We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Short Break”
Review of Hotel Java

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Java
Ranked #6 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have just returned from a short break at this Hotel, and did not encounter any of the problems as the previous reviewer. We found all the reception / restaurant staff very helpful and all able to speak perfect English. There was a short wait for a table if you wanted a table for 2, but part of the holiday for us was sharing and meeting other people. As we were the only Scottish people at the hotel at this time, and the other guests were German it made for some interesting meal times. Sign gestures go a long way, but we found that most of the other guest were only to happy to talk to us because we were from Scotland. We had no problems with any of the meals, with plenty of choice,
We would recommend this Hotel to our friends, clean in all areas, handy for the bus, just across the road, for a trip to Palma. We would like to return at a later date.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1,367,116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 652 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

I booked this hotel over airberlin holidays - it was one of the few available on short notice. I was staying here twice. The rooms are good, the location is also nice. All-in-all if you just need a good clean accommodation at a reasonable location and don't plan to dine at the hotel or talk to the hotel staff (e.g., asking for information, any extra services, etc), go for it.

However the hotel probably feels like a 3* hotel (instead of their 4* rating). No slippers, bath robes or kettle in the room, no room service, no minibar, only a few English TV channels.

When dealing with the staff, I had a feeling of being invisible, like if the personnel didn't notice me, and though they eventually did their job, at times I had to wait. In general the reluctant staff attitude didn't feel professional. Personnel wasn't really rude, but it appeared to me that they weren't particularly trained to communicate.

Evening buffet restaurant was quite terrible, also not much choice for vegetarians, and in general the quality of food was below average. It was also always necessary to beg for a table, where in the end the waiter/manager would just toss me saying that I should look for a free place myself at the tables where the other people are sitting already. Not very polite or professional. However since it only costed €5/day, I didn't feel it was a big loss.

I was eating out at Marina Luz hotel (some 20 mins stroll in the Palma direction, €23/person for a much higher quality buffet restaurant), the service of Marina Luz was also on a higher level than that of Java. There is also another excellent restaurant about 10 minutes walk in the opposite direction called Miti Di Palma. Although more on the expensive side, but definitely worth the experience.

Wifi at Java was €11 for 3 days, mediocre connection speed, barely enough for Skype video chat and not enough for youtube, but the price felt ok.

All in all, given a good deal I would book BG Java again without hesitation, but also knowing beforehand that I will need to eat out and avoid any communication with the staff. Sleep quality was also good and whatever minor annoyances I had - they didn't spoil my holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor sea view room if available, or the rooms in the corner (numbers x01..x11). The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I took some students for a study visit to Mallorca and stayed at Hotel Java. The rooms were clean and fresh, common areas comfortable and immaculately presented with a modern twist. The pool areas were spotless. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout. The food took on different themes with lots of selection to suit varied tastes.
My only negative points were that the food could have been warmer which slightly spoiled the otherwise beautifully cooked dishes. The air conditioning in the rooms didn't work. Not a problem in October but I can imagine would be an issue in the summer months and 5€ per day for wifi in an age when most establishments provide this automatically was unexpected.
I will definitely return not just with my next group of students but would happily take my children for a short break. Ideal as only a few minutes from the airport (yet not once was disturbed by planes overhead), easy to catch busses (directly outside the hotel door), to Palma and along the coast and the beach a minutes walk away. What's not to like?

Well done Hotel Java!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsTosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our third time to Ca'n Pastille and this is the best hotel we have stayed in at the resort.
Ideal for a short break as it is only 10 minutes from the airport and on a local bus service into Palma etc.
Recently refurbished to a very high standard brings the décor bang up to date.
We had a lovely room on the first floor with an extended balcony and our own sun loungers.
Hotel quite busy considering the end of the season with entertainment each night.
Good choice at mealtimes and even "CAVA" for breakfast some mornings. Some of the reviews do not do justice to the Hotel. Palma aquarium just 5 minutes walk and very well worth a look. Buy your ticket from the Hotel tourist service as it is a lot cheaper than the aquarium entrance.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have an extra patio area. High rooms will have a nice view over the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CountyDurhamPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for one night, because we arrived late and wanted to go to Palma aquarium before heading to Alcudia the next day.

Close to palma aquarium only 3-4 minutes walking, nice pool, close to the beache, and close to the airport. More like 3 star Hotel, rooms clean but small.

Ok for short stay, nothing special.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevin_dang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

For my misfortune I booked at the Java... thank goodness only three nights. Altho very clean the decor is cold, designer modern and lacks atmosphere. In our bedroom the bathroom was poorly lit and some crazy designer shower taps wet you through with cold water before becoming warm. The shower tray was a danger, very slippery when wet.
The buffet food was very below **** standard, lacked imagination and the dishes which were supposed to be hot were just tepid.
They wanted "extras" for wifi and the sauna, the indoor pool was full of very cold water..
Will certainly NOT revisit nor recommend the place......
PMK.... Hotelier retired....

Room Tip: Try somewhere diferent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Director de Marketing BG Hotels at Hotel Java, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
I am sorry that you did not have the stay you were expecting for. We will do all our best in order to improve and we will try to improve our performance to avoid not matching your expectations again.

I hope to see you again and get your feedback personally


Yours sincerelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in the Java Hotel in Palma for a week and we enjoyed it a lot. It was hard selecting an hotel in Palma (more than 1'000!) so we were very lucky to find this one as many hotels in Mallorca seem to have terrible ratings because of noise, old deocration or other poor quality of service. The Java hotel is really a great place to stay when you're in Mallorca and enjoy the beach and relax!

The hotel has been recently redesigned and renovated, the style is quite nice and the quality of furniture is good. The Java deserves its 4 stars rating without problems. This hotel is very functional, and you can notice everything works perfectly.

The location is fantastic: 50m from the beach (not being directly on the beach is nice because of the noise there), 10 min from Airport (bus 21, 3€ per person), 10 min from Palma Downtown (bus 25 last stop before the center is in front of the hotel, 1.50€ per person). The beach of Palma is ahead of the hotel by 1min walk and you then have a walk to Arenal for hours before the beach ends! Walking toward Can Pastilla and then Palma is pretty nice and a bit more authentic (slightly more, don't expect too much spanish restaurants neither!) and you can find a few places to eat nice fish and paella around the port of Can Pastilla. The Java hotel is close to airport (you can see the runway from the corridor... and the hotel from the plane!), but we've never noticed any plane noise and this was therefore only positive to be so close.

Next to the beach you can have hundreds of stores where you can purchase anything for the beach, so the experience is really pleasant and effortless. The only downside on location, not related to the hotel, is the quality of food in the hundreds of restaurants around. Variety is close to zero (pizza, pasta, german specialties...) and has nothing to do with Spanish excellent cuisine. This is a shame for the area, especially as prices are very expensive for what seems to be poor industrial cooked food! I can't understand why nobody had the idea to make typical tapas bar focusing on quality on this beach promenade, this would for sure make a hit as the local benchmark is so low (finding a good place can take you some time)!

Rooms are nice and very functional, bed is comfortable. Bathroom is large and well furnished, and balcony are oriented toward the beach without anything hidea the view, which is fantastic especially on the highest floors. The hotel is very quiet and we have not been disturbed during our stay. We've never switched on TV so we don't know what were the channels.

Breakfasts are good, it varies a bit day to day and staff is very helpful despite the fact most tourists forget the basics rules of saying "hello", "please" and "thank you" they keep smiling, which is a nice proof of their professionnalism! You can get some cooked eggs, sandwich, crepes, ... and you have nice coffee from the machine. Reception is helpful anytime you need them, and very efficient. They can provide you beach towels (10€ caution per towel) which you can change everyday at the reception to get a fresher one.

The only downside would be the safe in the room that you need to "rent" (16€ for a week plus 10€ of caution) and the internet which you need to pay. These 2 things are not very common in today's world of hostelry but fine, we were able to live with it!

Overall we were very pleased to discover this hotel, and we'll be probably be back there next time we go to Palma! For info, the hotel was completely booked well in advance, which is probably also a sign of its quality! Definitely an hotel we can recommend!

Room Tip: Highest floor have stunning view! Get your beach towels from the reception and you can change it ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JHGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Marketing Manager BG Hotels at Hotel Java, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We feel very happy to see that we have met your expectations in that way. Thanks for your kind, honest and large review. Clients like you, give the team power to increase their performance.
Therefore we do thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
1 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,032 reviews
1 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
413 reviews
1.7 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#9 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#5 of 24 in Can Pastilla
974 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caballero Hotel
Caballero Hotel
#10 of 78 in Playa de Palma
560 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Java? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Java

Address: Calle Goleta s/n, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Palma
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa de Palma
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: $78 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Java 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel completely refurbished with a renewed style and contemporary elegance in 2013.The hotel Java**** offers a relaxing, pleasant and modern atmosphere. Thanks to its privileged location the hotel is ideal for relaxing, to take a break, holidays and business trips.The hotel is located just 40 meters away from the beach, near 2 km. away from the airport and near to the city centre ofPalma de Mallorca (well connected by a regular bus service).Rooms:Comfortable, with parquet floors and very cozy, the 249 rooms offer completed bathroom(hairdryer, magnifying mirror, amenities,...).All the rooms are equipped with LCD screen 32" with satellite TV, Wi-Fi, telephone with direct line,mini-bar, renting safe, air-conditioning and central heating, ceiling fan and balcony, some of them have with superior terrace. Many Rooms with a great sea view.Gastronomy:Our restaurant with air-conditioning, offers hot and cold buffet service “show cooking style” forbreakfast and dinner.Snack service in Cocktail Bar and Lounge Terrace.Services and facilities:The hotel offers a lounge and games room with satellite TV.All the hotel areas have Wi-Fi at your disposal, if you don't have a laptop, you can use our InternetCorner (this service has an additional charge).Beautiful gardens, where there is a swimming-pool, a terrace with lounges and sun umbrellas andrelaxing cool area with microclimate (misting system). Bath towels are available at the swimmingpool area.Wellness Center with Finnish Sauna, Turkish bath, thematic showers, indoor heated swimmingpool, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Java reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Java Hotel Playa De Palma
Java Playa De Palma
Hotel Java Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing