and the staff attentive - it's the noise.
We arrived just before lunch and after a great meal we wandered down the beach. It was absolutely heaving with Germans with buckets of drink and very loud ghetto blasters - you couldn't see the sea for them. We went back to the hotel and and found a spot in the gardens to relax on sunbeds - only to be assaulted by the noise of (Germans again) at the pool bar singing beerhall songs till dinnertime.
The noise in the dining room was very loud (perhaps all foreign language speakers are slightly deaf?)
The entertainment room was like a sweatbox forcing many to take refuge outside on the terrace - if there was a seat left.
The rooms were clean and adequate but the glazing is single. So when the Megadance arena just down the road emptied out (3000 capacity) the night was filled with screaming and shouting and song singing till 5 or 6 in the morning. No sleep.
Next night the room next door changed and young germans took occupancy. They came back in at 03:00 shouting and singing and shouting off the balcony.
This sequence repeated until we had had enough and asked for a room change.
None of the rooms we looked at or stayed in had effective air conditioning we logged 23 to 25 .C most nights on our thermometer and slept on top of the bed. Maintenence didn't get it any better when we complained.
We got a change at the end of the 5th day and we were over the outside dining area next to the pool. Much better.
More all male groups turned up and it was just very noisy for the remaining time.
The beach front caters for Germany full stop.
We walked or got the little train upto Can which is what a beach area should be like.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the beach or the roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolm K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you're going to Mallorca but want to stay away from the German adolescent craze, this is one amazing option for its price.

The hotel is extremely clean and the staff is very friendly. The food is very good and the variety does not disappoint.

Great if you want to combine the relaxation of not doing anything with the beach, which is 150-200 metres away.

From the airport take the 21 bus and you'll be checking in within 15 minutes.

Room Tip: When making the reservation, you can submit special requests you might have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank André M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We visited the hotel for two nights on the 12th and 13th July 2013 . We were rather wary after reading the reviews !
We were pleasantly surprised the hotel is very good.Rooms are clean and have all the expected benefits. They are not brand new by any means but are more than adequate. The public areas are all cleaned to a high standard and are attractive, the hotel is set in very nice grounds.
The food is very good,there is show cooking at every meal, three different stations at dinner there is thus something fresh all the time.
As previous reviewers have said the hotel is predominantly occupied by Germans and as you would therefore expect things are to their taste, there is no allowance for the British which didn't bother us.
The hotel is in an area of Palma in which all the bars etc are used by young Germans to party and boy do they party ! There are at least two massive clubs occupied by around 1000 young Germans at a time which were open from 11.O0 am until 5.00 am the next day. Considering the size of these clubs and their proximity to the hotel there was surprising little noise from them at the hotel. We walked around the area on saturday morning and saw plenty of young Germans many of whom were drinking but in no way threatening the atmsphere was very friendly. I don't think they even noticed us !

We have been to majorca before and there are plenty of prettier places, but I have no hesitation in recommending the hotel for a short break very near to the airport

Room Tip: Pool view would be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We were victims of the French air traffic controllers strike last Tuesday and found ourselves at the airport needing to find accommodation for two nights somewhere not too far away. We got lucky!
We arrived at the Bravo after a ten minute taxi ride.
We got an upgrade to a suite in a separate building in the hotel grounds, and it was very nice indeed, with a hallway, twin bedroom with loads of storage, a bathroom with 2 sinks, bath, shower, loo and bidet, and a large sitting room. The furniture, curtains and carpets were all of good quality and very clean.
The pool area had lots of loungers, an irregular shaped pool, mature trees and a bar with a self service area for soft drinks, beer and tea and coffee.
The food was without doubt the best buffet food we'd ever seen. The choice was stupendous, and the quality was excellent. They have a two sitting system for dinner, 6.30 and 8.30, and each party is allocated a dinner table for their own use throughout their stay. No scrabbling about.
There are professional entertainers on every night.
The staff seemed rightly proud of their hotel; they were constantly tidying the dining room and pool areas.
Downsides: Playa de Palma is the German Magalluf - party central!!! We saw lots of very drunk young people and police patrols. Even in our fifth floor room, we were woken by revellers at 5 and 6am. There were beer bottles and cans all over the otherwise lovely beach and prom area.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better because of the noise of nocturnal party people!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linz6bil9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

my wife and i decided to have a week away in Majorca for her birthday but boy did i get things wrong.
we took the car over on the ferry from valencia which in its self was ok.
we arrived in palma very early in the morning and then drove to our hotel.
i thought it strange when we were getting into the resort that all the signs for shops etc were all in german. we then arrived at the hotel which was nice and clean and just what i expected.
what i did not expect was that we would be the only brits there but then we can put up with that we thought.
we decided to go out for a walk and as we did we were surrounded by hundreds of drunken young germans and this was at 9,30am. it was dreadful, you could not walk without people bumping in to you they were so drunk.
then at night they were singing at the top of their voices we could not sleep as the hotel is so close to a place i can only describe as similar to the munich beer festival called the mega park.
we suffered 2 nights then we we could not stand anymore and checked out.
unfortunately i paid 900 euro for the week and stayed 2 nights. expensive hotel.
we then drove accross to cala dor and checked into the hotel cala dor which was fantastic.
so if you idea of a good holiday is hanging out with thousands of drunken vomiting germans then you now know were to go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank russhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.1 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#8 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.7 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.7 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Golf
Playa Golf
#11 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu San Francisco
Hotel Riu San Francisco
#25 of 78 in Playa de Palma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Bravo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Bravo

Property: Hotel Riu Bravo
Address: Mision de San Diego, 4 | Playa de Palma - Mallorca, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Palma
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de Palma
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Bravo 4*
Number of rooms: 442
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Riu Bravo (All Inclusive), refurbished in winter 2015, is just 200m from the popular and vast Playa de Palma beach in Palma de Majorca, Spain. It is the ideal hotel for families, couples and groups of friends who want to spend their holidays sunbathing and discovering the island. This 4 star hotel offers its guests a high quality service. It has everything you could need for relaxation, with a fresh water swimming pool, a solarium-terrace, gym, sauna, steam bath, Jacuzzi and the wellness centre with a range of different treatmen * Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Bravo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Bravo Hotel
Riu Bravo Playa De Palma
Hotel Riu Bravo Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing