We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bungalows Velazquez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 20, 2013

After reading reviews on here I was worried how disappointed I would be If we were not allocated a beach front bungalow, I raced in to open the curtains and was not disappointed - WOW!
Rooms 1 & 2 have great sea views and are near the pool. Rooms 17 to 33 all have sea views and access to the beach, we were lucky enough to be in one of these so it was worth the money we paid.

We have visited Lanzarote a few times and this is the best place we have stayed on the island. Right in the centre of things yet really peaceful. Don't let the fact that Velazquez is only a 2 Star put you off. You have everything you need here...
The rooms aren't 5 star luxury nor do they claim to be but they are spotlessly clean, and towels are changed every day. For €10 deposit you can get beach towels too. The kitchen facilities are adequate but we didn't use them much with so many bars and restaurants just across the road. The bathroom has a hair dryer however if you have long hair I would advise you take your own!

We only visited reception at check in and check out and this was our only contact with the staff there (except security!) but they were friendly and helpful.

The pool area is nice and clean with great sea views, while we were there the pool was deserted and we only spent a couple of hours there, but there were plenty of sun loungers and shades available for those who wanted a change from the beach.

Remember to lock your doors at night though or you will get the security guard knocking you up to let you know the door is open! This happened to us on our first night, good to know someone is keeping an eye out for you, if not a little scary to have someone pounding on your patio door in the middle of the night!

A taxi from the airport cost us just €12 and back at the end of our stay was €10. We got a bus to Costa Teguise which was €2.90 each and to Playa Blanca for €2.40 each. If you are going to the market in Playa Blanca you need to be up early as the buses get full later on. The Market is on Wednesdays and Saturdays and is worth a visit, you may not bag a bargain but it's lovely.

If you need a supermarket the nearest one is Hyperdino Express, out of the gate across the road turn right and its down a side street on the left just after the La Brasa Grill. There is also a 'Cafe + Market' out of the gate across the road and left, this is more expensive but they sell lovely cakes and pastries.

When you arrive you'll find coffee, milk, juice, butter jam and crackers in the room. While there it was my birthday and we were left a bottle of fizz and champagne glasses, nice touch. We will definitely return to Velazquez when we are next in Lanzarote.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Director of Sales at Bungalows Velazquez, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for trust in us, choosing Bungalows Velazquez. It’s fantastic to see that had a pleasant stay at bungalows Velazquez enjoying your holidays in Lanzarote. Our staff is looking forward seeing you soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 164 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We went late September 2013 for 10 days and were allocated room number 4 having booked in July and stating it was our wedding anniversary (which was acknowledged by staff) - we were married 2 years prior in Lanzarote and we think of the island as our second home. This is our second visit to Las Velazquez, our first was in the idyllic room 28 in 2012, and is about our tenth time to Lanzarote and we personally know some of the locals and ex-pats (n.b. we're a quiet couple in our early 30s).

Number 4 is on the second floor, is next to the (quiet) pool has a partially obscured, set back, view of the beach. It also has a mysterious locked internal door and the patio door is the front and only door. Additionally the room also backs onto Cafe La Ola and the Lanzarote Casino, one of which on Friday night liked to play rhythmic drums and set off a few fireworks at around 2am for around 1/2 hour, these aren't too loud but enough to wake me up as I'm a light sleeper.
The rooms on arrival had a wall that was covered in mosquitoes (somebody had obviously left a door open and light on). We also found a number of ants in the bathroom and regularly moving from the patio door into the bedroom. The ants were not too much bother as spraying usually stops them completely for a couple of days - beware most of these sprays' fumes are toxic and need hours to ventilate so don't do it before going to bed - fortunately my Spanish speaking wife read the can!
We didn't think to complain about the room as we were there to enjoy our time and not get wound up - our specific room request and occasion should have been enough.
Staff are helpful, but not always available due to partial (but adequate) reception hours and the room cleaner came daily (seemingly with no off time!) and did a reasonable job.

Sadly this homely 2 key resort lived up to its 2 key rating this time and was a disappointment given our circumstances and our higher expectations - it's no longer the 4 key "wannabe" we (and seemingly most other people) have experienced. If you haven't a 4 key budget, and expect the worst then you may find Las Velazquez will pleasantly surprise you, but we won't be returning.

Room Tip: Avoid lower number rooms (<10) to reduce risk of partially obscured sea view unless you want to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank monkeyboy2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Director Comercial at Bungalows Velazquez, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Estimated monkeyboy2011,

First of all, thanks for choosing Bungalows Velazquez. It’s very sad for us to hear that you plan not coming back to Bungalows Velazquez. Regarding to the mentioned details, as you know the bungalows are in first ocean front, surrounded by small gardens so it can be happen that we find mosquitoes or ants around. Temporally we fumigate, as the most of properties in Canary Islands, with an specialist company who use, no toxic products. Unfortunately you didn’t informed us at any moment about it, so we could not offer any solution for you. Please, and we are not talking only for us, that’s valid for any complex or hotel in the world, please advise always the reception staff for any issues, to enjoy always your perfect holidays. At the Bungalows Velázquez most of our clients are repeaters, so we always do our very best to fulfill our clients wishes, unfortunately it’s not possible 100%, so we apology if you did not get the bungalow number as you wished. Hopefully one day you change your mind, giving us the chance to show you our good offered at this little paradise at the heart of Puerto del Carmen in Bungalows Velazquez. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

These Apartments or bungalows are great, they are right on private beach have air con and also right in the town, they are very quiet, I never heard a sound anytime(only the waves) the pool area is small and there is no pool bar it's geared towards people who are looking for relaxation and quietness, I found the town or strip itself is a bit brash and ugly, it gets tiring after a while walking along saying no thank you every five seconds to someone trying to get you to go to their place but the beaches and these apartment a made up for it

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank skybus320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Director of Sales at Bungalows Velazquez, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for choosing Bungalows Velazquez for your holidays. For us and the whole team it’s very nice to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you soon in Bungalows Velazquez. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

there is an "If" to this. If you don't like fun lively pool areas or if your ok with risking getting the right bungalow. We stayed in a spacious but basic 2 bedroom bungalow with a unobstructed view of the beach with our own steps down to beach. However looking around the complex - not every bungalow gives the same experience and one or two have no view at all.

the location is totally perfect and the staff are very very helpful and friendly. We were lucky to be offered a late check out until 5 as our flight home wasn't until 8pm free of charge which was lovely

the beds are hard- but they always are in resorts I feel. they are cleaned meticulously every day.

its the first holiday ive never sat around the pool. Why? its pretty tired and not as great as pictures tell you. only a couple of beds have backs that go up and even those beds were old and sagging so very very uncomfortable. they really should be replaced.

I would come back ourely for the unreal views and its central location and price

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brighteyes159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Director of Sales at Bungalows Velazquez, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

First of all thanks for choosing Bungalows Velazquez. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your holidays. Thank you for the constructive information about the sun beds, we will definitely check this detail and look for a good solution. The whole team hopes to see you for your next Lanzarote vacation. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent a wonderful 2 weeks here from the 5th - 19th of September on our honeymoon. We could not have asked for better accomodation, this place is by far the nicest holiday complex we have ever stayed in! The reception staff were lovely & very helpful & there was a security guard on every night making sure all bungalows were locked up & secure. The bungalows are on the main strip but very little noise can be heard at night & access to the apartments was by a locked gate which we were given a key for.
These bungalows are spotlessly clean & are maintained to a very high standard. The excellent housekeeping staff came around every day to clean & tidy & left clean towels each day. When we arrived, we had a small basket of essentials to get us settled...teabags, coffee, sugar, jam, biscuits and milk, juice & butter in the fridge! very welcoming & a lovely touch! The decor in our bungalow was second to none, it was beautiful & it also had air conditioning, a safe and a flat screen tv!
While everything about these bungalows was fantastic nothing compares to its location! We had just a few steps to our own private beach area where we spent days snorkling & swimming! The bungalows do have a pool but once you see the beach you dont need the pool! It really was perfect!
We had the most wonderful time here & would return in a heartbeat! We couldnt recommend this idylic haven more, true perfection!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thoaisds13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Director of Sales at Bungalows Velazquez, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for trust in Bungalows Velazquez and choosing us for your honeymoon. It’s lovely to hear that you have enjoyed this special holiday and we hope to see you back soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The best location and apartment I have ever stayed in Puerto Del Carmen out of at least 10 others I stayed in. Waking up and going to bed with the sound of the sea outside your windows and a beach that was private and metres away. It is totally suited for couples the apartments too are spotless and have everything you need. The staff too are most helpful. If you can afford it treat yourself you wont regret it. Plenty of passers by on the strip kept asking us about them as we were entering/exiting.

Room Tip: Obviously the ones closest to the sea are the ones to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyBarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Director of Sales at Bungalows Velazquez, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for trust in us, choosing Bungalows Velazquez. It’s fantastic to see that had a pleasant stay at bungalows Velazquez enjoying your holidays in Lanzarote. Our staff is looking forward seeing you soon. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Torn between keeping this place to myself and providing an honest review..
This was my 2nd visit to Lanza this year to visit friends... and booked these after I spotted them on my 1st visit in March. I certainly did not regret it however some might feel that they are a little expensive for just one person.... but personally, I do think they're worth it!
They are spotlessly clean (cleaners are in every day) fantastic location, well equipped (A/C) spacious very quiet (on some days, I was the only person at the pool...) and my favourite element was drifting off to the sounds of the ocean each night... bliss....
These are extremely central... and I suppose what did surprise me was the lack of noise from the strip.... as couldn't hear anything apart from some drunk girls murdering 'Blurred Lines' one night but any noise was very rare...

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jacqueline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irene P, Director of Sales at Bungalows Velazquez, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for choosing Bungalows Velazquez for your second visit to Lanzarote. We are very pleased to hear that you found us on your first visit and hope you are getting repeater now. The whole team hopes to see you for your next Lanzarote trip. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
605 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
774 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
707 reviews
0.6 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#27 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Velazquez? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Velazquez

Address: Avenida Playas 8, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $136 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bungalows Velazquez 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bungalows Velazquez reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velazquez Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Bungalows Velazquez Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing