We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, more like 4 star!”
Review of HM Tropical

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HM Tropical
Ranked #16 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at HM Tropical. Hotel is on an excellent location right opposite the very long sandy beach. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, rooms were a good size and all have sea view. We chose the all inclusive option and was very glad we did. The food was all freshly cooked and was constantly replenished no matter how late we decided to eat. The staff were all very friendly and keen to help. This is a predominantly German resort but if you want a high quality get away from it all holiday then it doesn't get much better than this. Sadly no evening entertainment but we were out of season so was to be expected. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 481 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

Just had 3 night short all inc break here take into account the area is popular with germans so you wont get pork sausages but they do try and staff are really good and we had an all inclusive deal at £75.00 each including draught beer served in glasses .We are going back.

Room Tip: Ask for seaview you,ll be nearly on the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c0vw0lves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I have just returned from four nights at HM Tropical in Playa de Palma. The position of the hotel is very good, overlooking the beach. The room I was in had a great view of the sea and also the swimming pool. The hotel is extremely clean and I found all the staff to be very polite and professional. The room was an acceptable size, if a bit tired, with a bathroom, which had a hairdryer and also shampoo/shower gel supplies. Towels were changed every day and bedding after three days, which is standard for a 3 star hotel. The room was ok, with a nice balcony. The safe was in the room and cost 2 euros per day. There was a tv which had only one English speaking channel, Sky News, which is boring after 15 minutes. There was heating and air conditioning so that was handy. The hotel is 98% German, but that didn't bother me. Food was plentiful and of a good standard. The bus stop is just over the road, where you can also get a bus straight to the airport, price of 2.50 euros, much better than a taxi of approx. 12 - 15 euros. It's only 10 minutes to the airport. If you do want to go to Palma, either get an early bus or go towards Arenal and then get the bus back towards Palma, as the buses get really busy, however at 1.50 euros you can understand why they are so popular. I would stay there again as it was good value, however it would not be my first choice in Playa de Palma. If you want a nice friendly cafe to go to, walk down to the small cove in C'an Pastilla and go to Mel's Bar, Great pot of tea and good range of snacks, on the other hand avoid Poppy's Bar - the guy who runs it leaves a lot to be desired. If you feel fit, try getting the bus into the marina at Palma and walk back to Playa de Palma on the cycle route. It's about 7 kilometres but really lovely with lots of places to stop and take in the view.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor (the top) so you have a great view. Make sure to ask for a room with a pool a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BubblyBobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Booked this hotel at the last minute. Not as a package tour. Was what complicated with the all inclusive meal/beverage arrangenment. Even the hotel staff didn't know how much it exactly cost! But anyway, staff spoke very little English, seemed to concentrate on the German tourists. But it was a very clean and well looked after hotel. It was well good value for money. Ideally located for the hustle and bustle, but you could find your quiet moments. I am very choosey and wouldn't hesitate recomending this hotel for people looking for a clean, centrally located hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skiponclogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

good, safe area with lots of bars and restaurants around. Right on the beach, and a 10-15euro taxi ride into Palma town. I wouldn't bother taking the bus, takes around 30mins. Very nice pool to sit by on a sunny day or walk on beach, but also plenty to do on any other day. Nice staff, bar in the evenings, table tennis, playing pool, areas to chill out...Food was good and overall value for half board in April really good. only the weather could have been better!

Room Tip: ask for a view of both pool and beach, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Agroturizam_Krk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hmjaimeiii, Director de Recepción at HM Tropical, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2011

Thank your for your comment, we are happy to see that you are satisfied with our hotel and services. Hopefully next time you come to Mallorca the weather is nicer. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

The hotel is situaded in a very good position and very close to the airport.
It is very confortable, rooms are clean and breakfast ,lunch and dinner are very good and its a buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Yuza77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
joinville le pont
14
Reviewed June 9, 2006

It's a very good pleasure to enjoy your vacation in this Hotel

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
426 reviews
0.3 mi away
HM Gran Fiesta
HM Gran Fiesta
#27 of 78 in Playa de Palma
443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Occidental Playa de Palma
Occidental Playa de Palma
#8 of 78 in Playa de Palma
1,815 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#12 of 24 in Can Pastilla
468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HM Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HM Tropical

Address: Calle Marbella 16, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Playa de Palma
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
#16 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: $101 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — HM Tropical 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your HM Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hm Tropical Hotel Playa De Palma
HM Tropical Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing