We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil vacations”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral
Ranked #67 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Langenfeld, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tranquil vacations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel consists of hotel rooms and apartments with one and / or two bedrooms. The hotel rooms can be found in the original building where the restaurant, the bar and the main swimming pool are. Here you have mini disco every night at 08:30 for one hour. Then mostly every night they have an one hour entertainment, which was very poor! During the day there is no animation at all, except for little children. Their animation ends at about 2:00 pm! When we booked this hotel, the description said, that there would be animation for adults. But this was not true. We were told, that the description was old, but it was not. It was valid until November 2013! They offered us one hour of free tennis, which we refused. The best thing of the hotel was the food. Except of 2 times one hour you could always eat! They always had fresh grilled fish and the delicious "Mojo-Sauce". The guests mainly came from the UK and the Netherlands. Most of them had children. Nevertheless it was very quiet and therefore very relaxing. The garden of the hotel hardly had any lawn but lapillus, which made the garden look quite boring. But I assume that many people like this, because it reflects the island's character. The hotel is located approximately 300 m from the very wide sandy beach. When we stayed there in July / August 2013 it was extremely windy, so that it was not big fun laying on the sand, because within 1 minute you looked like a dark sandman. All in all the vacation was very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Heike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

Everything stated in the review of 5th July 2010 is correct as we found out to our cost! We were offered an apartment by Thomson under a 'special deal' that they had negotiated. The apartment we were given was located some 1/2 mile from Reception; all downhill going; all uphill coming back. It's location was in the gardens; full of mosquitoes; therefore apartment was full of them each and every night. Both of us came down with 'Canary Trots' within the first week. Just to look at the food on offer caused a recurrence! Dining room is too small for the number of rooms; therefore two sittings. If you were still at your table with 5 minutes to go as we were on the first night, you are ordered out! Entertainment was in the bar that could only hold 150 people from the 200 or so bedrooms. No problem though, most people went to bed 5 minutes after the entertainment started! Didn't bother us as we were (eventually) forced to eat out of the hotel.
So much for booking 'all inclusive' (which we did solely because of the experience we had enjoyed in another Riu hotel in 2010)

Room Tip: Don't bother to look at any brochure or go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank badbaz85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Del Carmen hotels

essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

booked this hotel/appartments as a change of location, we thought stay with the well knowen and trusted riu group! we made a terrible mistake.
when we arrived at the riu olivina hotels recp we were greated very politely and when given the key to our appartment asked is this an upper floor as requested when booking and via email 4 weeks before arrival. the reply was no as thompson only have the lower floors ? ok as we have stayed with the riu group many times i produced the magic card which entitles you to many benefits. " we have the top one" alas this did not work no upgrades, zilch. it has its advantages but alas this particular receptionist was unhelpfull.
this we will take up with the head office along with the other probs.
the food was very scarce normaly you have quite a choice here it was the same every night . one particular night we had a questionair and noticed that a few staff were peeking over shoulders and informing the management, one couple were questiond with regard to the box ticked and stated if you have eaten whats the problem.
the air conditioning unit leaked by the cooking station and a pool towel was put on the floor to soak up the water, we were glad no one tripped up and landed on our table.
the rolls in the morning were stale or case hardend.
when lunch had finished the snack bar took over we witnesed the trolly being brought out with salad and condenments of which the sauce was still down the side of the bowl and indeed still on the letuce where it had been spilt at lunch time yuk.
one chef picked up meat to cook it then picked up the chips that had fallen out of the bowl and placed them back in the bowl followed by rearranging the salad !!.
we know that its going to be hot but due to the mozzies we had to keep the windows and doors shut but with no air con in the room it was like sleeping in an oven. oh if you are going to this estab buy a plug in mozie killer from the local spar about 6 euros but worth every cent.
our sheets were only changed twice in the 14 nights this is due to the tour company's requests, normally "riu" change them at least 4 times from past visits at there hotels.
overall the hotel part looked quite nice but the appartments although being painted at the time need a bit of work done to bring them up to scratch, you will find the lack of tables in the morning for breakfast as they close part of the retaurant down for dinner, so if you leave it late be aware of the lack of food as we found out.This was all inclusive and to see and hear clients of the hotel booking a meal out along the front they indeed were not wrong.
For us a bad choice "i felt angry that i informed a passenger on the plane as we touched down that they are going to be amazed and spoilt with the food choice. i will keep mouth shut next time."

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diamondclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

We just spent 2 weeks (5 –19 July 08) at the Riu Olivina Apartments as part of the land content of our TUI holiday package. We are currently based in Germany.

The first thing that comes to mind is the genuine friendliness of the staff. From the front desk to the dining room to the housekeeping, pool and gardening staff genuine smiles and greetings all round. Equally important were that requests were answered or performed with competence and professionalism. Front of house staff are well trained and multi-lingual (apart from Spanish, I heard English, German and Italian spoken) making communication a breeze.

The next thing that impressed was the choice and quality of food at the breakfast and dinner buffets. An enormous selection of international hot and cold dishes from salads, roasts, local specialities, paella and diet busting desserts. I am now trying to lose a few surplus kilos !!!

The rooms and resort facilities are pretty good. The resort still has a size where you can feel cozy unlike some of the mega resorts where beach chaired sunlovers look like neatly packed sardines.

There are 3 saltwater pools and our little one had a great time splashing about . The kids are not forgotten by the resort. There are organised activities for them including a mini disco at night and a playground. When we were there quite a few other kids were running around making the resort a very family friendly place.

The apartment itself was comfortable. The kitchen was basic but adequate. We only heated up some milk for the small one and made coffee in the room. If you want to make your own coffee/ in the room, the hotel does not provide any sachets of instant coffee/tea bags/sugar etc. They supply a pot and coffee filter bag holder only so you will need to take a short walk to the nearby Spar supermarket to pick up supplies. The resort also does not supply a toaster or hot water kettle. However, you can borrow a hot water kettle from the reception with a deposit of €10 which is refunded on return.

In terms of the other guests, there were many Germans, some Dutch, Swiss, Spanish, Italian and native English speaking people. Everyone seemed to get along pretty well.

Location for us was perfect … less than 10 minutes away from the airport, a few hundred meters away from the Los Pocillos beach and the downmarket beachfront shopping strip (full of themed restaurants and souvenir shops) of Puerto del Carmen. However, the resort is conveniently situated for daily expeditions to other interesting parts of the island. Most would agree that there are much nicer beaches on the island than Los Pocillos but at least it is in easy walking distance.

As a former hotel executive with the international chains, this was our first time in a RIU property and I must say, we (wife and 21 month toddler) were genuinely impressed by the whole experience.

  • Liked — friendliness of staff and family friendly ambience
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank OzFFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2008

Was in Lanzarote for the New Year and flew out on the 27th Dec. Originally booked the Lanzaplaya but a week before we went Alpharooms emailed to say that the Lanzaplaya was fully booked and they had changed us to the Riu????
The apartments in the Riu are a way out of Carmen (about a 15 min walk) but not too far away. They are set near to the beach (5 min walk) and about 10 mins to the local Spar. The complex itself is set up as a 4* hotel, Oliviana Apartments and the Riu Coral. We were in the 3* Apartments.
Set in gardens with 3 pools our apartment overlooked the bottom pool and was quite nice!
1 bed apartment with the basic stuff. Clean, large balcony and quiet location (which I had asked for). Fridge, 4 ring electric hob amd basic kitchen stuff. No kettle though one can be hired. Reception staff very friendly but this is a German owned hotel chain and it shows... Didnt hear another English person all week but the Germans were friendly enough and could speak Spanish and English. (My German is poor but Spanish is ok) so could muddle through ok. We opted for the New Year Gala Dinner @ 100 Euro's each! Very nice indeed it was too. Lobster, Caviar, duck and fresh Salmon to name a few of the dishes. Not to mention the free flowing wine and champagne. After this went to the main area where Astage was set up with live music and fireworks. Excellent!!
The room was cold at night though so take yur slippers if going in the winter months. Big room but not very comfortable settee or chair. Needs a little bit of updating to say the least but if your looking for somewhere to lay your head then this would be fine.
Be warned of the maids though!!! On New Years day she tried to get into our room from 8:30am then every half hour afterwards till 10 am. Not good when sleeping it off!! Our fault though, should of put the Do Not Disturb sign out on the door.
All in all, Clean, safe and quiet. Would I stay again? Probably not due to the distance...

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjohnboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2007

Stayed at the Riu Olivina apartments in Lanzarote for 11 days form 16th April 07.

Apartments we very tired looking - ours backed onto the main road. Be careful as we were burgled even though we were on the first floor - man on reception sadi 'you aren't the first and you won't be the last' - so beware! Bumped into lots of people in the actual resort of Puerto de Carmen who had also been burgled - ironically my husband found this out when he went to the police-station the next morning to make a statement.

Despite repeated requests about the sound quality of our television it didn't get fixed. No kettle or toaster in the room - we were not offered them when we checked-in - someone told us later on that you had to hire them - have stayed in basic accommodation in Greece and have never been asked to rent basic utensils which should be automatically supplied in s/c apartments.

99.9% of the clientele are German - nice people but if you don't speak the language you will feel very isolated. All the staff at the hotel/apts speak German but very little English.

This is the worst holiday we have ever had - so disappointed as Riu usually have a very good reputation - this is not a typical Riu - hotel wasn't bad but the apartments we very sub-standard - the whole place could do with renovating - and security should be put in place - you are very isolated in the apartments - anyone can walk round 24/7

  • Liked — The size
  • Disliked — bad decor, ill-fitting door - lack of double-glazing as back onto a main road, no pool bar in apartments - like a concrete jungle
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2006

We stayed at these apartments for two weeks in July this year and, despite a few negatives, overall we were very happy with them. They are located in Playa de los Pocillos in a quiet street just an easy couple of minutes walk to the beach and a small supermarket. It's also easy to walk into Puerto del Carmen. The staff throughout the hotel and apartments are all really friendly - the friendliest I've come across on all our visits to Lanzarote!
We were in the Coral apartments, which is a smaller, quieter complex than the Olivina apartments across the road. That suited us very well - no pool bar, no entertainment, and totally quiet at night. If you like things a bit busier, the Olivina complex is much bigger with several pools and a pool bar which Coral residents can also use. Residents of either apartments are also entitled to use all the facilities at the RIU Olivina Hotel, which is just a very short walk away in the same street. My husband and son played tennis which cost 7 Euros for an hour, including hire of racquets and balls. There is also evening entertainment at the hotel if that's your thing!
The first week, not many of the apartments in our complex seemed to be occupied, so it was blissfully quiet at the pool and there were sunbeds available whenever you wanted one. There was no-one out at 7am putting their towels out! When we first arrived though, the water level in the pool was quite low and there was rather disgusting green slime round the edge, but this was cleaned off after a couple of days and more water was added.
The second week, several families with children arrived which made things a bit busier and noisier. The pool didn't seem to be quite big enough for the number of people who could potentially be staying at the apartments at any one time, and I don't think there would be enough sunbeds or umbrellas to go round if the apartments were full. We don't spend much time by the pool so it's not really a problem for us, but it's something to bear in mind if you're a pool bunny! The terrace area round the pool is very spacious though, so there is definitely room for more sunbeds to be brought in.
We had a one bedroom apartment with a sofa bed in the living room/kitchen. They are typical holiday apartments really - very basic construction which means that you can hear every step above your head! The bedroom had a ceiling fan which kept things nice and cool at night and the beds were really comfortable. There is a safe in the wardrobe which you pay extra for - 12 Euros a week. The kitchen equipment was a bit basic if you actually intend to do any cooking. These are also the first apartments we have stayed in that haven't had a coffee-maker - there was just a jug and a slightly-too-small filter cone which you had to balance carefully on the top to stop it falling off, not always successfully!! The apartments are cleaned six days a week, the sheets were changed twice a week and our towels were changed every day. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom - the kind with one speed and one heat-setting, so if you really need a hairdryer, I'd recommend taking your own. We also had a large terrace with a table and chairs, which was shady for most of the day - ideal if you like to keep out of the sun, which I do, although possibly not so great if you plan on sunbathing there! There are plenty of apartments with terraces and balconies which do get the sun though.
You can also choose to eat at the hotel if you want. There's possibly a better deal to be had if you upgrade to half-board, but if you just want to do it the odd time, breakfast was 9 Euros, dinner buffet was 20 Euros. We didn't have dinner, so don't know what the food's like, but we had the excellent breakfast on our last morning - a massive buffet with juices, cereal, meats and cheeses, freshly cooked bacon, eggs, pancakes and potato dishes, fresh fruit, pastries, breads, cake(!) and a big pot of coffee. We also had lunch one day at the hotel snack bar, which offers a small selection of light meals - very tasty! The day we went, there was a demonstration of paella cooking - looked fabulous but didn't get a chance to try it! The hotel itself seems to cater predominantly for German guests, with a few Dutch, while at the Coral apartments the guests were a mixture of German, Dutch, Spanish and British.
Overall, I preferred the peace and quiet of the first week and I would recommend these apartments if you're going at a quieter time of year. At the height of the season, I think they could feel a little overcrowded. There are definitely more good points than bad about these apartments though. They're nothing fancy but the location is great and you have the advantage of being able to use the facilities at the hotel without the price tag of staying there.

  • Liked — The peace and quiet of the first week
  • Disliked — The pool was too small to get a decent swim
  • Tips/Secrets — Go outwith the busy season to take advantage of the peace and quiet.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank lanzarotelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.8 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#30 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
1.4 mi away
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
Suite Hotel Fariones Playa
#14 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 998 reviews
1.8 mi away
BelleVue Aquarius
BelleVue Aquarius
#76 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Vista Mar Apartments
Vista Mar Apartments
#36 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#20 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ereza Apartamentos Los Hibiscos
Ereza Apartamentos Los Hibiscos
#46 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral

Property: Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral
Address: C/ Grecia, 6, 35008 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 250 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach. 1-storey apartment buildings. Surrounded by a 5,000 m2 garden. Next to the Hotel Riu Olivina. 2 km from Puerto del Carmen. 400 m from various shops. 8 km from the airport. 200 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing