We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As good as we hoped for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Penita Apartments
Ranked #6 of 94 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Stockport
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“As good as we hoped for.”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Penita the last week in June and the first in July 2013, and the weather was perfect.
Check in was very easy, for a small payment and deposit you are given a remote control for the TV and a lock and key for the safe. You can get BBC1, ITV and BBC news channels on the TV, and the safe is located as usual in the wardrobe. You are also given a key to the apartment and a key to the gate that surrounds the Penita, this is locked at midnight, a nice bit of added security.
The apartment, lots of cupboard and draw space, there are two extra pillows in the wardrobe as well as lots of hangers, and cups as well as mugs in the kitchen. There is a fan on a stand that you can plug in wherever you want it, we had it blowing all night in the bedroom and it was comfortable, as it was very humid. In the bedroom there are blackout curtains but not in the living room which isn’t good if that’s where you have to sleep. The balcony is very big and is a great place for having something to eat or drink, however if there are small children they would need watching as the hand rail could be climbed up. We were in apartment 227 which looks over the sea, regarding noise I don’t think it matters which apartment you get, they are all quiet.
The pool is a nice size and is cleaned daily, we didn’t have a problem with sun lounges, but I think when the kids have their school holidays there could be shortages.
There is a decent super market not too far away, if you turn left out of the back gate and walk for about a hundred yards, fresh bread every day, but go for the long life milk, anything else will not keep in the fridge for more than a few hours.
The pool bar is a little more expensive than other places for eating and drinking but you have the convenience of it being close. It’s a shame that it closes at 7pm, as this would be a good place to meet other people, I presume they have had noise problems in the past.
No visit from the maid on Sunday and Wednesday, you need to keep this in mind as there are no clean towels on these days.
Check out is 12 o’clock, they have a left luggage area and separate showers along with fresh towels, for those with later flights. At the reception they have a small set of scales, which you can check your luggage weight on, beware if you are with Thomas Cook they charge 18 euros for every kilo over your allowance, as they say, even Dick Turpin wore a mask when he robbed you.
We will return.

Room Tip: If you have kids get a ground floor apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benidorm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    346
    62
    14
    4
See reviews for
260
602
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wicklow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked the la Penita apts through lowcost holidays.com and after reading the reviews on trip advisor liked what we saw and it didnt let us down. Anton on reception when we arrived was kind friendly and very welcoming. All the staff were friendly and very obliging no matter what. The apts were you normal holiday apts and were clean and spacious. Our apt was at the back at the complex which suited us as it was quieter for night time as we had a 5yr old with us. There is childrens pool and a larger pool but we found the childrens pool wasnt deep enough for our son to swim but the larger pool was too deep for him without supervision.

The resort Puerto del camen was quiet which I was surprised at for the first week of July. As a result there was no nightime entertainment and when we enquired about a kids club Anton advised that there wouldnt be one until the middle of july when the summer staff arrived for the summer. This I found strange as I thought summer season started in June and it was the only thing that let the apts down. There was a pool bar but this closed at 6pm so you had to go elsewhere for entertainment. The reception was open fro 8am to 12am and then manned by a security guard for the night. The apts were cleaned every day except sunday and wednesday. We got clean towels every day and bedding was changed once a week.


Lanzorote has definitely suffered from recession and overall was a lot quieter than when I stayed a few years back. Its strip is lined with all the usual souvenir shops but there are some good places to eat Jin Long chinese buffet next to La Penita apts was the nicest of 2 chinese we tasted, also the new londoner chipper was really tasty and all homemade.

We got 2 cocktails for €5 in Africa upstairs from Mulligans and local lagers are very cheap.

Overall I would go back to la Penita Apts they were kind friendly and very welcoming.

Room Tip: If you want quiet then choose at the back of the apt we requested a seaview and this is what we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wickl0wgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Was really impressed with year apartments. It was our first time staying in this part of puerto del Carmen and the apartments were ideally located. Just 1 street back from the main strip with access straight down steps, or around the road. Some lovely restaurants and bars extremely close by. Pool was so clean and not cold at all! Had no problem getting sun loungers and it was so peaceful. There were some families with small children, but no bother at all. Bar food was very cheap and lots of selection. For the supermarket, come out of the main entrance (which faces away from the beach) and turn left. Great selection of books for free, I left about 7 myself. Free wifi around the pool. We were in 222 so could get it in the bedroom. The dubliner pub was great fun at night with live music.
Would definitely go back, even when we have kids. Great choice!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

For the money, the La Penita Apartments represent excellent value. The staff are friendly and efficient. The whole complex is kept spotlessly clean. The pool is very good with a big surface area for splashing about it or some serious swimming. It's location is superb, a few yards from the beaches and the main strip of bars and restaurants, and yet just tucked away so there is no obtrusive noise. There are plenty of sun loungers and parasols (you need them in mid June). Our second floor apartment had a nice see view, some have views of the pool.
Puerto del Carmen is well worth a visit. I recommend you hire a bike, there is a wonderful bike track that runs for around 20 kilometres on the coast. Enjoy!

Room Tip: 2nd floor annex behind reception have nice see views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscommon, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for a week 6th to 13th June. Lovely apartments and staff couldn't be nicer. Clean and spacious. Fab pool and no problem with sun beds. Very safe and secure. Gates locked at midnight but you get a key which opens all the gates around the complex. Wi-Fi didn't work in apartment but worked well in pool bar. The location is brilliant, just behind the shops and restaurants on the main strip with plenty of good restaurants within walking distance....great steaks in the Tex Mex Steak house just out in front of the apartments on main street, and also lovely is Café La Óla across the road and to the right a bit. But loads of other places too. As always the Oriental World tops it for me, although it is a little bit of a walk towards the old town. If possible, do the walk accessed from the old town, to Puerto Calero across the cliffs. Good walk, about 45 minutes but very do-able if you're used to walking. Lovely scenery and town is cute with nice marina and great cafes and designer shops. Market there on Tuesday and Friday. Worth a visit and you can always get a taxi back if you're tired! Overall we enjoyed our trip. Have been to Puerto del Carmen many times and it's the first time that I could say I would go back to the same apartments. So top marks for La Penita....we will be back! Thank you.

Room Tip: Electrical sockets are a bit in short supply so just be aware of this. We had double converters so t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MFarrell60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely love La Penita. Rooms are well equiped and spacious. Good sized balconies and rooms cleaned 5 days out of 7. Pool area spotless and no issues getting a sunbed in Feb. Can get busy during July though!! Pool bar great, good food and a large beer for €2. Service with a smile from Carlos. All staff friendly, nothing ever a problem. Location good, just 1 street from the front. Can't wait to return.


  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sangriagalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a two week stay which we both really enjoyed. The apartments are rather large with a great sized living room and bedroom. The bathroom was fine for what we needed. The whole complex including the apartments are spotless clean and ver well maintained. The location is good I would have preferred it a little closer toward the old town but it's still very close to all shops bars and restaurants.
I would return again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
1.7 mi away
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
Costa Sal Villas and Suites
#3 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montana Club
Montana Club
#13 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#12 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#11 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Penita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Penita Apartments

Property: La Penita Apartments
Address: Calle Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Penita Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your La Penita Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Penita Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Penita Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing