We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Apartments, Great Location”
Review of LABRANDA El Dorado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LABRANDA El Dorado
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Apartments, Great Location”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We stayed at the El Dorado for one week in April 2012. We stopped in a two-bedroom Bungalow (B1). The apartment was very spacious with two bedrooms. Bedroom One had an ensuite with shower etc. With a second family bathroom and bathtub/toilet etc. Spacious living/kitchen area with a fantastic balcony which had a great view over the "general" pool and the sea which was great to relax on and be able to keep an eye on the children if they were at the pool. We liked the apartment very much: it provided space to relax both inside and outside with great views to both pool areas and the ocean still having its own privacy due to some palm trees between the apartment and the pools. I would highly recommend selecting one of these two bed bungalows, B1 was fantastic but I suspect B2, B3 or B4 would be good especially if you are travelling with children (just keep in mind there is a drop from the balcony, as the wall surrounding the balcony is very low, although this never caused us a problem with our 2 year old you just need to be aware).

The hotel grounds were beautiful with lots of space and free sun loungers in both pool areas. Pools where cleaned daily with the only complaint being that the heating had been switched off at the end of March and the pools where very cold.

The location of the hotel was perfect: on the border of the old town/harbour and the new town/beach strip and next to the shopping centre. There is only a couple of minutes’ walk to both the old town and to the strip. There are many good restaurants in the old town/harbour but I would recommend 2 above all being La Bodega which is down the main road leading to the Old town from the rear hotel entrance and the Italian La Casa del Parmigiano which is just out the main hotel entrance towards the strip and turn right down the hill. If you like snorkelling or diving, I’d highly recommend Playa chica, small beach closest to the hotel which even if you just like a relax is great and very safe for Children.

In conclusion: perfect location, spacious rooms with good views, beautiful grounds.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Wilko748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this review, October 30, 2015
Dear madam/sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken note of your suggestions and would like to thank you for comments, as it helps us to improve our services.


Kind regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    205
    84
    35
    18
See reviews for
157
249
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We had a wonderful stay and are looking forward to going back.
The apartment was well presented and clean and the views were lovely from the balcony.We had so much space. The only down was the microwave - oven- grill which is far to high up and as I am not 6ft I found getting hot food out was a bit iffy.
The heated pool by the bar was fantastic and eventhough the weather was not to warm the water temperature was always very pleasant.
The staff were pleasant and helpful and the whole place looks well maintained

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lynian321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this review, October 30, 2015
Dear madam/sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken note of your suggestions and would like to thank you for comments, as it helps us to improve our services.


Kind regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Stayed 1 week in Jan 2012. As said by others before: location excellent and grounds and complex very well kept - saw maintenance staff working every day on the upkeep of the whole place, spacious apartment (just starting to need a bit of TLC). Beds very firm and not sure if apartment safe would take a full sized laptop. Reception staff friendly and helpful - wifi available for €10 per week, but I found this to be unreliable at times. No on site parking plenty on streets around but could imagine this would become difficult when resort busy. All-in-all would happily stay here if we return to PDC.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nogbadthebadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this review, October 30, 2015
Dear madam/sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken note of your suggestions and would like to thank you for comments, as it helps us to improve our services.


Kind regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Good location between old & new town. Good sized apartment with balcony with side screens to protect from the near constant breeze/wind. Apartment had full sized stove & hob (but no microwave), fridge & free flat screen TV. Very good level of cleanliness of apartments & very well maintained grounds with 2 pools, a bar & gardens of palms, cacti & succulents. The onsite resaurant was closed but the Eldorado is close to several supermarkets & many restaurants. Our apartment was at the back of the site with a road behind, but that posed no noise problem. The balcony ahd sun from morning to night, with a view to sea & mountains. Very impressed with the standard of this site.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaymanHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

i enjoyed my stay here and cant say a bad word about the place, rooms were spotless and staff were friendly. Not to far to walk to any of the main attraction. I will stay here again if i go back to lanzarote.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this review, October 30, 2015
Dear madam/sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken note of your suggestions and would like to thank you for comments, as it helps us to improve our services.


Kind regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at the El Dorado for one week in January 2012. We paid for one-bedroom apartment but were upgraded to a two-bedroom Bungalow (B3). The apartment itself was very spacious with two bedrooms with terraces towards the “adult” pool area, two bathrooms with showers (one did not have warm water) and bathtub, spacious living/kitchen area with a large terrace towards the “kids” pool area and with a an ocean view. Although the furniture and kitchen area were in good condition, the room itself would have needed renovation. Parts of floor tiles were missing, mirrors were partly broken, there were pieces of wall missing from the corners, etc. In addition, floors were not clean: socks were always full of dust when walking in the room. Furthermore, there was a renovation of the apartment roofs ongoing, and due to this the painters were doing the renovation on and next to our terrace during most of the week distracting our privacy. Despite of these problems, we liked the apartment very much: it provided space to relax both inside and outside with great views to both pool areas and the ocean still having its own privacy due to some palm trees between the apartment and the pools. Furthermore, traffic noise was not a problem with this apartment due to its central location in the hotel plan. I would highly recommend selecting one of these central bungalows, preferably B2, B3 or B4 – especially if you are travelling with children.

The hotel grounds were, as said earlier, well maintained and very beautiful. There was lots of space and free sun loungers in both pool areas. Our kids were the only ones that we saw using the kid’s pool during our whole stay. Pools were heated and cleaned properly. Hotel also had small children’s playground. Entrance to both the streets in front and at the back of the hotel was handy. Although safe, the entrance in the back of the hotel was not very easy to use, especially not when walking with two strollers: you first have to open the first door with the key card, then close it, and then open the next one.

The location of the hotel was perfect: in the border of the old town/harbour and the new town/beach strip and next to the Biosphera shopping centre. In my mind, there are only a few (if none) hotels with better location than this in Puerto del Carmen. There is only a couple of minutes walk to both the old town and to the new beach strip. There are many good restaurants both in the old town/harbour and the beach strip. There are also some good restaurants along the way from the hotel back entrance to the old town (i.e. very close to the hotel). If you like to eat breakfast in a restaurant, please note that the restaurants in the old town do not open until 10.00 – 10.30 am. Some restaurants open at 09.00 at the new beach strip. Before this, you can get breakfast from the Biosphera cafe on the entrance floor (max 2 mins walk from the hotel) which opens at 08.30 am. If you like snorkeling or diving, I’d highly recommend Playa chica, small beach closest to the hotel.

In conclusion: perfect location, spacious rooms with good views, beautiful grounds, would badly need renovation.

Room Tip: Two bedroom bungalows between the two pool areas (especially B2-B4) are not only very spacious, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vald78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this review, October 30, 2015
Dear madam/sir,

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken note of your suggestions and would like to thank you for comments, as it helps us to improve our services.


Kind regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Arrived at around 8pm on a tuesday evenin in June '11. No problem checking in, but me & my partner did have a hard job actually locating our apartment. We were given a map of the complex & directions which we thought were pretty straight forward. Were both in our twenties, fairly fit & street wise so thought it would be no problem. We spent 30 mins hauling suitcases up & down paths & steps before we actually found it, only it was bight in the evening i think we would still be trying to find it now!!

As reagrds location it was perfect,right between old town & new town. Theres a short cut to the old town if you come out the front door of the apartments turn right, walk down the hill & to the right head up a steep set of steps. It brings you out onto a street in the old town. Head to your right for the biosfere shopping centre (all your usual brands) or go left to head into the old town.

Apartments itself were fine. Did notice when got in to them there were a lot of ants round the patio doors. We just used insect repellent & tea tree oil round the doors every night & never had any another real problem with them. When your abroad your going to come across insects etc that you don't find at home so don't be surprised to find the odd unusal thing. Our apartment was on the 2nd floor & over looked the pool and sea. Apartment was cleaned every day bar sat & sun i think. There are steep steps to the apartment so if your travelling with kids a groung floor apartment would probably be better. Complex is very safe, a key card is needed to enter the complex & there was always someone on reception.

There are hidden extras, you rent the safe,air con etc. We only rented the air con on the last night there as a heat wave had come, it was in the high 40's with no breeze & was extremely hot. We rented the air con at reception when we got back to the complex, after comin home from dinner that night about 12. When we actually got to the apartment & tried to use it-it would not work. The man on reception had'nt great english so there was no point in phoning down about it not working & with the heat we didnt want to go back outside so we just left it. We informed them when checking out the next morining about our problem & they gave us a straight refund-no questions asked.. which made me kind of wonder were we the only ones with this problem? The apartments are nice, they could do with a little updating but when your abroad the decor is always going to be different or maybe not as modern as your used to,even if they were'nt updated we'd still return.

Never had a problem getting a lounger at the pool which was great,the pool was lovely and the wee snack bar beside it was handy. There is another pool in the complex but we never used it.

Our flight was not till late in the evening the day we checked out and although our room was booked which meant we had to vacate it at 12 that morning, the complex kept our luggage for us, allowed us to use the facilites eg. pool etc for the rest of the day. We were then given the key to another apartment in which we were allowed to shower etc before we left which was great.

Only ate in the restaurant in the complex the day we were leaving for handiness, and it was lovely,were just sorry we didnt try it earlier!

All in all no real complaints,the el dorado is in a great loctaion,clean and tidy. Bar the ants (which we sorted out) and the air con we had no problems. It is more suited to famlies & couples.

Lovely stay and would def go back!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bailey017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
obdulia h, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at LABRANDA El Dorado, responded to this review, October 30, 2015
Dear madam/sir,

We would like to thank you for your extensive and positive feedback as it will surely help future guests to get an overall idea of the hotel.

We are looking forward to your next stay.

Kind regards,
The hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
0.2 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#15 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
1.1 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#14 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vista Mar Apartments
Vista Mar Apartments
#36 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
1.4 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Los Fariones Hotel
Los Fariones Hotel
#16 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA El Dorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA El Dorado

Property: LABRANDA El Dorado
Address: Calle Graciosa 3-7, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LABRANDA El Dorado 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartamentos El Dorado are situated in Puerto del Carmen, less than 500 metres from the beach. The complex features well-equipped apartments, gardens and an outdoor swimming pool. The El Dorado complex is located in the centre of Puerto del Carmen and 10 minutes' drive from Tias. The apartments are a 20-minute drive from Timanfaya National Park and less than 7km from Lanzarote airport. Facilities at El Dorado include a restaurant serving tapas and international dishes. It also has a cocktail bar and snack bar. Apartments at the El Dorado complex are spacious and have a living room with sofa bed and satellite TV. Kitchens feature an oven, fridge and coffee-maker. Air conditioning, central heating and a safe are available for an extra charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your LABRANDA El Dorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
El Dorado Puerto Del Carmen
El Dorado Lanzarote
LABRANDA El Dorado Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing