We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Excellent Choice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apartamentos Villa Canaima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Apartamentos Villa Canaima
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“An Excellent Choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I am writing this whilst currently sitting on our balcony at the apartments, overlooking the sea. All the previous reviews praising these apartments are well justified. On arrival, on a Sunday evening, we found a burst water pipe had caused minor flooding to the apartment, a quick phone call and within 30 minutes or so, staff had attended and we were moved to a new apartment, now that is what I call service.
The apartments are situated about a 5 -10 minute stroll from the shopping centre where there are a number of bars, restaurants and two supermarkets to chose from, a slight uphill stroll on the way back, but not too exhausting at all.
Matagorda is a quiet area, with just the resaurants and bars at the shopping centre, if you are looking for nightlife, that is in Puerto del Carmen itself, which is about a 30 minute walk away or a taxi at around 4/5 euro.
Everything you need in the apartments, which are kept spotlessly clean, as is all the complex, plenty of sunbeds by the pool and no-one reserving them. Digital TV included with lots of channels which you can change to English language, what a bonus.
A nice snack bar overlooking the pool area which does a very good large breakfast at 4euro, only slightly more expensive than in the shopping centre, but no walking, we have not tried the snacks yet, but not expensive either, large beer 2.5 euro, cheaper than the restaurants.
The beds as mentioned previously are on the hard side, but we found them to be fine and extra pillows and blankets if you get chilly.
Free wi-fi, a bit hit and miss at times, but as I write they have had a man in to try and sort it out, obviously not too bad as I managed to write this from there.
All staff are extremely friendly and can not do enough for you, we have stayed in a number of other apartments in the area and I can honestly say for location and quality this is one of the best. We will certainly book here for our next visit if available and would certainly recommend to friends and family.
Taxi from airport was 12.5 euro

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view room, very good with the sun all day. we were on 1st floor excellent, 2nd flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaughan_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Villa Canaima!
Please excuse me for answering your review this late.
We take seriously our commitment of keeping well maintained apartments, however water incidents can always happen, but again, our maxima is reduce to a minimum expression any inconveniences it might cause to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    66
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
296
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have stayed in most apts and hotels in Matagorda over many years. This is by far the best. - spotlessly clean, (not an ant or cockroach in sight) well maintained and lovely helpful, friendly staff. I stayed in one of their 4 apartments for people with disabilities. I hire a mobility scooter which I bring in and recharge overnight - plenty of room for this. Nice sized bathroom with flat walk in shower, shower seat and plenty of grab rails and sliding doors so they don't get in the way. Wardrobes with low level rails and double bed and enough space to move around the room. The staff here will do anything they can to make your stay more comforable so well done all round to all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beegeeIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at Villa Canaima!
We try to do our best to please our guests and to maintain in optimums conditions our little tourist complex.
We appreciate the completed description you have done about our One-Bedroom Apartment - Disability Access.
Thank you very much for your recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

If you are looking for a clean, comfortable and quiet holiday apartment, then look no further. This is probably the best run complex in Matagorda, and we have stayed in most of them over the last ten years. Great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rknevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at Villa Canaima!
We try to do our best to please our guests and to maintain in optimums conditions our little tourist complex. Thank you very much for your recognition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This little apartment block is a hidden treasure in Peurto Del Carmen... a little off the map means it is very quiet and peaceful yet all the amenities are within easy walking distance. It is also very close to the airport so no long transfers! Excellent value for money. Apartments are clean and spacious and have either sea views or views of the pool, very nice! Staff are extremely friendly and very helpful. The bar is perfect for a light lunch and the terrace is a lovely spot for a drink in the late afternoon!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at Villa Canaima!
With our daily work we try to care for our little treasure! Chantelle thank you very much for: "A gem"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Just back from a ten stay stay in Villa Canaima in Lanzarote. These apartments are one of the best we have ever stayed in. They are highly maintained, spotlessly clean and in a quiet location a mere 5 minute walk to the beach, pubs and restaurants in Matagorda with no hills to climb. The complex consists of 31 apartments, all with airconditioning ( 8 hours free per day, which is more than enough and it is noiseless ). The apartments have either a full oven or a microwave, toaster, kettle, fridge and the usual cooking and dining utensils. The bedrooms are spacious as are the kitchen/diner and bathroom. All apartments have a large balcony with lovely views. Towels are changed every 2 days and bed linen once a week. There is a poolside bar which opens during daylight hours and sewrves both drinks and snacks. Next to reception is a well stocked library and both water and fresh milk can be purchased at reception. Tours can also be booked from reception. A taxi rank is located just 50 metres from the complex. Fares from the complex vary from between 5 and 8 euros depending on where you are going . The fare from the airport is approximately 10 euros and takes less than 10 minutes. Matagorda shopping centre is a 5 minute walk from the complex and contains two large Supermarkets, a jewellers, hairdresser, massage and beauty parlour, rent a car and bicycle rental shops as well as the usual souvenir shops. There are also numerous restaurants located in the centre, including Japanese, Chinese, Mexican, Irish and local. A wide variety of pubs can also be found there. The promenade which stretches from Arrecife ( Capital city ) to the Old Town ( Puerto Del Carmen ) is outside the shoppimg centre.All in all, Villa Canaima is ideal for a quiet relaxing break while at the same time close enough to the more livelier parts of the resort.

Room Tip: If possible get an apartment on the second floor of the centre block for the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradmadcork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Propietario at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at Villa Canaima!
Your gratification rewards our daily work. We are very impressed about your thorough description of Matagorda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was our first holiday on the Island of Lanzarote and we were not disappointed with our stay at Apartamentos Villa Canaima. Lissett and Fatima were great hosts and keep a very nice set of apartments in Matagorda. The apartment was very clean and had most items you would require in a self-catering apartment, fully equipped kitchen, great powerful shower, the most comfy bed I have ever had on holiday. We would recommend this villa and will be going back again soon!

Room Tip: Not too far to walk to bars and restaurants. About 15 mins from apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishWarwickshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell about your experience at Villa Canaima!
We are glad that you have liked our unique island of Lanzarote and that you are thinking about coming back to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo, Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

This was our first time staying at Villa Canaima and I most certainly would return! It was spotlessly clean from the reception to pool area to the pathways and apartments themselves. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only criticism is that the beds are extremely hard and if like most irish people you like your tea - a couple of mugs would not go a miss!! All in all a very pleasant, happy place to stay in.

Room Tip: Unless you have mobility issues or small children, opt for an apartment on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaCanaima, Owner at Apartamentos Villa Canaima, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to tell about your experience in Villa Canaima!
Please, next time when coming back let us know in advance you prefer a soft bed, we might be able to do something about it. At reception you may ask for a couple of mugs ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
1.3 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#6 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Villa Canaima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Villa Canaima

Property: Apartamentos Villa Canaima
Address: Calle Tomillo 5 | Matagorda, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Villa Canaima 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
31 Self-catering apartments: 29 one-bedroom apartments and 2 two-bedroom apartments. Free services for our guests: Free Wi-Fi, Free Internet access in reception, Late check out from apartment if availability, Courtesy room / luggage storage on the departure, Suitcases storage for next holiday here, Print boarding pass, Order a taxi in advance, Modify the dates of stay if the availability and monetary value fits, Free map of island & street map of Puerto del Carmen, Free bottle of water. General: Outdoor pool with sun beds, Library, Snack bar, Pool table, Tourist desk with a lot of useful tips about our island, plenty of activities to book for you: Trekking, Bicycle rental, Fishing, Car hire, Excursions all over the island. Services at extra cost: Self-service laundry, Safety Deposit Box, Fax/photocopying. Apartment Facilities: Air conditioning / heating in the bedroom, Safety Deposit Box (extra cost), Wardrobe, Kitchenette, Refrigerator, Cooker, Microwave, Oven, Electric Kettle, Toaster, Coffee maker, Kitchenware, Bathroom, Hairdryer, Toilet, Bath or Shower, Bidet, Seating Area, Telephone, Radio, Satellite Channels, Flat-screen TV, Sofa, Tiled floor, Wake Up Service, Towels and bed linen, Maid service... This is a small complex run by a Lanzarote's family. Ideal for people who like a quiet and relaxing holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apartamentos Villa Canaima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Villa Canaima Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing