We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A First, wont be the last”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartamentos Villa Canaima
Certificate of Excellence
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A First, wont be the last”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Great apartments, great staff, returned home today and have already booked for next Christmas and new year. We had apartment 21, pool view; had kettle, toaster, TV, double hob and oven and grill. Apartments spotless, our apartment had a wet room with a cracking shower. Loads of room.

Have booked a see view room for next visit.

Family business run by 2 sisters, even gave us local produce for Christmas eve and a bottle of bubbly for New years eve.

On site snack/pool bar good prices and good food, happy hour at teatime and a good place to meet other guests/ the general public. Thanks John. (English Run)

Met some great people, plenty of choice to eat out, La Brisa, Horrea and Taste of India a must.

Local bus service excellent and taxis reasonable.

Cannot wait to return

11 out of 10, a hidden gem, we even had people coming from other hotels/apartments to look round, how jealous were they!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms 2,4,6,8,10 are top floor and have the best views, room 21 is good for disables access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bridgelad138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
On behalf of the management and staff at Villa Canaima thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays this much.
We look forwards to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    69
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
313
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

1. Internet is only available around the pool and reception and not in apartments, it is also quite slow even with a good signal.
2. Each room in the apartments has only one plug socket. There are others in the rooms but have blocked off probably to save power.
3. There is no oven in the apartments, only microwave and 2 electric hobs.
I would still give a high score because these apartments are very well kept are are excellent value for money. I just wish I knew about those 3 points before I booked.
Overall I enjoyed my stay

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank efmpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Propietario at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
Regarding Internet speed, We would like to tell you that we are searching for a new solution, since, at the moment in Lanzarote most of the outside telephone lines are old and their owners, the telecommunications suppliers, do not think about renewing them.
There are 5 plug sockets in the apartment: 1 in the kitchenette, 1 in the lounge area, 1 in the Bathroom and 2 in the bedroom. We are sorry if it was not enough.
In most of the websites our accommodation is advertised: “All apartments at Villa Canaima have heating and air-conditioning in the bedrooms and come with a balcony or terrace and a kitchenette with a microwave or oven”.
We are glad to hear that apart from these points you have still enjoyed your stay in Villa Canaima.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Stayed from 10th October to 11th November 2013. We have stayed here many times before,and I can assure you that the staff at Villa Canaima never let their standards slip, if anything it gets even better each time we visit ( if thats possible ) These Apts have got to be the best managed complex on the island. great peaceful location for a really relaxing holiday, and still easy walking distance to shops, bars, Restaurants and the beach. Everywhere on the complex is kept clean and tidy to the highest standards, Ana , Lisset, and Fatima at reception will all go that extra mile to make your holiday a great one, as will all the other staff.. Really looking forward to next visit. Thankyou so much to all at Villa Canaima.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
On behalf of the management and staff at Villa Canaima thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you feel so good in our complex!!
We look forwards to have you back here once again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Recently returned from a four week stay at the Villa Canaima. We found the apartment to be extremely clean and comfortable with lovely sea views from the sunny balcony. All the staff were pleasant and very helpful. The pool bar served reasonably priced meals either to eat in or take back to your apartment. The Villa Canaima is about an eight to ten minute walk to the beach, restaurants, bars and shops.
Hopefully we will return next year.

Room Tip: Request a room with a sea view, there is an extra charge, but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
Thank you for all your compliments too!!
We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us.
We look forwards to have you back again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Returned to Villa Canaima this year and we still rate this as one of the best apartments in the Matagorda area. Apartments are of a good size with everything you need included in the price. TV with limited English language channels, not Sky, but ample for the time you spend inside. 8hrs per day A/C - Heating included ( we didn't need either ).
On arrival we could smell that the apartment had recently been cleaned and the decor is spotless. Maid service is second to none, cleaned every day and towels changed on a very regular basis, every other day max.
A nice sized balcony which has the sun most of the day in the pool view apartments.
Once again all staff were extremely courteous and could not do enough to help at any time.
The pool bar has improved from last year with a better choice of meals, all reasonably priced as are the drinks and even a 'happy hour' now 1700-1800 with beer at 1€ a pint.
Several good restaurants within easy walking distance at the commercial centre with a gentle slightly uphill walk home at the end of the evening.
Once again a big thank you to all the staff, we will return.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room on first floor which has excellent views over the resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
We are glad to hear that you had a nice stay once again.
Just a little clarification to don't confuse who read this review: you have been in an apartment on the second floor overlooking the sea.
We look forwards to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
321 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent 7 nights at Villa Canaima with two friends in apartments 1&3 on the first floor.

We were very impressed with the cleanliness and presentation of the interior and balcony on the apartments.

The bedroom was a good size and the bathroom more than adequate with a very good shower

The living / kitchen area is quite spacious with a small hob and oven plus fridge

The wifi worked quite well on the balcony and is adequate for basic surfing and emails etc

There is a surprisingly large bar / cafe area which served very good basic food choices

If I was being very picky, my only negative was that there were only two " free " electric sockets in the apartment - one in the kitchen area and one in the living area near the balcony door - and neither are near a mirror.
There isn't one at all in the bedroom

Also, the fridge in number 1 struggled to keep cool without making a bit of noise which did disturb sleep a little

In terms of specific apartments - my suggestion is that numbers 1 to 10 ( odd numbers on the first floor & even numbers on the second floor ) are the ones to try to get if you want to get the most sunshine on your balcony. Definitely avoid odd numbers 19 to 27 inclusive - as these are on the ground floor low down facing west.

Matagorda has a few bars and restaurants, but you should appreciate that the apartments are located a very long walk ( 5/6 km ) or about a 6 Euro taxi ride from the main strip of Puerto del Carmen and the Old Port area. Taxis are readily available and there is a taxi rank two minutes walk if you turn left ( east ) out of the pool gate.
We would imagine that most people will make good use of those taxis!

All in all, a great peaceful location, with the apartments fulfilling all their promise. No hesitation in recommending to anyone

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LiLiCockerpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
We are glad to hear that we have fulfilled all your expectations.
Thank you to recommend us!!
We look forwards to your next visit!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bute
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We had a great stay at Villa Canaima and would thoroughly recommend it. The apts, in fact the whole complex, is absolutely spotless. We had a seaview apt. and for the little extra cost it was certainly worth it. As with all self catering apts the furnishings are quite basic, but unlike most,the settee in the living area was large and comfy and not your usual wooden spanish style with hard cushions and and even harder arms! The beds are a bit hard and although i slept ok my OT found found them uncomfortable. The maid seemed to be in almost daily and towels and sheets were changed regularly. My only gripe, and it did not spoil our stay in any way, was that the kitchen was quite poorly equipped with only the absolute basics. There was no potato peeler and the tin opener was out of the arc. There is only one electric socket in the kitchen so you had to wait till the kettle boiled for your tea before you could swap over and plug in the Toaster! Not a big deal but a second socket would be helpful. Tumblers were fine but wine glasses would also have been nice
( wine just isnt the same out of a tumbler)! There isnt an iron in the apt. this is not a complaint, i am just stating it for your information, but one can be borrowed from reception although not an ironing board. There is an onsite washing machine. I didnt use it so dont know if theres a cost. It was easy just to hand wash as we went along and dry the things on the dryer on the balcony - tip - take clothes pegs with you. Again not a complaint, but you might want to bring your own hairdryer as the one in the apt is not very hot and takes forever!
There is an onsite bar and restaurant serving reasonable fare at a reasonable cost. The sunday dinner at 7.50euros is great value and is delicious, they even through in a glass of wine with it. Another time we had homemade Madras curry but if it was home made then I'm a monkeys uncle! Very disappointing! The restaurant will also plate your meal to take to your apt. There is a happy hour between 5 and 6, with a pint of beer at 1e and spirit and mixer for 3e, it is very busy and attracts a lot of people from neighbouring complexes.
The pool area is lovely and there always seemed to be enough sunbeds to go round. Like us i think a lot of people sunbathed on there balconies. The balconies were a great size and had sun on them all day.
All the staff are very friendly and helpful and Villa Canaima a lovely, comfortable, relaxing and well run complex that fully deserves its no. 1 trip advisor rating in this category.

Room Tip: If possible avoid the four apts that face onto the main road and have no pool or seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mo-yo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Receptionist at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
Your comments are very important to us as we are always willing to improve.
We have basic items in the apartments because not everyone need to use the same things.
However if you ask in reception you could get other things like potato peelers, triple adaptors, etc.
As a result of your comment we are going to buy an ironing board.
We look forwards to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,052 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,622 reviews
1.3 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
709 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Suites
Aqua Suites
#2 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Villa Canaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Villa Canaima

Property: Apartamentos Villa Canaima
Address: Calle Tomillo 5 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Villa Canaima 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 Self-catering apartments: 29 one-bedroom apartments and 2 two-bedroom apartments. Free services for our guests: Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet access in reception, Late check out from apartment if availability, Courtesy room / luggage storage on the departure, Suitcases storage for next holiday here, Print boarding pass, Order a taxi in advance, Modify the dates of stay if the availability and monetary value fits, Free map of island & street map of Puerto del Carmen, Free bottle of water. General: Outdoor pool with sun beds, Library, Snack bar, Pool table, Tourist desk with a lot of useful tips about our island, plenty of activities to book for you: Trekking, Bicycle rental, Fishing, Car hire, Excursions all over the island. Services at extra cost: Self-service laundry, Safety Deposit Box, Fax/photocopying. Apartment Facilities: Air conditioning / heating in the bedroom, Safety Deposit Box (extra cost), Wardrobe, Kitchenette, Refrigerator, Cooker, Microwave, Oven, Electric Kettle, Toaster, Coffee maker, Kitchenware, Bathroom, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bath or Shower, Bidet, Seating Area, Telephone, Radio, Satellite Channels, Flat-screen TV, Sofa, Tiled floor, Wake Up Service, Towels and bed linen, Maid service... This is a small complex run by a Lanzarote's family. Ideal for people who like a quiet and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apartamentos Villa Canaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing