We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apartments Parque Tropical
Ranked #31 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Could be better!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

This hotel could be so much better.
I contacted the hotel for a room upstairs in advance. I didn't get though they told me they would solve it a couple of days after we arrived. The communication with the reception was poor with tired staff.

I had to pay for TV, I had to pay for worthless wifi connection. Though I payed for it I couldn't use the wifi on 2 devices at the same time.

When we arrived to our room, practically in the basement the room was quite nice and tidy. BUT, after 5 minutes I heard my mom screaming from the kitchen. A tiny mouse ran over the kitchen floor. Not so tidy after all...

Along came a janitor and spray killed the mouse under the sink. So, the next guests after us will probably feel the smell of dead mouse.

The only thing that was really good was the cleaning service. Very nice.

If they improve and listen to their customers they could become a good hotel...

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Gatopardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    205
    60
    19
    15
See reviews for
159
274
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was my 3rd return to this complex. I booked direct with the apartments(no agent), was travelling with 3 friends to celebrate my birthday. Having been here before I requested an apartment in a specific block due to noise levels and not wanting a ground floor, however on arrival was giving the worst apartment possible, basement, on the road side next to the night gate and the cleaners room..... I did advise that I was very unhappy with this as had requested months in advance a specific room location, Peter the guy on reception was apologetic and on reading previous views I can see possibly the reason I was not given the requested room, due to issues with the Apartments owners.

All of the above besides these are fantastic apartments, pool was great, no race for sunbeds however still the same reserving taking place and then the beds not being used. Apartments clean, towels changed 3 times in the week with everything you could need for self catering.

Apartments are 2 min walk from the strip and centro atlantico along the side road. We had another fantastic time here and will definitely return.

I would recommend these to anyone my only issue with the basement rooms is there is absolutely no ventilation, you can't leave the window / door open for safety reasons and therefore the entire room is damp always, our clothes where damp, the bedding was damp, even our boarding passes where wet!

Pros - Central, clean, friendly staff, supermarket across the road,

Cons - basement room , dampness, noise level

Room Tip: Specify no basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ton7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I would love to be able to review this accommodation, but although I booked over 4 months in advance I received an email from the manager of the apartments 48 hours before I was due to leave UK to advise me that they had cancelled my booking!! He explained that one of the 2 owners had sold off several of the rooms to another company who were paying more than the booking agent (alpharooms) I had used. He went on the explain that he would be disappointing a lot of other customers until April, so if you have booked these apartments be aware you may be in a similar position to us.
Upside is they booked us into some lovely apartments across the road Cinco Plazas which were lovely but a very large complex with very very cold pools and food not to my british taste as it is a Scandanavian hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Janine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our second visit to the Parque Tropical and it did'nt disappoint. We asked for the same apartment as we had before but this was unavailable, so we were given an adjacent apartment which was just as good. We booked a three week holiday covering both Christmas and the New Year, the first time we had been away at this time of year. Everything was good from check in to check out and as ever all the staff were friendly and helpful. This really is an exceptional complex with the two pools, pool bar and the wonderful 'Nicos' restaurant on site. I couldn't find any fault. This is my second review of this complex and it seems more attractive than ever. The only down side is the television stations provided which for me were only Sky news and nothing else. Can't wait to go back again!

Room Tip: Rooms 30 plus are at the back but get a first floor apartment to get the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graeme s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Lack of sun beds. Not suitable for young children. Not clean 2 out of 10 for cleaning very poor. Even the grounds were Filty. May suit young part couple. Staff not great on customer service. Was dissatisfied.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drammen, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We were a little disappointed when we got here, but that's just because it has such great reviews on tripadvisor - so we didn't take in that it actually is a three star hotel. When we realised this we ended up being satisfied. The most important thing is: It was clean, had everything we needed, wasn't far away from the beach/main street, and had a supermarket just over the road.

Sunbathing:
The sunbeds both in the balcony and at the pool was good. There wasn't any problem getting sunbeds by the pool, since it wasn't allowed to "reserve" - yet there was someone that did this anyway.
The beach is also really close, so you can go there as well. We didn't, so I can't say so much about that.

Shopping:
As said, there was a supermarket beside the hotel, and there was two more not that far away (less than 5 min walking).
There are plenty souvernir-shops, so I suggest you go around and look at what you want before you shop, because you can save a money by doing that. Remember to bargain!
We recommend the Tequise Market on sundays, we went with Last Minute travels both sundays we were there. Was so lucky that one of the times the lady who talked in front of the bus gave us some history about the island. Remember to bargain hard when you're at the market!
There are more markeds on the Island, you can get more information about them at the Information at the beach. We went one time to Playa Blanca. It was okay, but Tequise was much larger.

Information about anything:
There is a official information station just by the beach when you walk down the road from Parque Tropical, to the left and on the beach-side of the road. You can't miss it. They will give you almost any information you need, bus-information and such, and they have great maps you can get. Doesn't cost you anything since its official.

More about the apartment:
It had anything you needed to make breakfast, and even dinner if you want to. So if you're on a budget vacation it's really good. We enjoyed it much. Can eat breakfast on the balcony also. The bedroom had to separate beds, we didn't notice that in the description about the hotel until we got there and had to check.
The showers had good pressure (some hotels have bad showers, this one didn't, I think it's good to know that you can wash off soap and such), so that was also good. Was a little bit cold-warm-cold-warm sometimes, but not too bad.


Also, just for your information: There are some flyers laying around with travels that are pretty cheap (Scandiavian travels, atlanta travels). They are good when you are on a budget, but be informed that you have to listen to a presentation about wool. Ofcourse there is something fishy when it's so cheap, but then again: if you are on a budget vacation it wont hurt to listen to something for an hour or three to get some of the journeys pretty cheap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beritkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We booked this holiday about a week or 2 beforehand with a package holiday company (I think it was sunway.ie). It worked out to be very reasonably priced with flights and transport from the airport to the accommodation itself.

The apartment itself was spotless, we requested one upstairs just in case there was a chance of any creepy crawlies! I would recommend people ask for an upstairs one. There was a fan in the kitchen/living area and one in the bedroom. Since it was so hot at night and we went in late August/early September we kept the fan on all night at a low setting. I'd imagine if it was June/July the highest setting would definitely be required!

Location wise it is so close to just EVERYTHING. We were very happy with that. Right across from a supermarket which was very reasonable (baguettes for 38c) so had fresh bread every morning! It's about a 5 minute walk from the main strip, if even, so restaurants and bars are only a 5 minute walk yet the 5 minutes away also made it quiet at night - we were never woken up with noise on the street or loud music. It's also about 5 minutes from the beach.

We went to the beach a few times but found the sand to be a bit too hot to bear walking on so spent most days using the pool in the apartments which was just perfect for relaxing and tanning and having a jump in the pool.

As my boyfriend and I were 19 at the time, we went looking for a relaxing couples sun holiday, but also wanted there to be some nightlife, as in bars and clubs. Plenty of bars with really good cocktail deals, I think a place called 'Africa' had a happy hour and you got 2 cocktails for €5!

Wifi cost €20 which we did pay, although you were only allowed log in with the code to one device at a time. There was a safe in the room which you could pay a deposit for, but we chose not to.

Security wise is another reason I would recommend being upstairs, I think I personally just felt safer! The maid came nearly every day (I don't actually remember)

All in all, I would definitely recommend this complex to everyone! Perfect for young couples as we were, perfect for families and there were plenty of older couples too (as in 40-50s, no offence made it's just we're such a young couple ourselves anybody 30+ to us is considered old!)

Room Tip: request one upstairs with a pool veiw
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Róisín C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#13 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plaza Azul
Plaza Azul
#40 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Atlantis Las Lomas
Atlantis Las Lomas
#35 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#12 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#11 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Parque Tropical? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Parque Tropical

Property: Apartments Parque Tropical
Address: Calle Anzuelo, 7, 35570 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Parque Tropical 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parque Tropical is a small complex of 80 apartments in the heart of Puerto del Carmen. It is used mainly by couples and families, who want to be in the centre of things but at the same time relax in the calm atmosphere of this friendly and clean establishment which was totally refurbished in May 2007.All apartments have pool, sea or garden view from terrace or balcony. Two ecofriendly pools , reception 24 hours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Apartments Parque Tropical reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Parque Tropical Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartments Parque Tropical Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing