We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location apts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Penita Apartments
Ranked #7 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location apts”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

went for 1 week in june and returned 6th sept for 2 weeks apts clean and good maid service only downside is lack of air con just a fan ,apts were spacious and pool good size ,just walk down a flight of stairs and your on main street and beach ,in a quiet area so not much noise as centre is about a 10 min stroll plenty of good places to eat tex mex yum and great bars would defo return and stay again jin long chineses great value and sue ping lovely only 6.99 euro for buffet only 15mins from airport taxi recommended only approx 15 euros each way as bus takes up to a hour to arrive at apts

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabm1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    353
    65
    15
    4
See reviews for
270
617
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

These apartments are very old and in need of a good refurbishment, the rooms are of a reasonable size and the kitchen area not so bad, but the bathroom was awful. As there is no window in the bathroom there is a glass vent leading onto an airshaft that is shared between the neighbouring apartments and through this you can hear everything, including your neighbour using the toilet (and I don't mean just flushing it). You get dark blue towels which are only changed twice a week so you can't see if they are dirty. Behind the bathroom door we found long dark hairs on the floor (we have blond hair) which remained there for 10 days.
The bedroom has a window that opens onto the open-air corridor that is used by others to gain entry to all the apartments on that floor, so unless you want other people looking in, the curtains had to remain closed all the time and the window shut for security. As there is no air-con you get a fan which we had to keep on all night as it was so hot - the noise from the fan doesn't help when trying to sleep. The bed sheets are changed once a week.
Cleaning is not done on Wednesdays or Sundays and if the rooms were circular it might be okay but they most definately don't clean as far as the corners (see picture)
The pool is a good size but it's painted, not tiled, and the paint is peeling off round the sides and on the floor
(see picture) also it's very heavily chlorinated. Despite the notices not to reserve sun loungers, people were putting their towels on them as early as 7:30am when it was only just getting light and the staff just ignored them.
The staff seemed very pleasant, probably doing the best they could, but we shall not be going there again.

If you go to the small beach across the road, be aware that at high tide the sea comes right in and the sand is wet for a good while after. The main beach is about 20mins walk away, 2 sunbeds and a parasol was 8 Euros

At Arrecife airport if your luggage weighs even 1 kilo over your allowance you will be charged, I think the people in front of us paid about 17 euros per kilo.

Room Tip: Choose another place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissy08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just got back from a weeks holiday at La Penita apartments where we stayed for the first time. The location was great as it takes about 5 mins to get to the beach which was spacious and not very busy at the end of September. We stayed in apartment number 190 which was on the ground floor, the pool was just a minute away up some stairs. We always found there were enough sun loungers, although like most hotels, to get the best ones you have to get out before 8. The pool bar was reasonably priced and the food was nice. The apartments were very clean and in good condition although the biggest negative was the lack of airconditioning and we were so glad to be on the bottom floor that did not get direct sunlight as unless you stood directly in front of the fan it was very stuffy. The only other annoying things were the small bath towels that were only changed twice a week and the lack of warm water in the shower after 10 mins. You are provided with a key to the gate that leads to the main seafront and this was great as it makes you feel safe and all the bars and supermarkets are right on your doorstep. Even though we were so close to the bars we found the apartment quiet at night when sleeping. All the staff were friendly, and the man on reception was especially helpful in arranging taxis and the airport transfer. It took about 10-15 mins to get to the airport, so would recommend getting a taxis as our transfer company wanted to pick us up 4 hours before our flight!!! We would definitely recommend La Penita to couples, friends and families (as long as they could cope without airconditioning)and would happily return in the future.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartments are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pheef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

very good value hotel. Only negative is a lack of air con.

beach only 100m away. airport is only 15mins taxi ride away.

would recommend to any couple on self-catering holiday.

TV with a good selection of English channels.

The buffet @ "Jin Long" Chinese restaurant (Downstairs on the strip, just turn right and a couple shops/restaurants away) IS AMAZING! Although this is a buffet, the food is so fresh, and the service is both professional and friendly. Say hello to SUE PING :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ae398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our second time to stay at the La Penita and we loved it. On arriving at our apartments there was a lovely welcome note and a bottle of wine nice touch :). The staff are so friendly and so are all the bar staff :). The rooms are kept very clean by the maids 5 days a week. The La Penita are in a great location in the quieter side of puerto Del Carmen with great restaurants and shops just on the door step :) Really looking forward to coming back again next year :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed at these apartments for the first time this year and thought they were great. The pool was a stones throw from the rooms which meant you didn't mind going back and forth rather than carting everything at the same time. The staff were very friendly, pool, water polo, darts, football and bingo etc organised so plenty to do if you wanted to be active. The pool itself was a nice size and the apartments were right beside the strip of bars, restaurants and beach so handy for everthing. would go there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolsbelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Just back from a week long stay at these apartments and loved them! the apartments and complex were spotless, pool cleaned every evening and the location was great! As in previous reviews, the only downside was no air con but as we were on the top floor, we had the sea breeze in the evenings so with the balcony door left open it was bearable! Staff were all very friendly and the food and drink in the pool bar was decent value. All in all, i wouldnt hesitate in recommending these apartments to anybody looking for affordable accomodation in a great location!

Room Tip: top floor room will give you a nice breeze in the evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
580 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#8 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
738 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,570 reviews
0.8 mi away
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
Apartamentos Jable Bermudas
#13 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Penita Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Penita Apartments

Property: La Penita Apartments
Address: Calle Chalana 2, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#9 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Penita Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your La Penita Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Penita Apartments Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
La Penita Apartments Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing