We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Kontiki Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartamentos Kontiki Club
Ranked #73 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Monaghan ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed in these apartments last week, The Apartments are in a great location apart from being on top of steep hill but it's not bad it might b steep but it's only a small walk. We stayed in one of the old rooms but everything was alright just very basic, nothing you would complain about, the balcony hadn't much of a view but the front door was just a few feet from the pool, the towels are changed every second day and the bed clothes every 4 days.
The pool area was very clean and was cleaned every night, the loungers are locked till 10 every morning which I think is a good idea as you don't have to get up at 6 in the morning to get 1, you can actually have a lie on and still get a lounger when u get up, but there was always plenty anyway. We went to the beach most days as it is only a 2 min walk away.
The reception area is 24hr so always someone there if you need anything, It sells the Sun Newspaper which was handy and the staff Behind the desk was always friendly. The bar area is clean with friendly staff and shows most football matches, didn't have anything 2 eat so can't comment but had a drink in it a few evenings before heading down the town nice place to sit and relax with most of the usual drinks on offer.
Basic apartments but nice and clean with friendly staff and in a great location, will return to these apartments but remember you have to pay extra for toasters, kettles, fans and even the tv channels none of which we needed last week but you would need a fan during the summer months so be warned.

Room Tip: Request for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    114
    77
    50
    47
See reviews for
69
170
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at these apartments!
We had room139 and were lucky enough to get one of the rooms that have been modernised.
The view was amazing overlooking the pool and sea and we really enjoyed have a beer or glass of wine sat on the veranda.
As mentioned in previous reviews the chill out area is brilliant and too has fantastic views.
The location is excellent, 2 mins to strip and a 10/15 min stroll to the harbour, one of the main reasons we booked as we new this already.
These apartments offer everything you need from a s/c holiday and we have already booked to go back in Feb!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tired-out-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

These part lovely situated apartments are great for couples just a stone throw away from all the bustle.myself stayed with my wife and two young children aged 8 and 13yrs, so if you are staying here as a family don't expect on complex entertainment or kids clubs there isn't any but the bonus is its easliy found with a 2 mins walk down the hill to the main strip which is full of restaurants and bars which can be annoying on occasions when restaurant staff try to intice you into their establishments which as the holiday went on got annoying so we started to walk on the opposite side of the road.These apartments I feel are hit or miss .we booked a 2 bedroom apartment but on arrival got told by the receptionist that there was a problem with our room (water problem) and it won't be ready until the Sunday ,so as a alternative either we stayed in a one bedroom for two nights or their sister hotel blue sea ficos which was in the old town which where we didn't want to go.after some heated exchanges of words we decided to stay in the one bedroom for 2 nights which we had no choice.we stayed in the one bedroom apartment 158 which was dark and dingy which opened up onto a patio area with a old pool table and 4 cats .it was awful my wife the following day got upset and then they moved us to a beautifully updated two bedroom with sea view ,what a difference.The staff from that day onwards were great any problems they were always at hand.The pool was cleaned daily and our room was regulary cleaned.Sunbeds chained up from 10am til 6pm which a bit frustrating on times because we had to wait for them to be unlocked but there was plenty of beds to go around. Poolside bar did a nice breakfast 2 euro 90 and 2 euro a pint from happy hour. Stunning views from the roof top patio areas ,would recommend this hotel ,but it's advisable to upgrade your room as the minority of rooms are dreadful.The only negative thing I can say about this hotel is that there's no air con ,you had to hire equipment such as fans ,kettles ,toasters all 8 euro a week each and a safe for 20euros ,44 euros in total which for self catering I found odd ( excluding the safe ) .overall enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room ,pool view or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjayjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This was my first time in these apartments and I must admit I was disappointed at which apartment I was allocated.It was very dark inside and stuck in a corner of the complex.After I had accepted where I was located things were not too bad.It was very quiet were I was located and that was one of my main concerns.Being a light sleeper the apartment where I was allocated was just fine.The apartment was well equipped but having to pay extra for a kettle and a toaster was just not on for a self catering holiday.The staff were very pleasant and helpful at all times,when I had a problem(nothing to do with the apartment)it was sorted out within 5 minutes,excellent I would say.
The apartments are well located with just a 2 minute walk(downhill)to the beach and the main strip where the shops and restaurants are.Remember you have to walk up cardiac hill to return to the apartments which is not too bad.The apartments are in need of a little TLC as they are looking in need of a little attention.All in all a nice place to spend your holiday and very central to everything.

Room Tip: try and get a sea view apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breenb1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

When i see people moaning about this hotel it makes me laugh!
Its a cheap & cheerful choice of hotel
It is smack bang in the middle if peurto del carmen & a short walk from the old town
Theres tonnes of bars and restaurants nearby and shops too
I recommend doing the short south tour from an excursion shop you get to see the volcanos as it really is worth doing!
The hotel has a small independant bar which do a lovely breakfast for 2.90
Our room itself was ok, very big for two people but it could do with a major refurb.
We did find one cockroach!
The beds were also a bit hard
You have to hire fans toasters etc but we paid next to nothing to stay here so not really sure what else you woulf expect.
I would return here on a budget
The staff were friendly and the pool was clean and the location could not have been better
That hill everyone talks about isnt that big either, unless you are super super unfit you will not struggle.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DibDab1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Sea H, Guest Relations Manager at Apartamentos Kontiki Club, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Very grateful we are, dear customer, for your nice review, and we are specially happy because you had a lovely holiday, and that fills us with joy.

We trust we will meet you anew at this hotel for another wonderful holiday.

Kindest regards from Puerto del Carmen

Customer Relations Manager for Lanzarote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This was our second trip to these apartment's and I could see how they have made a conscious effort to upgrade. We booked a superior room and requested a room we had our eye on when we first came. This request was granted and we had an excellent weeks stay of relaxation. We chose a ground floor room opposite the pool with the sea view opposite. Home from home. Sun beds right out side our door. Two steps to the pool bar, not that we needed it so close but we did have the advantage of the lovely Spanish music in the morning time. The terrace is beautiful with its new furniture and we will always return to the Kontiki. Reception staff could not do enough all in all a great experience. My only negative thing to say was the pool bar staff have changed, huge mistake. The new owners don't seem to have the same welcoming energy as when we were last there. We spent lots of time and money in the pool bar last year and this year hardly any. This is not a fault of the Kontiki as its nothing to do with them but I feel this would have an impact on people returning. Just no atmosphere and always empty....obviously for that reason. Great stay otherwise. Room 140 opens up to the pool area with great views.

Room Tip: 140 excellent choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiverpoolSara66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I see a few people criticising the Blue Sea Kontiki but considering the location and absolutely stunning sun terrace and the fact we got our apartment for £200 for 7 nights there's really not much to complain about. This is our second time at these apartments. I agree that some of the rooms may require a bit of a makeover but when you weigh everything up, all things considered, they are excellent value for money! As for having to pay to hire a toaster etc, there's numerous bars and restaurants within minutes offering breakfasts for 2€ and two course evening meals for 8€.

Stop complaining and live your life a little!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steveno495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Morana Apartments
Morana Apartments
#54 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#40 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#37 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Los Fariones Hotel
Los Fariones Hotel
#16 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Ico Apartments
Princesa Ico Apartments
#59 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Kontiki Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Kontiki Club

Property: Apartamentos Kontiki Club
Address: Calle Guanapay 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Kontiki Club 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Apartamentos Kontiki Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sea Kontiki Club Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Kon Tiki Hotel
Apartamentos Kontiki Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing