We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Del Carmen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“It was OK”
Reviewed January 6, 2008

Was in Lanzarote for the New Year and flew out on the 27th Dec. Originally booked the Lanzaplaya but a week before we went Alpharooms emailed to say that the Lanzaplaya was fully booked and they had changed us to the Riu????
The apartments in the Riu are a way out of Carmen (about a 15 min walk) but not too far away. They are set near to the beach (5 min walk) and about 10 mins to the local Spar. The complex itself is set up as a 4* hotel, Oliviana Apartments and the Riu Coral. We were in the 3* Apartments.
Set in gardens with 3 pools our apartment overlooked the bottom pool and was quite nice!
1 bed apartment with the basic stuff. Clean, large balcony and quiet location (which I had asked for). Fridge, 4 ring electric hob amd basic kitchen stuff. No kettle though one can be hired. Reception staff very friendly but this is a German owned hotel chain and it shows... Didnt hear another English person all week but the Germans were friendly enough and could speak Spanish and English. (My German is poor but Spanish is ok) so could muddle through ok. We opted for the New Year Gala Dinner @ 100 Euro's each! Very nice indeed it was too. Lobster, Caviar, duck and fresh Salmon to name a few of the dishes. Not to mention the free flowing wine and champagne. After this went to the main area where Astage was set up with live music and fireworks. Excellent!!
The room was cold at night though so take yur slippers if going in the winter months. Big room but not very comfortable settee or chair. Needs a little bit of updating to say the least but if your looking for somewhere to lay your head then this would be fine.
Be warned of the maids though!!! On New Years day she tried to get into our room from 8:30am then every half hour afterwards till 10 am. Not good when sleeping it off!! Our fault though, should of put the Do Not Disturb sign out on the door.
All in all, Clean, safe and quiet. Would I stay again? Probably not due to the distance...

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjohnboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    9
    5
    1
    4
See reviews for
8
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Stayed at the Riu Olivina apartments in Lanzarote for 11 days form 16th April 07.

Apartments we very tired looking - ours backed onto the main road. Be careful as we were burgled even though we were on the first floor - man on reception sadi 'you aren't the first and you won't be the last' - so beware! Bumped into lots of people in the actual resort of Puerto de Carmen who had also been burgled - ironically my husband found this out when he went to the police-station the next morning to make a statement.

Despite repeated requests about the sound quality of our television it didn't get fixed. No kettle or toaster in the room - we were not offered them when we checked-in - someone told us later on that you had to hire them - have stayed in basic accommodation in Greece and have never been asked to rent basic utensils which should be automatically supplied in s/c apartments.

99.9% of the clientele are German - nice people but if you don't speak the language you will feel very isolated. All the staff at the hotel/apts speak German but very little English.

This is the worst holiday we have ever had - so disappointed as Riu usually have a very good reputation - this is not a typical Riu - hotel wasn't bad but the apartments we very sub-standard - the whole place could do with renovating - and security should be put in place - you are very isolated in the apartments - anyone can walk round 24/7

  • Liked — The size
  • Disliked — bad decor, ill-fitting door - lack of double-glazing as back onto a main road, no pool bar in apartments - like a concrete jungle
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscerningEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Puerto Del Carmen hotels

Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2006

We stayed at these apartments for two weeks in July this year and, despite a few negatives, overall we were very happy with them. They are located in Playa de los Pocillos in a quiet street just an easy couple of minutes walk to the beach and a small supermarket. It's also easy to walk into Puerto del Carmen. The staff throughout the hotel and apartments are all really friendly - the friendliest I've come across on all our visits to Lanzarote!
We were in the Coral apartments, which is a smaller, quieter complex than the Olivina apartments across the road. That suited us very well - no pool bar, no entertainment, and totally quiet at night. If you like things a bit busier, the Olivina complex is much bigger with several pools and a pool bar which Coral residents can also use. Residents of either apartments are also entitled to use all the facilities at the RIU Olivina Hotel, which is just a very short walk away in the same street. My husband and son played tennis which cost 7 Euros for an hour, including hire of racquets and balls. There is also evening entertainment at the hotel if that's your thing!
The first week, not many of the apartments in our complex seemed to be occupied, so it was blissfully quiet at the pool and there were sunbeds available whenever you wanted one. There was no-one out at 7am putting their towels out! When we first arrived though, the water level in the pool was quite low and there was rather disgusting green slime round the edge, but this was cleaned off after a couple of days and more water was added.
The second week, several families with children arrived which made things a bit busier and noisier. The pool didn't seem to be quite big enough for the number of people who could potentially be staying at the apartments at any one time, and I don't think there would be enough sunbeds or umbrellas to go round if the apartments were full. We don't spend much time by the pool so it's not really a problem for us, but it's something to bear in mind if you're a pool bunny! The terrace area round the pool is very spacious though, so there is definitely room for more sunbeds to be brought in.
We had a one bedroom apartment with a sofa bed in the living room/kitchen. They are typical holiday apartments really - very basic construction which means that you can hear every step above your head! The bedroom had a ceiling fan which kept things nice and cool at night and the beds were really comfortable. There is a safe in the wardrobe which you pay extra for - 12 Euros a week. The kitchen equipment was a bit basic if you actually intend to do any cooking. These are also the first apartments we have stayed in that haven't had a coffee-maker - there was just a jug and a slightly-too-small filter cone which you had to balance carefully on the top to stop it falling off, not always successfully!! The apartments are cleaned six days a week, the sheets were changed twice a week and our towels were changed every day. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom - the kind with one speed and one heat-setting, so if you really need a hairdryer, I'd recommend taking your own. We also had a large terrace with a table and chairs, which was shady for most of the day - ideal if you like to keep out of the sun, which I do, although possibly not so great if you plan on sunbathing there! There are plenty of apartments with terraces and balconies which do get the sun though.
You can also choose to eat at the hotel if you want. There's possibly a better deal to be had if you upgrade to half-board, but if you just want to do it the odd time, breakfast was 9 Euros, dinner buffet was 20 Euros. We didn't have dinner, so don't know what the food's like, but we had the excellent breakfast on our last morning - a massive buffet with juices, cereal, meats and cheeses, freshly cooked bacon, eggs, pancakes and potato dishes, fresh fruit, pastries, breads, cake(!) and a big pot of coffee. We also had lunch one day at the hotel snack bar, which offers a small selection of light meals - very tasty! The day we went, there was a demonstration of paella cooking - looked fabulous but didn't get a chance to try it! The hotel itself seems to cater predominantly for German guests, with a few Dutch, while at the Coral apartments the guests were a mixture of German, Dutch, Spanish and British.
Overall, I preferred the peace and quiet of the first week and I would recommend these apartments if you're going at a quieter time of year. At the height of the season, I think they could feel a little overcrowded. There are definitely more good points than bad about these apartments though. They're nothing fancy but the location is great and you have the advantage of being able to use the facilities at the hotel without the price tag of staying there.

  • Liked — The peace and quiet of the first week
  • Disliked — The pool was too small to get a decent swim
  • Tips/Secrets — Go outwith the busy season to take advantage of the peace and quiet.
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank lanzarotelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston Lancashire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2006

Just returned from the Riu Olivina/Coral apts,22.3.06 had a wonderful time. weather hot and sunny for 10 full days, apartments very clean and spacious pool area very clean, very quiet I would not recommend it if you have kids as there is nothing for them to do at the Coral apts, fresh flowers every day, I received a bottle of champagne as it was my birthday, pool towels provided f.o.c. kettle and toaster to hire for 10 euros given back to you when you leave, cannot fault it


RS1

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank RS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lanza Teneguia
Hotel Lanza Teneguia
#65 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
56 reviews
1.4 mi away
Luz y Mar Apartments
Luz y Mar Apartments
#49 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Terrazas
Terrazas
#80 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,528 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tisalaya Apartments
Tisalaya Apartments
#32 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral

Property: Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral
Address: C/ Grecia, 6, 35008 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 250 m from Playa de los Pocillos beach. 1-storey apartment buildings. Surrounded by a 5,000 m2 garden. Next to the Hotel Riu Olivina. 2 km from Puerto del Carmen. 400 m from various shops. 8 km from the airport. 200 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Amex, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Apartamentos Riu Olivina Coral Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing