We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more like a 3-star hotel”
Review of THB El Cid

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
THB El Cid
Ranked #9 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“more like a 3-star hotel”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Some of the staff is just plain rude. The indoor pool and the sauna are closed all Summer. The bathrooms and the rooms are old. The location is good, the food is okay and the hotel is clean. Not worth its four stars, more like a three star hotel to me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Doowapdoowap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    172
    79
    34
    9
See reviews for
110
184
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed in the hotel six days and found it a very very good 4 star hotel.
The room was spacious and so was our balcony. Everything was clean and handy. Staff were friendly and helpful. Hotel is very near the airport and we could watch aircrafts, but we did not hear anything. Bus stop is few steps form the hotel and Palma is easy reachable.The sandy beach is superb and only the promenade apparts hotel from the beach. There are shops and bars very close to the hotel and center of this area is in walking distance.
We loved the system at dinner regarding wine.You choose the bottle of wine from quite reasonbale wine list and if you do not finish the whole bottle, they save it for you in the restaurant fridge for the next day.The restaurant staff was also very kind and joyful and the food was in general very good.Some food was not realy of the best, but it compensated with another one wich was more than excellent.

Overall we could say that it was a great stay, superb beach and location, kind service, clean rooms. We would definitely choose the same hotel again and recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank martan33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

In my opinion it is the hotel with the best price/quality relationship in the surrounding.
Some of my experiences:

- The location is really amazing, close to the airport but without noise. As well very near to the beach. Furthermore not to loud but with a pretty cosiness.
- Very nice staff
- Good food with also a very friendly staff
- Every day cleaned well with new shampoo and stuff
- Good, normal size rooms
- 2 swimming pools

Furthermore is also a very good place to start your biking trip.
For me it's really worth a recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luc t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

The hotel is located so close to the airport that we could actually see (and smell) it from our balcony, but that probably applies to all the hotels in Can Pastilla. There is a bus stop close to the hotel and you can go to Palma de Mallorca by public transport - great for sightseeing. The hotel is situated very close to a nice sandy beach. Our room was fairly big and clean but very noisy because of the vicinity of the airport. Food is not impressive - it's supposed to be different cuisine each day (French, Majorquine, etc.) but it's quite bland and greasy.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank cold_sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights from sunday 15th till friday 20th July 2012.
Positives :- Very good location along a sea front promenade
Close to airport
Didnt pay for sea view but got a side sea view anyway
Was able to check into room by 1.30pm
Clean and tidy
Superb beach
Negatives :- Lack of privacy on balcony - separated by a short screen - neighbours could see in
unless curtains were shut
Food was repetitive
Had to pay for water with dinner and no free tea/coffee apart from breakfast
Late check out offered but not available

We had a great break though as weather was superb and we loved walking along the promenade
especially at night. Would go back to Playa de Palma but choose a different hotel and go all
inclusive because half board is really expensive once you add on icecream/tea/water etc

We flew out of Southend on easyjet and it was fab. Will definitely use this combination again, as we live in Chelmsford.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEEDS
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The EL CID is literally a 5min Taxi ride from the airport. The Hotel is right on the sea front it couldn't be situated any better. Entertainment on an evening was not much and certainly not geared for English speaking guests. The hotel was kept clean and presentable at all times. Staff sometimes seemed a bit sparse and when you needed someone you either had to wait or go looking for someone. We stayed half board and I did find that when it came to the evening meal choice was limited however what was on offer was of good quality. Two great swimming pools one at the front was quieter and although any one could go there it did seem to be the older guests. The pool at the back was abit more lively with a bar at the side selling drinks and snacks which was handy instead of having to go back into the Hotel. Would recommend this to all ages, couples and families.

Room Tip: Sea view is undoubtedly the best. Quiet and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BEETLE29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Location is the reason for booking this hotel, otherwise it is nothing special. Staff was the biggest dissapointment. Everytime I asked something from receptionist, all I got was rude answers. I didn´t feel wellcome. Room wasn´t as tidy as I expected and towels were unclean.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have decent sea views. There might be some noise from restaurant´s show until 11 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Palma
17.1 mi away
Hotel Apartament Sa Tanqueta
1.4 mi away
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
Hotel Pure Salt Garonda
#2 of 77 in Playa de Palma
500 reviews
39.2 mi away
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
Melbeach Hotel & Spa
#4 of 16 in Canyamel
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Sol Lunamar Apartments
Sol Lunamar Apartments
#9 of 39 in Palmanova
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Java Hotel
Java Hotel
#5 of 77 in Playa de Palma
577 reviews
28.1 mi away
Garden Holiday Village
Garden Holiday Village
#12 of 30 in Playa de Muro
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to THB El Cid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about THB El Cid

Property: THB El Cid
Address: Calle Vaixell 2, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Palma
#7 Family Hotel in Playa de Palma
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — THB El Cid 4*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
he hotel has 210 rooms and 6 suites, all featuring incredible views of the sea, fully equipped bathroom with hair dryer, terrace, telephone, air-conditioning, satellite television, mini-bar, safety deposit box, etc. plus all the services you would expect from tourist accommodation of this category, such as a gymnasium, sauna, Jacuzzi, Turkish bath, solarium, snack bar, lounge bar, internet connection, dinning room with buffet service, show cooking and conference room. It also features three swimming pools (one heated), garden tennis court, bicycle workshop, client parking, volley ball and table tennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your THB El Cid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thb El Cid Hotel Playa De Palma
THB El Cid Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing