We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th floor and looking down!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
smartline Lancaster
Ranked #47 of 77 Hotels in Playa de Palma
darwen
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5th floor and looking down!!”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Just arrived back from the Lancaster hotel in playa de Palma. Checked in on Saturday 31st march and nice and smooth getting us to our room. We discovered we were in room 520 on the 5th floor a couple of 100 feet in the gods with a 5 year old child whose favourite hobby at the moment is climbing, well the wife shot straight back down to the reception and Samuel the animacion director swapped us to the 1st floor(good man) wife could now relax.. Let's sum the hotel up food hit and miss!! No beans, bacon or sausages at breakfast... Gutted!! But we still ate( although my flatulence problem got worse with the amount of eggs I ate!!! Room basic shower superb never wanted to get out!! Maids never swept floor or changed bed linen in the full week, towels were hit and miss!! Bar area superb roomy and resembled a working men's club. San Miguel on draught and it was great. Cocktails a plenty but still worried the house vodka was named j**koff became the joke of the week, can I get a j**koff and coke?? Lol) pool area well pool in the shade all the time due to the hotel next door and the trees surrounding it!! And it was not heated it was freezing!!! Mini golf course with half of the trees on it due to non sweeping!! Always wet due to sprinklers on it most of the time!! Playground basic for little ones swing slide etc... Free wifi although there was do many people using it don't bother!!!!! Hotel a 5 minute stroll to the beautiful beach of playa de Palma and nearby arenal. It was also Spanish pensioners season so the working men's club feel was there with entertainment in the shape of table raffle and cheesy Spanish singers!!! Dancing, dancing and more dancing!!! Thought tess daly and sir Bruce Forsyth had set up for a new series of strictly come dancing!!! Hope this review helps you decide if it's the hotel for you!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarwenDarrener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    47
    56
    30
    52
See reviews for
30
85
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This is the 3rd time I have been to this hotel. I always come Jan-Mar time, out of season. This is the quietest I have ever seen Mallorca at this time of year, and I have been coming to the island for 20 years in the winter. It was deserted, even the cyclists are staying away now, it seems. The hotel is ok, we come here, because its only 10k from airport, so transfers costs are low, there are plenty of shops to hire bicycles, and there are enough shops.....its relaxing...for what we pay its good enough. The area caters mainly for Germans, more so in the summer, they consider Arenal a German city ,so be warned....in the winter there are hordes of Spanish pensioners - I don,t know whats worse sometimes.! The garage for storing bikes has moved from ,under the hotel ,to a room through the bar - so you have to walk through a bar of staring pensioners in all your gear after a 150km ride - not great !
The food is ok ,and the facilities are adequate.
So if you want a quiet break, go here, if you want beers and night out best off in Magaluf..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patthepostman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

I have just returned from this hotel today. Travelled alone but was made to feel really welcome. Staff great and friendly. Room really clean and comfortable. Was a bit worried after reading some reviews but should not have been.
Everyone from the cleaners, waiters and bar staff are great.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lyndamonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

we were moved to this hotel by our tour company after being dissatisfied with the room at the hotel we were booked into (that wasn't what we had expected or promised when booking). The room was extremely outdated, there wasn't much cleaning of rooms going on during our 2 week stay, the food left much to be desired, other than breakfast. The drinks were in very small glasses which meant frequent trips to the bar when we chose to stay for an hour or so in the hotel. This hotel is in the german quarter of Palma so be prepared for all the bars and restaurants being set up for that in terms of menus etc. Any conversation you or your neighbouring travellers had could be heard. Entertainment was set up for elderly people. Ended up going out eating and having any drinks each evening to avoid being driven insane - definately not a place I would recommend for anyone under 60

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Juliette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa de Palma hotels

Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 433 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The Lancaster is a hub for german youth in the summermonths, so if you are not into silly drunkenness, noise and bad behavior you might want to skip this hotel. Out of season the hotel caters for Mundp Senior, spanish pensioners on their yearly government sponsor trip. German tourists, some french and a few english.

Hotel Lancaster is situated in El Arenal- a lively area in summertime, close to airport, beach and public transportation to palma city. The hotel is in the low end of a 3star hotel, very warn out, old colours and in badly need of some fresh paint, new furniture etc. receptionarea quite small, but big recreational areas which seems quite popular with the guests. Big bar with dancefloor and big pool area.

Rooms are quite dated with old furniture, dirty walls, lightning which requires sunglasses, aircondition which drags foodsmell from the restaurant- smelled like a take away for my 10 day stay. Cleaning staff were all very friendly and helpful and provided fresh towels every day. cleaning consisted of a quick wipe of floor and emptying trashcan. I did not have any linnechange or cleaning of toilet for 10 days. bring earplugs as doors slamming all the time. Telly has 3 german, 3 english, 1 french and lots of spanish channels. remotedeposit is EUR20.

Restaurant can be quite busy at peak hours, plenty of foods to choose from and very tasty indeed. Luckily they are quite relaxed about opening hours and take into account that germans eat early and the spanish late which is very good. Restaurant and bar staff were quite friendly and helpful, some even provided a smile and asking if everything was ok- a rare thing on a 3 start hotel in spain.

A note on all-inclusive: its my first year on all-inclusive which for me is a good choice. I am not sure I understand the attitude towards people with wristband. Headwaiter does not care to serve you at all, and plates on the table are not removed- the neighbour table was and they were not AI, Coffee is served in plastic cup and are from a machine, while non-AI gets real coffee in cups, it feels like you become like a second class guest- but I did pay for it all, so I dont really understand the attitude. I dont drink alcohol so I can not comment.

The lancaster earns its 3 stars on its staff which was indeed a nice experience, with a touch up on the decor it would be a very good 3 star choice in El Arenal.

Room Tip: I can only say that I hope hotels in the future will appreciate its singletravellers and provide the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aeronaut65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stayed here at the beginning of November for a 4 night all inclusive stay.
Really good value for money for the price that we payed.
Check in was very efficient and friendly and we were handed a guide to the hotel, which gave us the valuable information concerning the meal times and the bar opening !
OK - the hotel needs a refurb, but overall it was clean, both in the room and in all of the public areas - no complaints.
Meals were very good with a generous choice both at lunch time and also the evening meal. There was always soup, a huge selection of salads, 4-5 choices of main courses including fish and a vegetarian dish at each meal, with a good selection of vegetables, potatoes, rice, chips, pasta etc. Dessert consisted of a selection of cakes, ice cream, jelly, fruit, creamed rice, just to mention a few. It was help yourself to everything, including the wine, which although not the best, was perfectly adequate to have with your meals.
All the staff we came across were courteous and friendly, even though the restaurant was busy at every sitting. Yes, the majority were Spanish pensioners, but as one of the very few English couples staying at this hotel, it made the break that much better - we did really feel as though we had been transported abroad !
The bar served all the local brands of drinks and despite it being all inclusive, it was no problem getting served at any time of the day.
I think that 4 days was enough to be honest - we tended to make sure that we were around for the lunch, which in some ways was better than the evening meal !
All in all, were were very sceptical when we read the reviews, but had a really good time and would certainly return at this time of the year again. The weather, apart from the day we arrived was sunny, fine and around 20 degrees - in fact it was warm enough to sunbathe on the beach.
The area the hotel is in is perfect for getting the local bus into Palma and relatively cheap at 1.25 euro - we ventured in twice during our stay and reall enjoyed the city.

Room Tip: We stayed at the back of the hotel facing the pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evertonhse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Positive:
The localization could be worst
The fact that you can park the car outside (with no cost)
Negative:
Room too small
Both room and bathroom need to be redone
Walls as thick as a piece of paper
VERY VERY VERY noisy (german teenagers screaming, kicking, ... always jupping from room to room, unitl 7AM)
Food very basic...
Only 2 slow lifts for too many rooms.
I can't talk about the swimming pool... I didn't tried it
It's a good place if you intend being drunk during your holidays.. otherwise... RUN AWAY! look for other place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa de Palma hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palma Playa
Hotel Palma Playa
#27 of 77 in Playa de Palma
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Principe Hotel
Principe Hotel
#37 of 77 in Playa de Palma
41 reviews
0.7 mi away
AYA Hotel
AYA Hotel
#34 of 77 in Playa de Palma
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Festival
Hotel Riu Festival
#21 of 77 in Playa de Palma
104 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mac Paradiso Garden
Mac Paradiso Garden
#56 of 77 in Playa de Palma
93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Myseahouse Flamingo
Myseahouse Flamingo
#29 of 77 in Playa de Palma
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to smartline Lancaster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about smartline Lancaster

Property: smartline Lancaster
Address: Calle Sant Ramon Nonat 16 | Las Maravillas, 07610 Playa de Palma, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Palma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Palma
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — smartline Lancaster 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ADULTS ONLY (+18) Enjoy Majorca to the fullest and in comfort; this is what we offer you in the smartline Lancaster in relaxing surroundings of Playa de Palma. An ideal place to enjoy yourself with your partner or with friends both in the surroundings of the hotel, in Playa de Palma, and taking advantage of all the offers of the capital - Palma de Majorca. The smartline Lancaster*** is located on the Playa de Palma only 300 metres from the beach, 6,5 km from the airport and 12 km from the centre of Palma. The hotel disposes of 318 rooms with balcony, air-conditioning (heating/cooling), SAT TV, safe (extra charge), bath, shower, toilet. The hotel also has 1 adults' pool and offers a varied program of entertainment for adults. Nearby the hotel, in the area of Playa de Palma, you will find a great range of additional water and sports activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your smartline Lancaster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel El Arenal
Smartline Lancaster Playa De Palma, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing