We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Java
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Myseahouse Flamingo(Playa de Palma)
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Iberostar Cristina(Playa de Palma)
$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tres Torres(Playa de Palma)(Great Value!)
$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Grupotel Taurus Park(Playa de Palma)
$108
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Principe Hotel(Playa de Palma)(Great Value!)
$115
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Occidental Playa de Palma(Playa de Palma)(Great Value!)
$145
$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$346
$329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
THB El Cid(Playa de Palma)(Great Value!)
$116
$112
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda(Playa de Palma)
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveler rating
241
297
90
25
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
297
90
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast and dinnerpool areaclose to the airportexcellent hotelhigh floorsea viewfree wifibus stop right outside the hotelhalf boardbeach promenadeshort staypastillaearly flightsmall fridgetriple roomgood sizepalma centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 673 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2013

For my misfortune I booked at the Java... thank goodness only three nights. Altho very clean the decor is cold, designer modern and lacks atmosphere. In our bedroom the bathroom was poorly lit and some crazy designer shower taps wet you through with cold water before becoming warm. The shower tray was a danger, very slippery when wet.
The buffet food was very below **** standard, lacked imagination and the dishes which were supposed to be hot were just tepid.
They wanted "extras" for wifi and the sauna, the indoor pool was full of very cold water..
Will certainly NOT revisit nor recommend the place......
PMK.... Hotelier retired....

Room Tip: Try somewhere diferent!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Director de Marketing BG Hotels at Hotel Java, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review.
I am sorry that you did not have the stay you were expecting for. We will do all our best in order to improve and we will try to improve our performance to avoid not matching your expectations again.

I hope to see you again and get your feedback personally


Yours sincerelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in the Java Hotel in Palma for a week and we enjoyed it a lot. It was hard selecting an hotel in Palma (more than 1'000!) so we were very lucky to find this one as many hotels in Mallorca seem to have terrible ratings because of noise, old deocration or other poor quality of service. The Java hotel is really a great place to stay when you're in Mallorca and enjoy the beach and relax!

The hotel has been recently redesigned and renovated, the style is quite nice and the quality of furniture is good. The Java deserves its 4 stars rating without problems. This hotel is very functional, and you can notice everything works perfectly.

The location is fantastic: 50m from the beach (not being directly on the beach is nice because of the noise there), 10 min from Airport (bus 21, 3€ per person), 10 min from Palma Downtown (bus 25 last stop before the center is in front of the hotel, 1.50€ per person). The beach of Palma is ahead of the hotel by 1min walk and you then have a walk to Arenal for hours before the beach ends! Walking toward Can Pastilla and then Palma is pretty nice and a bit more authentic (slightly more, don't expect too much spanish restaurants neither!) and you can find a few places to eat nice fish and paella around the port of Can Pastilla. The Java hotel is close to airport (you can see the runway from the corridor... and the hotel from the plane!), but we've never noticed any plane noise and this was therefore only positive to be so close.

Next to the beach you can have hundreds of stores where you can purchase anything for the beach, so the experience is really pleasant and effortless. The only downside on location, not related to the hotel, is the quality of food in the hundreds of restaurants around. Variety is close to zero (pizza, pasta, german specialties...) and has nothing to do with Spanish excellent cuisine. This is a shame for the area, especially as prices are very expensive for what seems to be poor industrial cooked food! I can't understand why nobody had the idea to make typical tapas bar focusing on quality on this beach promenade, this would for sure make a hit as the local benchmark is so low (finding a good place can take you some time)!

Rooms are nice and very functional, bed is comfortable. Bathroom is large and well furnished, and balcony are oriented toward the beach without anything hidea the view, which is fantastic especially on the highest floors. The hotel is very quiet and we have not been disturbed during our stay. We've never switched on TV so we don't know what were the channels.

Breakfasts are good, it varies a bit day to day and staff is very helpful despite the fact most tourists forget the basics rules of saying "hello", "please" and "thank you" they keep smiling, which is a nice proof of their professionnalism! You can get some cooked eggs, sandwich, crepes, ... and you have nice coffee from the machine. Reception is helpful anytime you need them, and very efficient. They can provide you beach towels (10€ caution per towel) which you can change everyday at the reception to get a fresher one.

The only downside would be the safe in the room that you need to "rent" (16€ for a week plus 10€ of caution) and the internet which you need to pay. These 2 things are not very common in today's world of hostelry but fine, we were able to live with it!

Overall we were very pleased to discover this hotel, and we'll be probably be back there next time we go to Palma! For info, the hotel was completely booked well in advance, which is probably also a sign of its quality! Definitely an hotel we can recommend!

Room Tip: Highest floor have stunning view! Get your beach towels from the reception and you can change it everyday! The black coffee machine in the breakfast delivers much better coffee than the other grey one!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JHGVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel T, Marketing Manager BG Hotels at Hotel Java, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We feel very happy to see that we have met your expectations in that way. Thanks for your kind, honest and large review. Clients like you, give the team power to increase their performance.
Therefore we do thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice and clean, small rooms. Good pool area, close to the beach, really close to bus stop. 15-45 minutes to Palma 5 min to arenal, 400m to Palma aquarium. 150 m to Playa de Palma. The lowest few floors have ok wiew but the higher ones really good.

Room Tip: High up is good.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

2 night stay. Excellent hotel, friendly staff, English no problem, EXCELLENT buffet breakfast, lunch, and dinners! Manager of restaurant is the man of his kingdom - very pleasant and professional.
Hotel was recently remodeled, so forget any reviews older than 1 year. Rooms are modern, clean, and nicely equipped. Good location.
We will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VladCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Hi,
We where for a weekend in this hotel in july and were kindly surprised of quality, cleanness and modernity of the rooms. They are just as you can see on the pictures, modern and clean.

Food was also ok, but I was only there 2 days...

Personal was always kind, specially in the restaurant.

Pool is small and for me it had a lot of clore, didnt like it much.

Really important to know: really calm place, hotel is far away enough from the party mile, so you dont have to deal drunk tourist at anytime. If you want to go there its a 30 min walk

Resuming: best price quality ratio, beautiful beach

Room Tip: The rooms over the 7th floor, to the see side, are the best ones
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javival2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews