We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take no notice of bad reviews...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apartamentos Kontiki Club
Ranked #73 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Have just got back from a week at the Blue Sea Kontiki Apartments and are looking to go back next March and September.. What an absolutely fantastic place...Please take no notice of the people who moan about the place being dirty and scruffy it is not true...We had our apartment cleaned and towels and beds changed 3 times in the week we were there...It is a very friendly complex, the staff on the bar are brilliant always there ready to get you a drink or something to eat when you wanted and always friendly and happy to serve...The food served is always freshly cooked for you and lots to choose from, either on the menu or the daily specials..We enjoyed the different breakfasts you could choose from.. The hill up to the Kontiki lives up to it's name (Cardiac Hill) but it's doable believe me, I am no spring chicken and I did it every day a few times a day...and it hasn't put us off going back ...As far as cockroaches are concerned..I am the so scared of EVERY creepy crawly but we only saw 4 half dead cockroaches in the whole week...The staff on reception were also willing to help with anything we needed and booked our trips without any hassle...Yes you have to hire a kettle,toaster,fan (as not air conditioned apartments) but they cost hardly anything and the deposits you get back at the end of the stay is you taxi fare back to the airport...We hired a kettle and didn't even use it all week as bar was there for tea and coffee too...The beach is and loads of shops and supermarkets are a short walk away...Couldn't ask for more...Loved it...loved it..loved it...

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeanbeanliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 340 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

You get what you pay for really! Stayed in one of the apartments with 2 friends, was bit sceptical at first but was great location, 30 seconds to the strip. 'Cardiac Hill' is nothing, it is steep but you only walk up it for about a minute! Pool was good, hotel staff friendly. Room is basic and bathroom desperately needs updating but we got used to it, good size room and loved the terrace area. Despite that, I would definitely stay here again! Rooms are changed every other day and we had a few complaints like lights not working which were sorted out IMMEDIATELY! Is a bit noisy with people coming in at night as well so please be aware if you are expecting a nice quiet holiday. Best meal we ate was at the Norwegian restaurant, Viking Huset - really fresh, home cooked food, was absolutely delicious!!

Room Tip: Get one of the apartments if you can as they are a great size and good location and get the sun alll...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bethanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was a very poor quality apartment complex. The sign outside the main door denotes a 2* rating which is exactly what it is. Every remark made in previous reviews about cleanliness, shabby rooms, threadbare bed linen,and grey ragged towels is accurate. If we had known about the extensive roadworks and exceptionally steep road down to the seafront, we would not have chosen these apartments. There are very few cleaners - not enough to service the apartments properly.The reception and cafe staff are, however, very pleasant and helpful and try to make you feel welcome. Nevertheless we will not return to the Kontiki.

Room Tip: Don't bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derek D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

On arrival to Blue Sea Kontiki I really wanted to book elsewhere! only reason we didnt is because we figured we would just be in and out of the apts daily and not really spending much time there. It has a good location and nice rooftop sunbathing ill give it that, but everything else which i think is a basic requirement for a holiday apt, was just not up to scratch.
Balcony view was of another shabby balcony, chairs and table on balcony were shabby and dirty. Rooms were not clean, stains on bed sheets and pillows ( i have pictures as proof!) i dont even know what kind of hairdryer contraption there was in the bathroom. Shower filled up as u stood in it so you were standing in your own grime! and every other item you would normally get in a standard apt, you were required to pay for. Tv Remote/Safe/Iron/Kettle/Toaster. The rooms were not clean and not kept clean, when cleaned, the beds were just remade no clean sheets ever given! i was bitten several times from whatever was on my bedsheets!! Staff at reception were generally helpful, except from one receptionist who was very rude and abrupt.
Apts are also situated at top of cardiac hill, which was a nightmare to walk up alone, but to make matters worse there were massive roadworks everyday, that somedays you had to walk a long way around to get in to your apt. Noise of roadworks also at 6am every morning!!
all in all i wouldnt recommend this place to anyone, I have a friend who was planning to stay here in Oct and have advised them to go with somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Myself (28) & my girlfriend (23) styed in kontiki September 2012, I was apprehensive about staying here after many mixed reviews, but i found the place 10 times better than the reviews, the location was absolutley perfect & the accomodation was very good considering how cheap it was to stay, the staff were friendly & the pool area was perfect for lazy days. I would also say to people staying here remember you are only inside to sleep & shower so for cheap fun holidays this is the place to go, would definitely return!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Myself and my partner returned to these apartments this September (after April this year) and same great experience! As I've written previously the location is perfect with so many bars and restaurants and the beach is only 50m away! Yeah so the steps to the apartment were a bit of a mission but we ended up quite enjoying the steep hill as it burned off all our over indulgence of food and drink! Apartments were cleaned every other day and the maids even bought my partner a birthday letter and a bottle of champagne from the management! Bar staff were extremely fun and friendly and we were glad the pervy life guard had left this time round!

At the time road works were ongoing outside the apartments but these did not affect us as our room was the other side of the complex. There was no air con in the apartment either but fans were available to rent at a small cost of I think 8 euros and a 5 euro deposit. We coped by leaving open the windows to let a bit of air in as we saw no mosquito's which we were surprised by!

Overall great holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for second story and a pool or sea view balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa_19_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here in august and thought they were decent enough apartments for the money ie very cheap I paid £463 for two weeks inc flights .
Good points are decent pool.friendly reception and bar staff.good location very near good bars/restaurants although is at top of steep hill.
Our room was a nice size and was clean no problems at all.
Bad points are sun beds getting on a bit.roadworks outside although this is not the kontikis fault.you do have to hire a fan and kettle , we just boiled s saucepan.good view from the sun bed area on lower level but why did they decide to 're tile it in the high season which rendered it useless.
If you are expecting 5 star then go elsewhere and pay more money but if like me we are not that long in our room then it was fine

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daveandcaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Morana Apartments
Morana Apartments
#46 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#45 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
219 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princesa Ico Apartments
Princesa Ico Apartments
#59 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#34 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Kontiki Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Kontiki Club

Address: Calle Guanapay 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $117 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Kontiki Club 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Kontiki Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sea Kontiki Club Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Kon Tiki Hotel
Apartamentos Kontiki Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing