We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - good family accommodation.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of LABRANDA Playa Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LABRANDA Playa Club
Ranked #23 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
kildare,ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location - good family accommodation.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Over all very happy with our stay in Playa Club - the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is excellent, you literally walk out the door of the complex and you are on the main strip.So you can walk everywhere - it's a lovely walk along the seafront down to the old town harbour, stop for a bite to eat or a beer and stroll back and most importantly do it all with the sun shining - we were there for mid-term break late October and the weather was perfect, never went below 20 degrees,even at night. We had a second story two bedroom pool view apartment - the apartment is basic enough but is absolutely fine for holidays. However there is no washing machine. Our apartment was above a walkway and was a bit noisy in the morning when people were wheeling cases underneath us - I would go again but I think I would go with a garden view apartment - definitely quieter. I thought the cleaning of the apartments was excellent - I felt sorry for the lady who was doing our apartment because we went to the beach every day and we brought most of it home with us - the sand has unbelievable adhesion properties.
On the downside, the WiFi is really bad but you can to any bar or cafe on the strip and they all have Wifi so there's no problem. Also the lifeguards at the pool are unbelievably strict - basically for two boys aged 9 and 12 no fun allowed at all, no jumping, no inflatables etc etc so we went to the beach !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilywhite03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmusan, Director Comercial at LABRANDA Playa Club, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear customer, first thank you for your opinion because this always helps us to improve our services. I would just tell you that we are working and in very short time our wifi problem is solved. As for our lifeguard, this person follows the rules dictated and set by the tour operators we work with and that in turn are guided by national regulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    322
    124
    32
    24
See reviews for
299
290
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

From arrival until now ,,,,,just been told not allowed at eat a lemon ice lolly on my sunbed that I bought from pool side bar from the lady that finished her text message on her mobile whilst I stood and waited to pay !!!!!
But I can eat my ice lolly on the step next to me ????
Picture to follow ,,,,
So I get off my plastic white sunbed and sit on the step people around laughing the stupid situation ,, oh got to stop writing another person just dived in the shallow pool !!!! Oh and another ,,,, life guard still making sure I do not get off the step oh another person dives into the pool !!!!!
Life guard happy to watch them dive in all day . Oh did I not say it's against the rules to dive in ,,,,,,,
Finished my lolly did not drip any on me or the poolside floor with a huge squashed bug that the life guard has walked past for past few hours ,
She is happy watching people dive into pool now ,,,, but do not dare buy an ice lolly from their poolside bar you will be told to leave,
I will continue my experience of this place on my return in the meantime I am escaping to the bars etc outside as thirsty and not allowed a drink either by pool !!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmusan, Director Comercial at LABRANDA Playa Club, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear customer, I'm sorry that you're not enjoying your stay in our hotel, but we are happy that your only problem is this. In addition, we greatly appreciate constructive criticism, not those arising when somebody has been called attention for not respecting the rules of the hotel. The prohibition against eating and drinking in the area around the pool are due to a very specific reason, which is to keep all those areas cleaned, and other most important, avoid liquids that may cause a customer slipping and hurt. We prefer to have a review like yours than one for lack of hygiene and safety. In any case, we will take note of your complaint.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Irelands
Level Contributor
63 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We are just back from a week's stay in the Playa Club and really enjoyed our time here. We were greeted by very friendly staff, who on arrival informed us that even though we only booked a 1 bed, they would give us a two bed apartment! The apartment was excellent, very clean, spacious and had a sea view (I think it's possibly the only one with a sea view!) and the balcony was huge! My partner, who can be quite clumsy, lost her phone in between the airport and arriving, the staff got on the case straight away and located it with the taxi company, which was impressive, and we had the phone back the next day! The reception staff were very professional. That's actually a very good point.

The pool was big and never really overcrowded, and there are separate gardens for people that would like to lie out in peace. Also a small pool for children.

There is a spa on the premises and it's a great place to relax. I booked a massage for after a cycle but found it was a bit weak, so make sure you tell them if it's a sports massage you want!

Location is very good, opposite the casino and some decent bars/restaurants, and in between Matagorda and the old town.

I would stay here again if the price was right, it is expensive and there are lots of good accommodation for better value, but cannot fault it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EatinBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmusan, Director Comercial at LABRANDA Playa Club, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear customer, thank you very much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and I will pass your compliments to our staff. It's an honor to see that you appreciate our convenient location and services, and we hope you take into account these characteristics when considering the relation between value and services. We really hope to see you again in our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englanduk/
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Although we arrived late in the evening, the reception was friendly and welcoming. The only rain to be had fell that evening and came in through the window frame. Not a problem as it was all taken care of the following day.

The apartments are situated in a thoughtfully well laid out garden and the footpaths are well lit at night too.

In this situation there are many varied restaurants, bars and shops nearby so finding something to suite everyone will be easy. The old town is much further on a map than it is to walk and well worth the effort.

The complex is not too big and the facilities are not crowded but comfortable. If you hire a car there is not parking in the Hotel grounds but we had no problem finding a space outside the Hotel or very near without any parking restrictions.

So if you require a place to stay and base yourself somewhere to see the Island or just want to mosey in and around Puerto Del Carmen we would recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pricolist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have Been to Lanzarote (PDC) a few times now but this was the first time we tried SC, We picked these apartments partly on the reviews and partly on the location, we decided to try SC not because it would be any cheaper than the other options, HB/FB/All inc but because we wanted the freedom of the many types of restaurants available.

If your idea of self catering, like mine, is to eat out for every meal and just have a few drinks back at the apartment while getting ready to go out or a coffee first thing, with a good clean but admittedly basic accommodation then these have to be worth a look.

They are located opposite the casino with a good selection of bars and restaurants surrounding them, took us about 30 mins slow walk to reach the old town.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom deluxe with pool view, room number 250, great location and would recommend this area.

If I have any criticism of the apartments then it would be some basic maintenance would help out, our balcony walls could have done with repainting, a couple of cupboard could have done with being looked at but were still useable, again its nitpicking more than anything but I know some people find this unacceptable, the bed were OK but the pillows awful.

If you plan on going SC and also plan on cooking for your selves to cut costs down you might struggle, there was 1 frying pan, 1 sauce pan and 1 larger pan you might use for a stew one with handles on the side, also there was only plates, cup, glasses and cutlery for 3 people, also note there was a reasonable sized fridge freezer a microwave and 2 ring electric hob, a kettle and what appeared to be a coffee machine which we did not try.

The pool was a reasonable size and a nice kids pool, please note that no types of games or inflatables are allowed in the pool, while at the start of the holiday these rules were not strictly enforced, BUT after about 3 days a lot of people came to the apartments and really took advantage of the relaxed rules and started lifting their children above there heads while standing in the pool and hurling the kids 6 to 7 feet into the air so they could dive in, the lifeguards soon put a stop to this and everything else, to which people started moaning, however i am sure they would have been moaning even more if one of these kids had smashed their heads in on the pool floor!

Anyway i have rambled on enough, any questions just ask!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Blaupunkt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here from Oct 13th for a week. Big complex, 150 apartments almost. Well located and in walking distance of a lot of good restaurants and shops. Taxi to the old town is €3 and taxi rank is right outside.

No air con which is a bit of a negative but for the price you wouldn't expect it. I believe fans can be hired from reception.

Requested a upstairs apartment with a pool view 4 months in advance.
We got a garden view ground floor apartment at the back of the complex. In one sense, it's better to be away from the activity of the pool and screaming kids.

Had apt 121 which was a superior apartment. Probably worth a few extra quid.

Supermarket is very close. Not many English channels on telly but you can pay extra at reception to get them.

I did find one massive cockroach in my room one night, no idea where it came from but it was duly taken care of.

Have the usual nonsense of people booking loungers with towels early in the morning but seems to happen everywhere. Plenty of them to use anyway.

I would return. Decent value, well located and have everything you need.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank peterodonohoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had booked a 10 night stay here from the 11th September. We arrived in the evening after a long flight and we were told that there was a problem and that they arranged for us to stay in their sister hotel, Los Cocoteros. We were not told what this problem was, all we were told is that we could not stay. We were told they would give us free breakfast each morning, as a compensatory measure, but that we really had no choice but to stay in Los Cocoteros (We had paid in full upon booking).

We were very disappointed as we had booked these apartments in preference to Los Cocoteros (where the pool was smaller and the apartments were of a lesser standard). The free breakfast was of little benefit as it was 40 minutes of a return walk and we decided it wasn't worth the hassle to walk that far every day for breakfast, especially as we wanted the convenience of a self catering apartment.

We felt it was very unprofessional to spring this change of accommodation on us as soon as we arrived after a long flight. The reception could have contacted us prior to our arrival. It took away greatly from our holiday, which was a great pity. After this experience, we would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kingciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fmusan, Director Comercial at LABRANDA Playa Club, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear Customer. I am sorry that you didn't like LOS COCOTEROS . Actually it is my duty to apologize but unfortunately we had to make works that could not wait and that affected some of our customers including you. We would have preferred to keep you in our hotel. Being aware of this, we decided to offer breakfast in one of our hotels, higher category, 4 stars, which is just a 15 minute walk from LOS COCOTEROS. Regarding the fact of not having been warned before, the booking.com procedure says that we inform them, and booking and they will manage the relationship with their customers. I can show that an email was sent, telling about the problem and measures decided. Furthermore, we explained that you could cancel if you wanted, so I beg you contact with booking to clarify this point.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#7 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#28 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#8 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LABRANDA Playa Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LABRANDA Playa Club

Property: LABRANDA Playa Club
Address: Calle Pedro Barba 3, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#22 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — LABRANDA Playa Club 2*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LABRANDA Playa Club are just 50 metres away from the sea, and 150 metres from Puerto del Carmen's longest beach called "Playa Grande". This complex has 2 outdoor pools and a supermarket next to the complex seperated by a security door. The centre of Puerto del Carmen is less than 2 km away. The apartment complex has a 24-hour reception. There is also a restaurant serving à la carte menu and a buffet breakfast every day. Each spacious apartment is brightly decorated and has a balcony or terrace. There is a living area with satellite TV, a kitchenette and breakfast bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your LABRANDA Playa Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Club Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Playa Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Playa Club Lanzarote
Playa Resort Puerto Del Carmen
LABRANDA Playa Club Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing