We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the Top Apartments in Matagorda!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Villa Canaima
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Please read my review of 8th October 2013, everything written there stands today.
I totally disagree with the comments made by "Mr Grumpy" John S! Happy Hour starts at 1600hrs in the Winter and Finishes at 1700hrs..........Sharp! People have left the terrace by 1730hrs and at no time during my 6 week stay was I aware of any "Alcohol Induced Rowdiness", only people enjoying themselves. I suggest that anyone concerned with John S's very in-accurate report should take their holiday to a monastic retreat.
I have enough reviews on here from around the World and I think in all my reviews there is only one where I have been really disappointed.
I believe that if you report honestly and fairly on a property that your credibility will show through and I have worked in various areas of the Hospitality Industry for 50 years!
Thank You Villa Canaima for an excellent stay and service.

Room Tip: Room 27 is a well shaded room and would be ideal in the summer months for keeping cool as it is shad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanFIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay again.
We look forwards to have you back again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 473 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just returned from a fabulous month spent at the Villa Canaima. Everything was spot on as always. The friendly staff were excellent and the apartment was kept spotlessly clean by the attentive maid.
The addition of the pool bar since our last visit is an added bonus, quality food at reasonable prices, served by John, Annie and their team. Very friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble for them.
Sunday lunch is the highlight of the week with a glass of wine included all for 7.50 euros, what a bargain!
We did not experience any problems during happy hour, just two or three retired couples who live nearby who came down on a daily basis to enjoy a drink on the lovely terrace. They were all very friendly and were a good source of information, offering advice on the best places to eat and drink and also the must see sights on the island. We don't agree with the last review at all, there was never any 'drunk or disorderly' behaviour at any time during our stay and would urge anyone thinking of coming to the Villa Canaima to read all the other positive reviews previously posted.
This is the 'jewel in the crown' of Matagorda and would not hesitate in recommending it to everyone. Looking forward to next year's return already.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a good view apart from the four rooms on the front shaded by the trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truered2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Propietario at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
Thanks for recommending us!
See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have just returned home from our stay at Villa Canaima and we are a little concerned. Villa Canaima is still excellent in every way, but in our opinion it is getting spoiled by the Bar. The bar is now dragging the Villa down by its acceptance of Non residents and the daily "Happy Hour"

We have stayed at Villa Canaima over many years and have always been very pleased with everything provided and the quiet ambiance. To be fair the Bar is not run by the Villa and is only trying to make money, but in doing so it is dragging in all sorts of people from outside the Villa to get Tanked up every afternoon on cheap beer. It gets very rowdy at times. Any hope of a snooze by the poolside can be forgotten during the daily "happy hour" and the drunks from outside Villa Canaima. Apartments near to the bar area are also disturbed by the cheap alcohol induced rowdiness of non residents.
Security was also starting to worry us with not knowing who was coming and going from the bar any more, unlike before when only residents were really to be seen at the Villa.
I really hope this does not go on to spoil Villa Canaima as I am sure that attracting a few rowdy drunks from outside and selling a few drinks at happy hour is not really what the regular visitors would like to see continue.

Your daily afternoon would be as follows.....
A superb day then....and you can set your clock by the following every day.
Non Residents Arriving at 1 minute to the Happy Hour on a daily basis, getting as many rounds in as possible, generally taking over the whole ambiance at the Villa, then buying another round at 1min to the happy hour and then not leaving until the dregs are gone. Not at all classy.

At first we thought it was just us being hypercritical and perhaps spoil sports, but no, there were a few other couples who mentioned they did not quite approve of a Happy hour that appeared mostly to be for the major benefit of a large group of people from outside Villa Canaima. To be honest I would rather pay 2.5 Euro for a Pint and not have a Happy Hour which is resulting in the Vila being spoiled, perhaps then these non residents seeking cheap beer would go down the Strip where they belong.
Villa Canaima does not need a Happy Hour, we were all Very Happy before, but now those that Love Villa Canaima are less Happy, those that need cheap beer need to go down on the strip. Please Dont Spoil Villa Canaima, Abolish the Happy Hour and cheap booze!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Propietario at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Myself and my son stayed here back in November/December and from the moment we made our booking to departure the staff were fantastic. They helped arrange ours and my parents room (Who had unknown to me made a seperate booking) to be next door to each other.

The welcome when we arrived was great (Like old friends) it was our 5th visit!! We will never tire of the place. The seaview rooms are excatly what they say and keep the sun all afternoon, they are spacious and clean/very clean and have aircon, tv with some english channels and all you need for a self catering holiday.. The pool is clean and kept clean, as are the grounds and all the staff from the maids to owner smile and say hello, which in todays world I find very rare.

There is an on site cafe/bar that overlooks the pool which in itself is great.The prices are low and food is good, you can even take it to your room if you like. The breakfasts are better than you'd get in matagorda and the happy hour 1 euro beers hit the spot after a day in the sun. The staff here are also fantastic and make you feel very welcome.

All in all after 5 years of visiting we will certainly be going again. Well done everyone at Villa Canaima please keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Any apartment would suit but seaview are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
On behalf of the management and staff at Villa Canaima thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that after 5 years visiting us you feel so good here!!
We look forwards to have you back here once again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Still good second time around, in fact booked for a return visit once again.
Quiet, calm safe and restful, good for long stays. Lots of return bookings making it a friendly reliable place to stay.
We like the 3rd floor sea view rooms in particular. King size comfy beds and modern lounge furniture. Good size balcony.
Helpful reception, courteous maids.

Minus - pool is freezing and we would be more than happy to pay more for it to be heated.

Room Tip: if you can manage stairs choose 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 51linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
Thank you for booking Villa Canaima once again.
We are sorry about the cold pool
We look forwards to your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here at the end of Nov 2013 and it was so good that we've just booked to return this November. The apartments were spotlessly clean and very well maintained and even though we booked too late to get a sea view, we were still happy with our pool view apartment as the balcony was sunny most of the day. Other reviews have mentioned the sparse kitchen equipment, but we managed to make snack meals and a salad lunch about 3 times and with the plentiful supply of inexpensive restaurants nearby, didn't need to attempt anything more elaborate than that! The apartments were equipped with a dishcloth, scourer and washing up liquid, which was a welcome little extra to save taking these with us or having to find a shop as soon as we'd arrived. I took my own hairdryer with me on the advice of a previous reviewer but needn't have bothered as the one supplied, worked just as well. Bottled water and milk were available to buy from reception and although they were slightly more expensive than the local shops, we bought most of ours on site, to save carrying it and also to show our appreciation of the complex by spending some money there. The apartments were well situated, a little walk from the sea front which suited us as they were quiet, and we enjoy walking. Keen walkers can easily walk into Puerto del Carmen as we did most days or walk in the opposite direction to Arrecife, which we also did a couple of times. My husband made the most of the 1 euro pints of beer during happy hour, as the bar tended to be more full and there was a good atmosphere (that's his excuse and he's sticking to it!). The bar did close quite early but that didn't really bother us as we either stayed out locally, or had a drink in the apartment when we returned.
The apartment was definitely one of the best we've stayed in and offered amazingly good value. We've waited until we've secured this year's booking to write this review as I'm sure it will become busier and busier with the high volume of returning guests. Can't wait till November and this time we've managed to get a sea view ( most of these also overlook the pool and have very sunny balconies).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorrainec2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
Thank you for all your compliments too!!
We are glad to hear that you had such a nice stay with us that you are coming back next year.
We look forwards to have you here again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Returned yesterday evening from the apartments after a fantastic week long stay. Wonderfully clean rooms, lovely staff and an excellent pool and bar area. We had a third floor apartment with great views of the sea and the room was lovely with everything you need. Matagorda is a great resort and probably the best I've stayed at in the Canaries and I've visited all the islands at least once. 5-10 mins walk to beach, bars and restaurants with a lovely promenade walk in to the centre of Puerto del Carmen if you want it. Plus it is a quick 5 mins transfer from the airport. And the January weather was also terrific. 6 out of 7 days were clear sunshine and sunbathing with a light jacket or sweater needed for the evening. Only criticism could be wifi - its ok on the balcony but unreliable in the room. But lets face it, who wants to be on the internet all day when you're on holiday. In short, I don't think there could be many better options than choosing Matagorda and Villa Canaima and a big thank you to all the staff. We will be looking to come and stay with you again very soon.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank morduetMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
I have to make clear that we only have Wifi in the public areas but in most of our apartments you should be able to connect from the balcony too!!
We look forwards to your next visit!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,300 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
621 reviews
2 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
492 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Penita Apartments
La Penita Apartments
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Villa Canaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Villa Canaima

Address: Calle Tomillo 5 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $84 - $267 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Villa Canaima 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 Self-catering apartments: 29 one-bedroom apartments and 2 two-bedroom apartments. Free services for our guests: Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet access in reception, Late check out from apartment if availability, Courtesy room / luggage storage on the departure, Suitcases storage for next holiday here, Print boarding pass, Order a taxi in advance, Modify the dates of stay if the availability and monetary value fits, Free map of island & street map of Puerto del Carmen, Free bottle of water. General: Outdoor pool with sun beds, Library, Snack bar, Pool table, Tourist desk with a lot of useful tips about our island, plenty of activities to book for you: Trekking, Bicycle rental, Fishing, Car hire, Excursions all over the island. Services at extra cost: Self-service laundry, Safety Deposit Box, Fax/photocopying. Apartment Facilities: Air conditioning / heating in the bedroom, Safety Deposit Box (extra cost), Wardrobe, Kitchenette, Refrigerator, Cooker, Microwave, Oven, Electric Kettle, Toaster, Coffee maker, Kitchenware, Bathroom, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bath or Shower, Bidet, Seating Area, Telephone, Radio, Satellite Channels, Flat-screen TV, Sofa, Tiled floor, Wake Up Service, Towels and bed linen, Maid service... This is a small complex run by a Lanzarote's family. Ideal for people who like a quiet and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos Villa Canaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing