We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely return!”
Review of Club Oceano

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Club Oceano
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Great holiday overall. Although rooms very basic the complex is spotlessly clean and managed superbly. Good facilities, brilliant bar and food at very reasonable prices. In total exactly got the relaxing, value for money holiday we needed!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickie71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 245 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

We needed to arrange accommodation for 9 days in Lanzarote at very short notice, and wifi availablity was important. From the providers of apartments that rated well on Tripadvisor, I chose Ocean Club Holidays as it is UK-based, to ensure our stay was secure. The firm put together a deal with two nights in its Costa Luz apartments followed by a week at the Club Oceano - excellent telephone and email communications. As will be clear from other reviews, at this time of year the market is for longer stays, mainly retired British people, with many returning several times - try elsewhere if you are seeking something more cosmopolitan.

Club Oceano is located a short walk from the seafront and the beaches- I see others have commented that the walk back is steep, but I think that perhaps they needed the exercise (there does seem to be a high Body Mass Index tariff to qualify for a holiday in Lanzarote these days). The accommodation is on two side of the two pools, the larger of which is big enough for serious swimming. Our one-bed apartment was spacious. In the kitchen, as well as an electric hob, you get an oven (which is less common these days) - but, oddly, no microwave.

The television service to the flat screen TV has to be rented at extra cost. The channels are the main UK ones (includes BBC News 24 but not channel 5). The system is odd. It must originally be some sort of digital feed but it is processed to something that looks like poor analogue. In the process, the picture format on some (but not all) channels is squeezed from the original 16:9 format into 4:3, making everyone look very skinny. I couldn't find a way to change it on the set, and there was no response to a request to adjust it. There is also Sky TV in the bar.

The wifi at extra cost, which worked fine in the room most of the time - is good enough for emails, browsing and (most of the time) radio channels.

The hot water in our apartment came from an individual electric water heater on the bathroom. The hot water flow is variable, so a shower keeps changing from hot to tepid and back again. I am guessing that this is a function of the pressure regulating system found in mains-pressure water heaters.

I was concerned by some clearly sub-standard wiring to the water heater, and emailed Ocean Club Holidays about it. This was fixed the same day - great response, but why was it badly done and not sorted in the first place?

Reception staff were friendly and helpful. There is ample free parking on the nearby roads if you have hired a car. Puerto Del Carmen has a one-way system on many of its roads, and you need to pay attention to the instructions on how to get to the property.

The official rating is just one key, but that shouldn't put you off. We'd certainly consider the same place for a future Lanzarote holiday.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is our 4th time in 4 years at these apartments and it won't be our last. Very warm welcome from all the staff. Both the apartment and the complex are maintained to a very high standard. Very handy for both the strip or the old town. A smaller complex which is laid back and relaxing. Fantastic value for money.
The only negative I would say is that they have recently installed wifi in the complex which is chargeable, that is ok but you have to buy access in 5 day blocks, so if your staying 7 days you need to pay for 10!!!!
Anyway, hope someone at Club Oceano will read this and take it as constructive criticism as in every other way I highly rate this place and we will be returning.

Room Tip: The bedroom in the apartments above reception back on to a fairly busy road and can be a little nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALANMURF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Just arrived back on 20/10/2013 after a 10 day stay, our first visit, definately not our last. All the reviews I read were so good that I was a little sceptical and started looking at other apartments, but kept being drawn back to Oceano, so glad I did. We were the only ones staying there that had not visited before. We were the newbee's and soon everyone had taken us under their wing with advise and recommendations for the area. This complex was the most friendly place I have ever stayed at, other guests and staff could not do enough for us, and the apartments were excellent, clean and spacious. This will be the first place ,ever, my family will return to, and soon. I know reviews should have two sides , good and not so good, but I am struggling with the not so good, and as my wife would confirm , that's a very BIG first for me. Big thanks to all the staff and guests a truly memorable holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Raymond067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed here for the 2nd week of Sept. The apartments were lovely and clean and the staff were very friendly. Location is good once you can climb the hill (my exercise for the day).
However, the downside was having to pay €15 just to get the television turned on and €13 to hire a hairdryer for the week, In all the years l have been going to Puerto Del Carmen l have to say this is the first time l have ever been asked to pay for these extra's.
My only other complaint is that the outside gate is locked @ 9pm and you are given a key, however on one occasion we arrived back at the apartments to find we couldn't get back in, 4 other couples had the same problem, luckily enough one of them knew somebody living locally who called the local police for us and they were able to break the lock. when we reported this to reception the following morning thay didnt seem very concerned that the number provided outside went unanswered or that it could have been a woman on there own that was locked out.

Room Tip: We were in Apartment no. 12, Up the top and quiet a few steps to climb, friends were in no. 7 which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiej2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here from 6th-20th Sept, this is the second time we have stayed at these apartments and yet again they did not fail to impress! Perfect location, near both the old and new town depending what you fancy doing, apartments spotless, pool bar fab with very friendly English staff! Didn't want to come home!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haylznicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed at Club Oeano Apts Sept 6th to 13th, and I have to say they are excellent. We have been to Lanzarote many times and this was complex was the best we have stayed in. The staff were very friendly and it was great being able to get a cool beer and a snack at the poolside bar. It was only a very short walk to the seafront and all its Restaurants and bars.We will be booking again for next year. Alan & Joan Dublin Ireland.

Room Tip: We had a room just up the steps from the pool where there is a sun terrace right out side your door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan_odonoghue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0 mi away
Princesa Ico Apartments
Princesa Ico Apartments
#60 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
62 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
788 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Panorama
Apartamentos Panorama
#26 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
403 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Luz Apartments
Costa Luz Apartments
#39 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
132 reviews
0.2 mi away
LABRANDA Los Cocoteros
LABRANDA Los Cocoteros
#20 of 71 in Puerto Del Carmen
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Oceano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Oceano

Address: Calle Alcorce 3, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $68 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Club Oceano 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Club Oceano is perfectly located in a quiet yet central part of Puerto del Carmen. It is just 300 metres to the beachfront promenade, so just a few minutes’ walk to the main beach, shops, restaurants and bars. For those who know Puerto del Carmen, it is conveniently located just up from the middle of the Los Fariones main beach. The Old Town is also only a short walk away and is a good way of sampling some of the local atmosphere with its many fish restaurants. You can see the exact location on our Google location map. · Distance from Airport – 15 minutes by Taxi · Distance to beach, restaurants, shops and bars – about 300 metres or 4 minutes walk. · Distance to ‘Old Town’ – about 750 metres or 10 minutes walk. Club Oceano complex Club Oceano is made up of 40 spacious apartments built in an L-shape around two heated swimming pools, a luxurious jaccuzzi and a large sun terrace, well stocked with sun loungers and sunshades. There is a large pool with easy access via roman steps and a children’s pool, both of which are heated, both electrically and by solar heating. The swimming pools are low chloride fresh water infinity pools for maximum enjoyment and relaxation. There is a further sun terrace with beds and shades overlooking the pool area on a mezzanine level, with some lovely gardens filled with tropical plants. There is also a stylish poolside private bar with great food, flat screen satellite TVs, pool table and internet access. The bar is a focal point of the complex where you can relax and have a drink, meal or snack by the infinity pool. Club Oceano has a reception open during the day, with full services at your disposal. Club Oceano continues to attract the same guests season after season, year after year and we are proud of this repeat business. · Large heated infinity pool with access by roman steps · Children’s pool · Luxurious jaccuzzi · Plenty of sun loungers and sun shades, on a spacious sun terrace. · Poolside Bar and restaurant. · Full reception services. Your apartment accommodation. We have one bedroom apartments, two bedroom apartments and linked one bedroom apartments. Linked one bedroom apartments are 2 x 1 bedroom apartments next to each other, which have an internal connecting double door. When opened, these create a large two bedroom apartment, with two bathrooms and two living rooms. The second living room can be used as a 3rd bedroom, making linked apartments very popular with large groups and suitable for larger families, with young children. We have apartments upstairs and downstairs. Many have sea views and nearly all overlook the pool. Please note that, although we do take requests for specific apartments or locations, we can never guarantee any specific apartment or location. A typical one bedroom apartment has a comfortable living room with sofa and armchair, leading onto an attractive patio or balcony with outside table and chairs. All apartments are fully set up for self-catering with fully fitted kitchens, including oven, four ring hob, toaster, kettle and all necessary kitchen equipment. The bathrooms have bath with in-bath shower, bidet, sink with marble surround and W.C. Beds in the bedroom can be made as double or twin and all bathroom towels and bed linen are provided. There is a towel change and maid service once during the week and linen change once a week. Iron and ironing board is supplied. All apartments have a flatscreen TV with access to English channels, including, BBC1, BBC2, ITV, Channel 4, a news channel and a children’s channel. The TV is payable and access is gained via the reception locally. Each apartment has a telephone, safe and plug-in broadband internet access (please bring your own hardware). Again, these are payable locally. · 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and linked ‘3 bedroom’ apartments · Payable English TV and internet access. · Fully fitted kitchens. · Double or twin beds Booking notes · Completely flexible changeover day. · Completely flexible duration. · £80 per week (or part week) deposit for 1 bedroom apartments · Balance due no later than 9 weeks before departure. · Please note: 4 sharing is only allowed if 2 are children and both 12 years old or under. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Oceano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Oceano Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Club Oceano Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing