We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Kontiki Club
Ranked #73 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Me and my boyfriend (age 20 & 22) stayed at the apartments between 19th - 26th June. Don't listen to any bad reviews. We went with low cost holidays for £230 each and didn't have any problems.The apartments are spacious and we had a sea view room - which i requested when booking the holiday. We stayed in room 116, the only problem was that our bedroom window was right next to a set of steps leading to other apartments so at around 2.30am i would be woken by groups of people coming back from the bars and not being very considerate of us sleeping. Other than that, there were no problems. The pool area is lovely and cleaned daily although we sunbathed on the sun terrace which is over a small bridge from the pool where you can overlook the sea.


When we checked into the hotel we were given an information sheet with prices of a safe and different things that you can hire. I think they need to edit the info sheet as most of it was wrong. The safe was 20 euros with 10 euros deposit but it says 20 euros deposit and it also said that you have to hire the sunbeds around the pool?? we went to reception to ask and she confirmed that you don't need to do this. I'm not moaning about this, i just thought i would give people a heads up. Also, we found out on the last day that the pool table in the Kontiki is actually only 1 euro to play a game and not 2 euros (which is what it states on the pool table) so i have no idea where our other euro coin was going every time that we played? Again, just giving a heads up to people :)

Moving on.....
There are pleanty of lovely restaurants near the hotel. 'Hong Kong' chinese all you can eat buffet for 6.95 euros. Also, Chiquito's do a great full english with orange juice for 2.50 euros and they cook lovely food for dinner there. I don't usually eat meat on holiday but i couldn't fault any of the meals that i had during my week in Lanzarote. We ate at the Kontiki bar one evening and the food there was very tasty. The bar staff were great and very friendly.

'Cardiac Hill' - You barely have to walk half way up the hill as there is a side gate to the apartments. Me and my boyfriend had absolutely no problem with this at all. Not sure what all the fuss is about!!

On one of the days it was cloudy as there was a sand storm so we went to the Aquasis Spa - which was so relaxing. Its about a 10min walk from the hotel. 13.50 euros each for an hour and a half in the spa, i would recommend it.

Lots of lovely bars to have cocktails - Cafe La ola is very relaxing right on the sea front and has a swimming pool in the restaurant (not sure if people are allowed in the pool or if its just for show?) but it was a nice atmosphere. We also went on a bar crawl one night which was a laugh.

Overall i would say that Puerto Del Carmen is a great place for families and young couples. I would definately recommend the Kontiki apartments to anyone going to Puerto Del Carmen as it was a cheap but excellent holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lorna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    114
    77
    50
    47
See reviews for
69
170
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

apartments were as stated clean and tidy, the location was excellent, the beach was a stones throw away and the restaurants and shops also close at hand. My only issue was one set of neighbours, younger holiday makers seemed to party all night and come back drunk and rather loud with no care for other people trying to sleep at 4am. The house keeping was very good with maid service every other day. There was a pool but i didnt spend much time there as i prefered the beach and the sea. I would go back to these apartments again and also recommend them, just watch out for the neighbours.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

These apartments are really well situated. 500 metres from beach in new town and an easy walk into the old town. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Our apartment was massive. It was clean and tidy although just a little dated. Towel change and clean 3 times during our 7 day stay. Nice pool and fantastic sea views! Bar on site was good a little expensive but handy although usually closed around 10pm most nights. Breakfast just down the front was only euros 2.63! and lots of choice at other places. The bar owners in the hotel were nice and a special thanks to Paul. All in all a great value holiday and would stay in the kon tiki again

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie5200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

The first room we were put into was dirty, dingy and we had to share our terrace with teenagers on ither side of us, partying til all hours of the morning. My husband is quite poorly which they knew, so they should never had put us in that room. So i realised after why the receptionist told us that once in the room we could not change and was adament about that. We only managed 2-3 nights in that room, then we had to go and complain. The receptionist said we had to come back in the morning at 10am and then it was the same receptionist at the beginning. I complained about the noise and the state of the room and she started to shout at me that she had told me there is no change of rooms. She eventually said i could have another room if i payed 20 euros. The next room wasnt much better although it did have a private terrace, which was dirty, withered dying plants, elecgtrics exposed and the room wasnt much better. We had been charged 16 euros for a kettle which we never used, because we couldnt stay there any longer, so we went to another hotel which cost us 200 euros more. This receptionist is supposed to be the head receptionist who was very rude to me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Del Carmen hotels

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

These apartments are quite basic but served our purposes well. They were pretty clean and tidy, with the rooms serviced every 2nd day. For our party of 4, we asked for adjoining rooms and a pool view; we did get the pool view with adjacent rooms, which actually ended up being ok. This complex is located on the aptly nick named " cardiac hill ", so if you can't muster a 150 yd steep incline to the entrance, this hotel might not be best placed for you. It is, nonetheless located very close to the beach and is very central for bars, pubs and restaurants. The pool area is quite small considering the number of appts in the complex, and we were quite fortunate to get 2 rooms in a good location. The only downside was that our bedroom window faced onto cardiac hill itself, and due to the heat overnight ( it never seemed to drop below 20 overnight and was quite humid also and the rooms don't have A/C) we left the bedroom window open, only to get woken in the early hours of the morning by the chatter of other holidaymakers. It wasn't as if it was boisterous or shouting, just seemed to be louder than normal conversation, but it still kept us awake !!!. However, I got the impression that there will be a number of rooms that have no direct view of the pool or indeed the beach, but in these cases the balconies seemed mostly to be south facing so should get a fair amount of daytime sunshine( and won't face onto cardiac hill). The small but seemingly well attended bar / snack bar served what looked good standard food of generous portions. We only ate breakfast on the last day here, but that was freshly cooked and tasty. Overall, these appts in general are a bit tired looking and would benefit from a bit upgrading, and other reviewers are spot on with the state of some of the sun loungers, that really could be doing with being replaced. However, if your not looking for anything fancy but to be based in a pretty good central location,these appts should do you fine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

Would have gave a better review had the cockroach's stayed in there hide out until the day before we left. what a nightmare, we should have guest with the last occupiers leavening a can of cockroach spray in the room.it is a shame as the apartments are quite big and great for a budget holiday. I would have loved to have gone back,rven though i like to travel to different places. However it was enougth chasing cockroaches twice in a day and something i dont want to do on holiday. I cant thank the last people in room 265 enougth for leaving the spray.cardiac hill was not that bad, it was worse going downhill in high heels. The beach is great with crystal clear water. To be honest staff are great and I would go back if I was garanteed no cockroaches in my room.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave&Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel/apartment was clean friendly and welcoming, with a nice clean pool bar and pool area. The rooms were spacious & again clean if a little dated but if you've come on holiday to experience the resort, the room will not be a problem.

Everything was close by no more than a 2-3 minute walk to the shops & beach and a small walk to the marina. There are plenty of tours and sight seeing whilst in the resort which should keep everybody entertained.

The only downside of this apartment is situated on a hill which was alittle much walkIng up in the heat, but apart from that its very good value for money :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Morana Apartments
Morana Apartments
#53 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
Apartamentos Isla de Lobos
#40 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Los Fariones Hotel
Los Fariones Hotel
#15 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#33 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princesa Ico Apartments
Princesa Ico Apartments
#58 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Kontiki Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Kontiki Club

Property: Apartamentos Kontiki Club
Address: Calle Guanapay 5, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Kontiki Club 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Kontiki Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Sea Kontiki Club Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Kon Tiki Hotel
Apartamentos Kontiki Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing