We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel El Cid”
Review of THB El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
THB El Cid
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here just for one night whilst on a cycling tour, and at the end of April, so review not really applicable for someone staying for a week or so.
The room, bed etc. were all fine. The food in the evening also was fine, with some freshly-cooked dishes as well as the buffet. The breakfast was very good. Nice beach just opposite

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and on one of the upper floors to avoid noise from bars etc. at street level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frestonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 564 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

Just spent 3 nights at the THB El Cid & have come back disapointed. The hotel itself is looking very dated from the outside,but inside it is clean and much more presentable, especially the reception and lounge areas which are more in keeping with what you would expect from a 4* hotel. Our room was very ordinary but there was plenty of storage space for clothes ect.The beds were probably the most uncomfortable ive ever slept on - hard as rock & made you ache all the next day. The tv had 3 english channels, BBC1, BBC2, & CEEBEEBIES which was good because the weather was particulally bad while we were there. We had a sea view and the balcony was a good size with a table & 2 chairs, however, the was no privacy at all on the balcony as you were able to look into several other rooms to see what they were up to because of the design of the balconies (see photo)
We were staying half board but wished we had gone room only or B&B as there are countless bistros & restaurants nearby. Most of the food was bordering on inedible, especially at dinner & any cooked food that did look half appetising was usually salted to within an inch of its life!
Mealtimes are themed and Friday night was mexican night .....ive never had mexican fish fingers before !! Breakfast time was marginally better as long as you didnt want a full english, (95 % of the guests were German so catering for english guests didnt seem to be a priority - incidently 95%of the guests needed to be taught restaurant ettiquete as they would just push in front of you while you were waiting for a particular item to be replenished) I have to say the coffee was good and many of the pastries were excellent, so you could always find something to fill your belly. Be wary about ordering wine to go with your meal as on the first night we asked for a rose & the waiter served us a very mediocre bottle but charged us over €15 when the house wine was just €7 !
Cant fault the hotel on location as it's right on the beach and practically at the end of the runway of Palma airport. (bus no. 21 which takes 10 minutes max and costs €2.50) Airport noise is definately NOT a problem, the scaping of chairs ect. on the floors above is more likely disturb you than any Boeing 737 landing or taking off. A good walk is to walk along the promenade to S'Arenal, which i would say is about 3 miles & takes about an hour, you can always get the 21 bus back again, or the 'happy train' which runs right along Plaja de Palma & costs €4.50
Would i return ? .... yes, but purely for convienience of location.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carNottinghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Excellent location with large balconies with sea views, excellent staff very friendly, bringing extra pillows without having to ask. Unusually the TV had bbc 1 and 2 also cbbs. The hotel has Wifi throughout, to connect you ask for the code at reception. Stayed HB excellent breakfast selection, 3 different coffee machines, one dispensing very good expresso. Good salad selection with herbs and spice that you could add, wide range of meats and fish, and unusually a good selection of cheeses including blue cheese. The THB house red was reasonably priced and good. We used the 21 bus to the airport 2.50euros and no15 into Palma 1.50 euro, the bus even announces the el cid stop. Will hopefully be returning to El Cid soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 167Annaw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I had a meeting in Mallorca, last March, and I stayed in El Cid Hotel. It's near the airport and next to the beach, in a quiet street. The capital (Palma) is 15min away, by car.
The hotel has all the necessary comfort for family with children or for senior travellers.

Room Tip: I prefer the room looking over the beach, but my husband had some problems with the sound of the wav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JackieCLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Perhaps not a 4 star hotel compared to international standards, but it's clean and reasonably modern. Large balcony with a view of the beach. It's over the road from the beach and around the corner from the bus stop into town. The breakfast buffet is reasonable with a selection of cold and hot choices. Obviously popular with tour groups, charter holidays, cyclist groups..... which led to the breakfast room being a 'squeeze' at certain times. The reception spoke mainly Spanish and German.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tassieBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It is a very good hotel. The staff is very good and friendly. The hotel is situated in the peaseful part of the bay. The breakfast is very good. I have order a new trip for the summer 2013.
The beach is very clean.

Room Tip: Not a room to the west because its it very hot in august and you get the noice from the airport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SveinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Hi I stayed here about 14 years ago and I remember it as a lovelly hotel, rooms were very clean with views of the beach. It was near to the airport but we were not disturbed by any noise. Our board was half board and the food was great. Would be interesting to see if the reviews are still good.....

Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank sarahbeeWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Java
Hotel Java
#8 of 78 in Playa de Palma
649 reviews
1.2 mi away
Iberostar Cristina
Iberostar Cristina
#3 of 78 in Playa de Palma
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
Aparthotel Fontanellas Playa
#12 of 24 in Can Pastilla
450 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 78 in Playa de Palma
558 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Helios Mallorca
Hotel Helios Mallorca
#5 of 24 in Can Pastilla
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB El Cid

Address: Calle Vaixell 2, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Palma
#7 Family Hotel in Playa de Palma
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range: $98 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — THB El Cid 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he hotel has 210 rooms and 6 suites, all featuring incredible views of the sea, fully equipped bathroom with hair dryer, terrace, telephone, air-conditioning, satellite television, mini-bar, safety deposit box, etc. plus all the services you would expect from tourist accommodation of this category, such as a gymnasium, sauna, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath, solarium, snack bar, lounge bar, internet connection, dinning room with buffet service, show cooking and conference room. It also features three swimming pools (one heated), garden tennis court, bicycle workshop, client parking, volley ball and table tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your THB El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thb El Cid Hotel Playa De Palma
THB El Cid Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing