We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lanzarote holiday”
Review of LABRANDA El Dorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
LABRANDA El Dorado
Ranked #39 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Reviewed September 3, 2013

just back from el dorado loved it perfectly placed near beaches shops etc, staff great agree with other reviews life guard 6 out of 5 could not have been better 2 nice pools many food outlets nearby will return definately we had garden appartment b9 everything perfect fish resteraunts
in the harbour are great 10 mins walk or walk out the top entrance and get the 61 to playa blanca
and ferry to fuertaventura , great cooker in the appartment glad to say never used it once huge variation of resteraunts nearby yes certain things are extra but not much a few euros on holiday to make you feel at home, i would gladly have paid in places i have stayed with no uk or irish channels

Room Tip: have your own garden appartment you can sun yourself in private
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmusan, Director Comercial at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear customer, thank you for your opinion, has been very constructive and will help us improve our services in installments. Hope to see you again in our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (569)
There are newer reviews for LABRANDA El Dorado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

347 - 353 of 569 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in June 2013. I had read the reviews before we went saying how central these apartments were. When we stayed I realised how accurate the reviews were. The cleaniness is also worth mentioning. Towards the end of the holiday I just met the ladies who looked after our apartment at the front door to change our towels, as they had cleaned the place so thoroughly every other day. And the facility of having your freshly baked goodies from the bakery delivered to your door if ordered the night before was heaven. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the apartment block by the pool bar on the second floor will have an excelent view and more...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie_1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Dear madam/sir,

We would like to thank you for your extensive and positive feedback as it will surely help future guests to get an overall idea of the hotel.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here in August. Poor service when checking in. Had reserved a room with a sea view, got a room on the ground floor looking out at the pool bar. When questionning it, I was told that I had to take it up with the booking agent and there was nothing they could do. In the end, accepted the room as we had no other choice as we were travelling with young children and it was late at night.

Rooms are never cleaned properly. Utensils are minimal, we are a family of 4, but only 2 knives, forks and spoons. No cleaning equipment such as a dustpan and brush. Only two chairs on the terrace. This was rectified though once we requested more chairs. Towels were changed regular, which was, apart from the lifeguard, the only good thing about these apartments.

Cecilio, the lifeguard was a joy. He kept the kids entertained every day and was a very friendly guy. He made up games, showed them magic tricks and even taught our Son some karate moves! He is definately an asset to the apartments.

Would not recommend or stay here again unless the rooms were updated and cleaned properly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Dear madam/sir,

We would like to thank you for your extensive and positive feedback as it will surely help future guests to get an overall idea of the hotel.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here in Aug . Simply put the hotel is not upto to scratch. Poor staff , facilities and hygiene. Your instantly hit with added extras at check in aircon, tv, safe. Found cock roaches 2 days into our stay and got rid of them. Next day there was more so reported it to reception, I was told they were coming through the door/window even though it was clear they were coming up through a crack in the bath (therefor they wouldnt change our apartment for us). After the 3rd case of cockroaches we were moved to a new apartment which was no better, so went to reception handed them the keys and moved hotel. Reception were unapologetic and unfazed.

Everything about this hotel is tired , the apartments, pools and attitude to customer service

Room Tip: Avoid anything facing the side with the shopping centre.. To be honest just avoid this hotel
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gatsby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmusan, Director Comercial at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Dear Customer, I appreciate your opinion as it's always useful to improve our services and facilities. Unfortunately the cockroach problem exists in Puerto del Carmen because of the heat. Our hotel is constantely fumigated and disinfected, but we can not control cockroaches coming from outside from the street. In any case, we tried to do everything possible to solve the problem by changing the apartment. Our staff informed me that they found in the first apartment you were 2 cockroaches , but in the second there was none. Anyway sorry for your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed here in August. The reception staff are very slow at checking people in to their rooms. You have to pay extra for air conditioning, a safe, pool towels and if you want a tv this is also extra. We stayed in room 201, which is in the far corner of the complex, adjacent to the street. There are a number of steps to climb to get to this part of the complex. Across the road is the popular Island Bar which plays live music till the early hours of the morning which meant where we were staying really loud. The air conditioning is in the living area, which means if you want to have a cool bedroom so you can sleep you need to leave your bedroom door open. The apartment was grubby and in need of repair. The balcony was absolutely filthy and needed a good clean with a sweeping brush and a mop. It seemed as though it had never been cleaned, there was bird crap everywhere, the balcony barrier is very low and would not be safe if you have children.
On our second day we found a large cockroach in the bathroom, my partner managed to get rid of it. When we returned from the pool area that evening there was another two cockroaches in the bathroom, and numerous baby cockroaches in the bath. We immediately went to reception and reported this. The room had supposedly been cleaned that morning by the cleaners. They refused to move us and sent the maintenance guy to check the apartment and spray. He said he had sprayed very powerful insecticide and we would have no more issues. We decided to remove all our belongings from the bathroom, and kept our toiletries and all in the kitchen area. We kept the bathroom door and window closed constantly as we were told they were flying in from the street. We bought insecticide spray in the supermarket to have ourselves and sprayed constantly. Every time we needed to use the bathroom e had to check it thoroughly.
Two days later after returning from dinner out at approx 10:30 in the evening we discovered baby cockroaches in the bath tub again two large ones on the walls. It was obvious to us there was an issue internally and they were not coming from outside. We immediately went to reception, who were surprised by this and wondered if we had reported it before. We told them this was the third time and we were not staying there anymore, they seemed to have trouble allocating us a room that didn't have cockroach problems. They gave us the key for a bungalow B8 where we were told to move. We had to return to the apartment with the cockroaches, pack up all our belongings, and move at approx 11pm in the evening with no offer of help from the hotel! We had the same issue of baby cockroaches in the bungalow B8 also, so immediately we got on the internet and checked in to another hotel, we explained this to reception that we refused to stay another night, it was uncleanly and we left El Dorado at 11:50pm on the second last night of our holiday.
The whole experience from start to finish was in now way relaxing. I think the cost to stay here is way over priced, it is by no means 3 key rating. The staff seem to spend more time cleaning a sweeping the grounds rather than looking after the interiors of the apartments. I have stayed in numerous apartments in PDC before and have never ever had to stay in a cockroach infested room. I urge you not to stay here as you will be disappointed!

Room Tip: All rooms need to be cleaned and upgraded!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Josephine_Duddley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones Públicas at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Dear Josephine,

We would like to thank you for your stay with us and your feedback. We have taken note of your comments in order to improve our service.

We apologize if during your stay at any time the service has not been as expected.

Kind regards,

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely holiday here from start to finish. We booked 2 rooms for our stay and were given interconnecting rooms which was a bonus (2 bathrooms, 2 kitchens, 2 balconies etc). The rooms were spacious, clean and we had a lovely view of the pool and sea. Both pools were great, plenty of sunbeds most days, maids were plesant and the hotel and gardens well maintained by the hardworking staff. The hotel is in a great position inbetween the marina and the strip. Everything is close by. We stayed bed and breakfast which we would definitely reccomend! The staff Jaen, Elvira and the young man who greeted us at breakfast time were fantastic and nothing was too much. My whole family would reccomend the omlettes! Compliments to the chef! We also used the bar area of the restaurant during the day if we'd been by the pool where it was happy hour from 2pm. We should have tried the restaurant for an evening meal. We'd definitely visit again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rex M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Dear madam / sir,

We would like to thank you for your friendly comment. Feedback helps us to improve our services and we are pleased to read that we have met your expectations.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We are just back from a 1 week stay at El Dorado apartments and we were generally impressed with the place. We had the basic 1 bed apartment but even this had ample space and was well looked after. We had a LCD tv, big balcony, well equipped kitchen area and bathroom with two sinks.
The staff were helpful and friendly and did their best to answer any queries.
The grounds were very well looked after with clean pools and tidy walk ways. Also we felt quite safe with key cards being a requirement to gain access to the complex
Just a couple of negatives, although the apartment was cleaned regularly the floor was never once cleaned and we had no brush or mop to do it ourselves either which was irritating. The only other thing were 3 cockroaches that appeared one night. But this was no big deal really and they were not seen again.
Over all a very enjoyable experience and would recommend it to others!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 86Ladam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones Públicas at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2015

Dear madam/sir,

We would like to thank you for your extensive and positive feedback as it will surely help future guests to get an overall idea of the hotel.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,

The hotel management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#14 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel THB Flora
Hotel THB Flora
#37 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
760 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
600 reviews
0.3 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#77 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA El Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA El Dorado

Address: Calle Graciosa 3-7, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $86 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — LABRANDA El Dorado 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos El Dorado are situated in Puerto del Carmen, less than 500 metres from the beach. The complex features well-equipped apartments, gardens and an outdoor swimming pool. The El Dorado complex is located in the centre of Puerto del Carmen and 10 minutes' drive from Tias. The apartments are a 20-minute drive from Timanfaya National Park and less than 7km from Lanzarote airport. Facilities at El Dorado include a restaurant serving tapas and international dishes. It also has a cocktail bar and snack bar. Apartments at the El Dorado complex are spacious and have a living room with sofa bed and satellite TV. Kitchens feature an oven, fridge and coffee-maker. Air conditioning, central heating and a safe are available for an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your LABRANDA El Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
El Dorado Puerto Del Carmen
El Dorado Lanzarote
LABRANDA El Dorado Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing