We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Penita Apartments
Ranked #11 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2014

As you can see this is our second time at these lovely appts. We were in appt 131 overlooking the pool and with sea views. Welcomed with a bottle of wine for returning clients and a box of chocs for my bday. Great base for pubs and restaurants on the strip but no noise. These appts are locked and gated ....all La Penita residents are allocated keys. Will be definitely returning!

Room Tip: Room 131 overlooks the pool and with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,163 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

People were very friendley, very quiet at night. Apartments spacious and clean.
In great location. I requested apartment at second level which I got. I have stayed in these apartments before and always found them first class.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoelMahony1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Just back from a holiday in Puerto Del Carmen. Stayed here at the La Penita apartment's. These apartment's are first class. On arrival check in was brisk with no problems. Man at reception was very helpful and showed my wife and i where to find our room. Room was large although a little basic. But was really clean with a bottle of white wine left on the table. Tv is free with all the necessary english channels like sky news itv etc. Wi fi is available in the lobby and around the pool. Also in the room but can only be got around the balcony door area.We had a lovely pool view and also a sea view. Balcony is very large with table and chair's. Could have done with 2 sun beds in the balcony. Hope the complex will have this option in the future. 2 minute walk out the back gate to the main strip which was great. 24 hour security which was also good. Felt very safe here. Reception can organize a taxi to the airport which was good. This is our 2nd time staying at La Penita and will certainly be back. Only gripe we had was if we could have better wi fi in the apartment.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here during Christmas and New Year, we have been before so we knew what to expect.
You cant fault these apartments, self catering at its best.

I would highly recommend anyone going over to Puerto del Carmen for Christmas and New Year.
The place was buzzing and the fire works on the beach at New Year were amazing.

Cant wait too return in the summer,

Little tip ..book hotel separate and flights as well. taxi is only 15 euro each way in taxi.

Room Tip: No air con so in the summer you may need to take an extra fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thomas0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Overall I would definately recommend this hotel as it was great value for money.

Pros were:

- Pool area was clean and had plenty of beds (although had to get up early to reserve them)
- Free wifi around the pool/pool bar area
- Location is good, its basically on the sea front and the main road is full of restaurants/bars. Also the beach is a 10 minute walk away.
- There is a lovely bar and restaurant next to the casino on the seafront that is a 2 min walk from the hotel.
- Room was a good size and balcony was really big as well with a table and chairs and clothes line.
- Quick transfer times to the airport.
- Good for anyone with mobility issues.

Cons were:

- Food at the pool bar wasn't very nice, I would recommend going to one of the bars on the main road for lunch instead.
- Also the pool bar is indoors only & is really dark, only good for those that need a break from the sun.
- We went in Aug so the pool was a bit manic full of kids running round, so it felt more of a family hotel. They do loads of activities/entertainment for kids as well.
- The hairdryer was useless, took ages to dry in the end I gave up styling it - TAKE your own!
- I stayed with 2 friends so we had a twin room with a sofa bed, only 1 person was on there own because the apartment is so big the bedroom and living room are separated.
- The hotel is quite noisy at night but might just be our room - on one side we had the pool bar playing bingo & the other side was overlooking a bar playing a lot of Celine Dion! But nothing ear plugs can't sort out.

The resort itself was very quiet for nightlife, my friends and I are late 20's and were surprised at how dead it was considering it was peak holiday season. It seems more catered for families or older couples. There is lots of variation of food, I've never seen so many Indian/Chinese restaurants in one holiday resort, but then it lacks traditional food, overall I think the resort is definately lacking in character.

We visited the waterpark which was a nice, again it was quiet, probably the quietest one I've been to on a holiday!
We also did the South and North tour of the island, which was a good overview, a bit fast paced other than the stop to ride camels, which unless you plan on riding there is nothing to do but stand in a car park for half an hour, but good to see the volcanos etc. Was a bit pricey though!

The other trip we did was a half day boat trip to a isolated beach or you could stay on the boat & do watersports. We went to the beach for a couple of hours to get off the crammed boat! But the beach was lovely & a cool box full of drinks was left for us. But there is way too many people on these boat trips, so getting a seat on top deck is difficult!

Overall I recommend this hotel, the value for money was great & all necessities were there. Also the reception staff were friendly and helpful. This is within easy reach of shops, bars, restaurants and beaches.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Lluck84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Only just arrived home (29/12/13). Highly recommend these appartments if you want low cost,clean & tidy accomodation. We arrived late evening, the check in at reception was very quick & informative. The reception staff were so helpful & friendly. You can rent a safe for a cost plus 5 euro deposit, if you require the use of the TV ask for the remote control while you are checking in. We stayed in block 1 which over looks the pool with a partial sea view which was ideal. The complex consists of 7 blocks, some with better views then others, all surround the swimming pool. The complex also has a tennis court, childrens play ground & a snack bar. The reception has internet/WIFI, luggage storage, changing room, luggage scales, trip information & a small seating area. If you go to the rear of the reception you can access the rear entrance that leads down to the steps that take you to the main strip of PDC.
The appartments are cleaned 5 times a week, towels are changed twice a week & linen once. You will need to vacate your room by 12:00 hrs on departure day.
We stayed for a week, four adults & two children staying in two apartments. We took part in some of the activities with Pedro, a nice guy & very good at his job, football, tennis, bowls, shooting, pool, darts etc. We never really used the snack bar but the food looked good with reasonable prices. The appartments are clean & have everything you need for your stay. First time I have stayed in one where they provide tea towels, washing sponges & washing up liquid. Plus everything else that you would need for a sel-catering holiday if you want to cook your own food in your appartment. If you require an iron, ask the reception & they willlend you one. Dont be affraid to ask reception for anything, they will try their best to help.
The oly thing that we did notice was the water pressure in the shower, being on the top floor was probably the reason.....not a power shower but more of a trickle shower lol.
The staff are all friendly & seem to take pride in their job.
We enjoyed PDC, havent been back for sometime, a few changes here & there. We visited a good few restaurants, for example the Cantina texmex, terraza, chinese just next to the appartments & the indian/italian restaurant Tettoria?? or something like that, very good & well worth the visit. And Xmas dinner at the Casa Cabana, wow....well worth the cost, very good food & service...thanks Kim & Jeremy.
We visited a good few bars, our favorite was the American Indian, a good live band. Highly recommend a Xmas break in PDC, a good change from that boring Xmas routine back in the UK. we had good weather 23-25, with only one cloudy day.
All in all we would highly recommend La Penita.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool/sea view, sun on balcony, the reception will try to offer you this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Skydive_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

stayed in la penita from the 20th - 27th December and have to say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here we where in room 143 overlooking the pool area. The apartment is spotless and has everything you need, it is very convenient to the main strip minutes walk, just a stunning wee piece of heaven, we definetly would stay here again, and ignore all the negative reviews.

Room Tip: rooms facing the pool is gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
2,306 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#15 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hipotels La Geria
Hipotels La Geria
#10 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,817 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
680 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Penita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Penita Apartments

Address: Calle Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#6 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range: $67 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Penita Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Penita Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Penita Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Penita Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing