We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Club Guinate
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as a single traveller from 7th to 12th June 2013. Prior to arrival I received an email detailing where my keys would be if I arrived and reception was closed, along with directions to the apartments. On arrival reception was open and the lady was very helpful. In a matter of minutes I had my keys and was in my room. I stayed in number 29, over looking the pool and with sun on the balcony all day. The bedroom and bathroom both looked out towards the sea. Kitchen well equipped with kettle, toaster, 4 ring hob, full oven and fridge with freezer compartment. Plenty of glasses and everything else you might need. TV did not work, couldn't pick up any channels at all, but I didn't come away to watch tv. Lovely proper double bed, made a nice change from the usual singles pushed together!. Bathroom a little 'tired' with some rust in the bath but the sink looked new, very large mirror but nothing full length which was a shame. Lovely looking pool, I didn't get in as it was cold, not surprised by this as most pools in the canaries are, did see a few others in it though and it was immaculately clean, along with the surrounding area. Reception only open very limited hours, closed before 2 each day, there is a small bar which appeared to be open for the same hours. There are two supermarkets within a 5 minute walk, from the entrance turn left and then walk around the back of the tennis courts, hiper dino on the corner is open til 10, but beware, is often closed a little before that and is reasonably priced, carry on walking and you'll see a spar on the opposite side of the road, larger selection and open til 9. Just before you reach the spar are a couple of restaurants, Blairs is very nice.Follow this road a little further towards the old town and you will find the Biosfera shopping centre which is open til 10 most nights, plenty of shops, McDonald's etc. Carry on down the hill towards the harbour, drunken monkey on the left plays some good music and San Miguel is 2 euro a pint, Craic n Ceol on opposite side of road is a nice Irish bar. Bit further down still is a really nice restaurant called La Bodega which does wonderful Tapas, not the cheapest but well worth it. If you come out of the hotel and turn right instead, then right again you can follow the road down to the beach and the 'strip' killer hill to walk back up but keeps you in shape! Sunset beach bar along the front does good breakfast and cheap drinks, a bit further along is the Galleon Inn which serves the best breakfast I had. All in all a great base, easy walking distance to most places, if a little hilly, but very central, would def stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nats1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    53
    20
    10
    7
See reviews for
29
50
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just returned from a chilled week at the Guinate club appartments,and i can honestly say it was great value for the money.On arrival we where met by the a lovely lady named Antonia who was so helpful and well mannered in every way,she even helped us with a proplem that we had at the Glasgow end and took the time to go on her computor and and sort things out.The rooms where spotless and where cleaned every second day along with the bedding and towels.The flat was well aquiped with all the necessary utensil's required for s/catering,the big plus about these appartments where no screaming kis or drunkin yobs the safe surroundings and handy for all areas .I look forward too my next visit too the Guinate Club. Brian&Britt

Room Tip: All rooms are well situated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank brian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We spent two weeks at Club Guinate in December/January. We took two apartments and the list of what was wrong just goes on and on. My daughter had to put her matress on the floor because the noise the broken bedframe made every time she breathed (let alone moved) made sleep an impossibility. Another bed had broken slats beneath the matress. The pool was only fit for keeping wine/beer cold, it was too cold to use for anything else. There were kids running around from morning til night and even dancing on the pool table. There was no toaster in one of the apartments and no ice trays in either. Reception wasn't open when it was supposed to be and neither was the bar. This place just grabs your money and leaves you to it. Avoid it.

On the streets outside there was dog mess every few metres and, to cap it all, most of the food places on the main drague ought to be closed down or at least made to produce a catering certificate or two per premises: I don't call freezer-to-microwave/fryer-to-table cooking or even the production of half-decent food. And then there are the infuriating hawkers on the streets trying to drag you in to eat. Puerto del Carmen is to be avoided at all costs though there are some great places you can get to by walking away from it in either direction along the coast.

Room Tip: Try a different place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldfrapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Del Carmen hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ok, I spent 17 nights in this place over Xmas. It was pretty cheap but the standards were very poor and so do it does not represent good value for money. Despite been quite cheap there was so many basic things wrong with this apartment. As follows:

- Cockroaches
- toilet seat broken
- lights barely worked in the bathroom (very dim so could barely see!)
- no hot water in bathroom tap
- no water pressure in bathroom tap
- tv but has only Spanish channels so completely pointless having one in there unless your fluent in Spanish
- safe in bedroom but could not be locked
- only five hangers provided in the wardrobe
- cigarette burns in the curtains
- locked the back door one night and then could not for the life of me open it again
- two knobs missing off the cooker so could not be used
- kitchen lights not working
- back porch lights not working

I know you get what you pay for but the above are basic things that you would expect to be working in a basic apartment and on this the apartment fell way short. One of the worst places I have stayed in all my years in Spain and that really is saying something. AVOID.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had booked this apartment as it had good comments on this and other sites regarding the cleaness.
I can NOT share this opinion!!!! We came back from the beach on our 2nd day and we left the apartment a bit sandy. I decided to sweep the floor. I better shouldn´t have done that. Although on the first sight the apartment appeared to be clean, I collected a huge amount of dirt, including other peoples hair, breaad crumbs, rice and noodles (we haven´t had any of this in the flat). Be prepared for ants they are just everywhere. But what really ruined my holiday was a cockroach in our bed on the 4th day. As it was already afternoon and the reception was left at 15:00, I called the emergency number of the "Club". I went spoke to the manager who inforemd me that she is on holidays and I should speak to the receptionist tomorrow morning. I insisted that I want to have at least a temporary fix for the problem. She said she will make some calls and give me a ring in 30 minutes. She never called again... instead the facility guy knocked our door 1 hour later and gave us new sheets and a cockroach spray. The problem was solved for the reception. I haven´t had good sleep from this day as I was always scared there could be another one in the bed. Furthermore we were fightened to open the windows in the evening as the cockroaches were running around the area the whole night. I have been speaking to some locals and they explaint that they were an issue this year, but I have the feeling the owners could have done a bit more to avoid them running around the pool area.

Other things to moan about: The kitchen is more than basic, pasta and tomato sauce are possibly the only food you are able to prepare. Everything is dated and some damage in the facility. Our terasse door was very hard to open and close as it was broken. No a/c, TV has 3 programs: 2 arabian and sky news. You are asked to throw the used toilet paper not into the toilet but into the bin which is emptied only every 3rd day, very disgusting and we stopped doing it after 3 days. Only 1 bedsite table which is a problem when both are wearing glasses. the 3rd "bed" is not in conditions to sleep on it more than 1 night.

Good points:
The pool area is very clean and looks renewed not long ago. The price is very good, if your standards are not too high you can be happy here. Location is very good, 10 minutes walk to the beach and the main strip, but the nieghbourhood is absolutly quiet, a big "Spar" is just another 10 minutes walk away.

Defo you get what you pay for and you don´t pay much here!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank meikisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Small cosy complex with a nice clean pool. Decent rooms: but it can be a bit hot inside. Everything is clean and up to date. It is a 20 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the big supermarket. The lady at the reception could smile a bit more... The reception is only open when they like.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed there in June. Apartment was spacious, comfortable and clean. Wi-Fi is free but works perfectly only near reception.Apartments' staff was very friendly and helpful
Guinate Club is close to the beach, supermarkets (Dino and Spar) and Biosfera shopping center.
Chinese restaurant near the the beach is good and not very expensive (try their chinese buffet).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Naxrupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Panorama
Apartamentos Panorama
#25 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
374 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#46 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
210 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic View Resort
Atlantic View Resort
#50 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Playamar Apartments
Playamar Apartments
#1 of 12 in Puerto Del Carmen
57 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos La Morana
Apartamentos La Morana
#31 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lomo Blanco Apartments
Lomo Blanco Apartments
#6 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Club Guinate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Club Guinate

Property: Apartamentos Club Guinate
Address: C/ Princesa Teguise 9, Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Club Guinate 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Club Guinate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Club Guinate Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Club Guinate Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing