We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite Hotel on the Playa de Palma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Ranked #2 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
Guadalajara, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Favorite Hotel on the Playa de Palma”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Update - We returned here in October 2012, which was the fourth consecutive stay. First time after the rooms had been remodelled during the Winter break 2011-2012, and is now an Adults-Only property. So, if you don't want to hear noisy children, you won't have to.

Liked that the rooms no longer had carpeting, but a faux wood laminate, and the lighting is much nicer, i.e. high-intensity bedside reading lights, and the color schema is white and cream. There is also a large LCD TV now, not that I came here to watch TV. No changes to the bathrooms. Oddly enough, some rooms do not have bidets, a standard bathroom fixture in Europe. My only complaint (minor) about the refreshed rooms is that now, the twin-sized beds cannot be pushed together to form a larger bed, as there is a non-movable console in between.

Other than what I mentioned above, no other changes, fortunately. The Hotel Director, Mr. Tigre and his staff do a fabulous job of running the establishment. He told me that possible improvements during the Winter break 2012 - 2013 could be to regain some floor space in what used to be offices on the ground floor, and put in a workout room or even a spa.

If you are seeking a quality hotel, family-owned with friendly staff, good food, and as close as one can be to the beach, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Note: As children are not allowed, does not apply. Also, there is not a fitness centre. I would choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pm62185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Pure Salt Garonda, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We would like to point out that unfortunately you had a room without bidet but most of the rooms do have bidets.

All the refurbished rooms that are sea view have two single beds pushed together and unfortunately they cannot be separated due to the bedside tables being fixed.

We hope to be able to do the refurbishement mentioned in the future although it has not been possible this winter.

Best regards,

Manuel Tigre
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    285
    169
    38
    13
    9
See reviews for
32
355
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week at the beginning of September. The hotel was excellent and very good value for money. We booked it on line in April and had a garden room which cost 110 Euros per night for 2 half board. The food was buffet style and excellent. The staff were great and the drinks not too expensive. The hotel's position is right on the beach and the airport is only a short taxi ride away. Only 2 minor niggles. The pillows were really uncomfortable and the Italian restaurant next door, which is owned by the hotel, was very average. Be aware that the hotel is now adults only and English guests were in the minority.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Manager at Hotel Pure Salt Garonda, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, We have taken note of your comment about the pillow and for next year, we will be changing all the pillows in all the rooms.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Manuel Tigre
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Only visit if you don't mind being ignored, and can speak German/Italian or Spanish, basically if you only speak English don't bother going, for example ask for toilet paper get a newspaper. Oh yeah and go if you like to get food poisoning too because you are guarantee that. I am being 100% serious, the only good thing was the size of the room and the weather when it doesn't rain. And if you are a fan of baths just don't look under the taps and when you pull the plug run out of room because the smell is sickly. And apparently at this hotel the 'Do not disturb' sign means lets go now and ring them up. Plus if you like CNN channel your set here because this is the only English channel. Finally the size of the swimming pool is a joke it's like a hot tub but it wasn't hot so cold tub.

Room Tip: Don't go here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisB12105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Pure Salt Garonda, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are very sorry that you did not feel satisfied about your stay at the Hotel Garonda.

About the language barrier, we are sorry about what happened, unfortunately the night porter that works from 11pm to 7am does not speak English that well but all our receptionist do, as you might have verified when our receptionist Lucia told you how to get to the chemist and wrote you a note for the chemist employee with the symptoms your wife was suffering.

We would like to clarify that under no circumstances we have had any cases of food poisoning, as your wife was the only one ill. Food poisoning normally takes a few hours to give the first symptoms and was probably caused by other food your wife might have eaten outside the hotel. All the food at the hotel is starting to be prepared from 3pm onwards daily for the dinner service that starts at 7pm. Anything that is not used on the day does get thrown away.

In any case we are sorry you did not enjoy your dinner at the hotel, once this information was passed onto me I gave the order for you to be refunded the amount paid, which I have just confirmed was refunded to you before leaving.

In respect to the no disturb sign, I would like to inform you that our housekeepers work until 3pm and we usually inform our guest shortly before this time that if they do not get the room cleaned the service cannot be provided after 3pm. Otherwise the no disturb sign is respected at all hours.

We are very sorry about the inconveniences caused and hope we can regain your trust and you will visit us in the future.

Best regards,

Manuel Tigre
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were a little tentative about booking a holiday in Mallorca in view of its' past history of loutish and drunken behaviour but we need not have worried - we saw no louts in the entire week that we were there in early October. The Mac Garonda is in a perfect position adjacent to the beach in Playa de Palma and only a short bus ride from the airport (save money by taking the number 21 bus from the airport at 2 euros 50 against 17euros for a taxi and the bus stop is 2 minutes from the hotel). Our room had a great sea view, was very clean and the beds were comfortable. The service throughout the hotel was attentive and friendly and as mentioned by other reviewers there were many "nice" touches - the champagne on arrival, the free beer, water and soft drinks in the room fridge, and the free ice cream by the pool in the afternoon. There was a very good choice at breakfast and dinner and both were buffet style. We could always find something to suit our taste and appetites. My WiFi worked perfectly in our room and although there was only one english speaking channel on the TV it did not matter to us - after all we were in Spain!!!!! I am not sure that there are many or indeed any foreign speaking channels in British hotels!!! Although we did not communicate much with our fellow guests as 90% were german and we do not speak the language we had a superb restful holiday in brilliant surroundings. We shall return!!!! A word for the local authorities - the beach and the streets around the hotel were spotless and the lack of traffic on the esplanade in front of the hotel made for a peaceful, stress free and pollution free environment.

Room Tip: In our view it was worth paying a little extra for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moley59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Pure Salt Garonda, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much. For your information, in further years we will probably increase the number of English speaking channels on the TV.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Best regards,

Manuel Tigre
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing uk
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

stayed for 3 days end of August 2012. Originally booked at Royal Cristina but they were overbooked. Stayed in this hotel for 3 days and loved it. Staff great.meals okay location excellent and otherguests like us over 60 and well mannered. They only have a pluge pool but the beach is across the road. We stayed there by default but have alreadt booked for May/June 203. Remenber when you migle with other guests GOOD MANNERS cost nothing. No sreaming children or" loud mouthed " guests here. We are looking forward to our visit next May. When we go on holiday all we expect are good manners and a little decorum. We have booked this hotel and the flights already.

Room Tip: We stayed with a garden view it does not really matter, my wife is interested about all things goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geff091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacHotels, Gerente at Hotel Pure Salt Garonda, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your review and for your kind words. It is with pride that we read that you have decided to stay at the Mac Garonda in the future and hope you will become regular guests at our hotel.

With best regards,

Manuel Tigre
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the rave reviews both here and on Booking.com. However, my experience was not a good one AT ALL.

Firstly, they adverise as having wifi available in the rooms and, while this not exactly a lie, the signal is very, very weak, rendering it totally ineffective.

Secondly, the swimming pool is very small. It would only be able to accommodate 10 people in it at one time. Anymore and people would be rubbing shoulders. Furtermore, there are only about 30 tanning beds there for a hotel that has over 100 rooms.

Thirdly, the food was terrible and the cooks/waitstaff were very rude. I paid for half-board which meant breakfast and dinner were included in the cost. Breakast us served until 1030. I went at 1000am and there were no eggs left. I asked the cook for scrambled eggs and the look she gave me indicated that i was totally inconveniencing her.

I only went to the dinner once because, to be honest, there was nothing on the menu the other nights that i would like ( not a lot of variety at all). The night i did eat there, i grabbed a plate, put some food on it and took a seat. The waitrer came running over asking me what my room number was. When i told him he kept replying "you're not supposed to be sitting here".. By this time everyone surrounding my table was looking. Supposedly the dinner has an assigned seating arrangement unlike the breakfast dining.


Again.... I understand i am in the minority opinion on this hotel but i reiterate....my experience was AWFUL.

If you are like me and really desire wifi in your room do not believe the advertisements which state they have free wifi..... THEY DON'T!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Excellent staff and very well run and comfortable hotel. Stayed in Sea view 301. Very clean, smallish room with nice balcony overlookig Bay of Palma. Agree with every thing Scooter F, stevediver65 and JNA Armstrong say. Look out for the little extras like cold fruit in the morning and ice cream in the afternoons around the pool area, champers on arrival and occasionally during the evening before dinner. Go for the 1/2 board, excellent value. Only 10 minutes from PMI airport and 16 Euros taxi fare. Bus No.25 into Palma from end of road only 1.5 Euros. For added peace of mind, hire the room safe. Only one english speaking TV station (CNN). Corridor carpet was tired. Late departure room had no air-con so after shower you cant get dry.

Nothing to do with this very good hotel but be extra carefull in Palma and when out and about watching out for pick pockets!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nnnnn19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
0.2 mi away
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
IBEROSTAR Playa de Palma
#1 of 77 in Playa de Palma
303 reviews
7.9 mi away
Gran Melia de Mar
Gran Melia de Mar
#4 of 182 in Calvia
966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 77 in Playa de Palma
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sol Beach House Mallorca
Sol Beach House Mallorca
#3 of 39 in Palmanova
1,249 reviews
6.8 mi away
Gran Melia Victoria
Gran Melia Victoria
#15 of 73 in Palma de Mallorca
1,639 reviews
14.1 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Port Adriano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pure Salt Garonda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pure Salt Garonda

Property: Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Address: Mar Negra 2, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Palma
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Pure Salt Garonda 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This recently refurbished adults only establishment right on the beach near the city of Palma captures the essence of the urban beach concept. Pure Salt Garonda is known for its friendly professional service, with our guest manager always available to help you rent high-end cars, reserve starred restaurants, organise visits to the most discerning wineries or take care of all your golf reservations. Let us prepare you that special bath in your room with an innovative designed inspired in the nature of Mallorca, where you will be able to relax and enjoy the views of the Mediterranean Sea. Enjoy a relaxing moment reading a book in our hotel garden, dine in style at our Spanish tapas restaurant by the sea, enjoy a spa treatment with products by well-known brand Natura Bissé or sunbathe at the exclusive beach club The Eight, located right in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Pure Salt Garonda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mac Garonda Hotel
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing