We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a refreshing change - cheap but clean, pleasant and quiet”
Review of Hyde Park Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyde Park Lane
Ranked #22 of 91 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“a refreshing change - cheap but clean, pleasant and quiet”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

have been back to this resort many times over the last 15 years. It is well laid out with two pools a small spa, bar and a restaurant although not really used the latter. lots of sunbeds very quiet most of the time but we do go out of main holiday time That said years ago we took our young son and it suited the family just fine. Very clean and staff very helpful. a good place for a tranquil break. only a 12 euro taxi ride form the airport, a short 5-10 min walk to the nearest huge beach. A small range of bar and restaurants a similar time, with even more 20-30 minutes away. Downsides for many would be the limited sat tv...just 3 english news channels, no aircon and very basic furnishings inc hard beds, sparse entertainment....but we kind of got over all that and if you want a nice relaxing, friendly and cheap holiday this is the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    354
    159
    37
    20
See reviews for
236
375
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed in these bungalows from 30th December. We thought it a lovely complex, with the staff very helpful and friendly. Stayed in a bungalow with lovely terrace, with beautiful flowers which was the perfect place to sit and have morning coffee. It was a very quiet complex and we found the beds very comfortable. Got chilly in the evening but found heater in cupboard and once that was put on bungalow warmed up nicely, plus with 2 extra blankets which were in wardrobes we never found it cold. It was about a 20 minute walk from the main part of Puerto del Carmen, which may be too far for some people, but there were numerous places to stop on the way for a rest/drink. We went to the Dubliner on the front for New Year's Eve and had the best new year ever, good group and bar provided complimentary snacks after midnight. Had tv in bungalow which although we had on we never really watched as we were too busy going out enjoying ourselves, although there were about 6 English speaking channels to watch with a very good reception. All in all we had no complaints whatsoever about the bungalows or complex and had a really relaxing, sunny holiday. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Bungalows away from pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ThomasM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in HPL for NY 2012 and really liked it. The site is very big as it expands over the road from the main reception and we found it very quiet at all times of the day. The reception is very helpful, the shop next door adequate for what you need but the local Spa on the beach road has more variety, providing you are willing to carry your shopping a little further.

We stayed in a bungalow. There are also 2 storey apartments. It had everything in it that we required, although we only ate in it once. It was good to have separate rooms for the living room and bedroom, and of course bathroom, unlike other apartments we have stayed in where everything apart from the bathroom is in the same room. There was a TV which we watched one night we stayed in. Yes, not many channels but we hadn’t gone on holiday to watch tv. The staff were very friendly, although I’ve never been anywhere where the maids turn up at 8:30am. They do a good job, though. We had no problems like hard lumpy beds etc that I have read from other reviewers. Our patio was quite private so we sunbathed there.

We had breakfast at the hotel twice. It was adequate and cost 5 euros each. We would have preferred more variety in fruit and fry up each day rather than the variety being spread over different days but it did provide the usual variety of continental breakfast and fry up with tea, coffee etc. It is certainly the healthier way to start your day rather than going to a nearby cafe who normally just serve up variations of a cooked breakfast, which vary in price starting from approx 5 euros which include a tea, coffee, juice.

We didn’t try the pools because it was December, although there were a few brave people in there, but the areas were nice and clean and it would be lovely in the summer. We didn’t expect them to be heated.

The walk into the heart of Puerto del Carmen took about 30 mins stroll which we knew about before we booked but there are shops, restaurants, bars nearer than that. The walk the other way into Matagorda took about the same amount of time and is a lot quieter than Puerto del Carmen but was a nice change. Walk a little further and you can walk to the edge of the runway. And even further into Arrecife (although we didn’t quite manage that).

In conclusion, for us, we would like to pick HPL up and plonk it in the centre of Puerto del Carmen and everything would be perfect.

Room Tip: Our room was over the road from reception on the road side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EileenEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

This complex we found to be just ok. We didn't really have much to do with the staff so can't really comment on them. We originally chose this hotel as it was £400+ cheaper per person than staying close to the centre of Puerto Del Carmen. It's a nice walk into the main resort and takes around 15 minutes. The rooms at the complex are OK. We stayed in room 178, upstairs over the road looking over the quieter pool. The bedroom is dark and cold and the beds would be better situated in an abertois as they were like sleeping on a slab of marble! The whole week we made up the sofa beds in the living room and slept there as it was far more comfortable. The kitchen was clean and everything was there you needed. The on site supermarket is very good and not overpriced. Now the pool 'Bar' was totally unbearable to sit in as it reeks of fried food and grease. All of the meals are cooked behind the bar which I found really minging. I'm sure if we'd spent any period of time in this bar our clothes would have had to be thrown away afterwards. The bar was always deserted and I'm sure the smell was the reason why. The main pool area was nice and the wifi was good. The whole place could do with a refurbishment though.

Down the street just as you get to the beach there is a supermarket and 2 cafes, do not eat at these places, they were both awful and your better off walking further into the main resort and eating somewhere decent. We ate at Cafe la Ola, Mexican Cantina, Fazz's Indian and had an excellent breakfast at Hot Spot bar. All these places were really good value and top quality food.

We love Puerto Del Carmen for a relaxing break but wouldn't stay at this hotel again. We stayed at the Cinco Plazas last time and we will be choosing there again if we return in the future.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank RossNewcastle1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

This was great for a Xmas/New year break. The bungalows were well appointed, everything worked and the maid we had was lovely. True, the beds were a little hard, but not too uncomfortable. The bar prices were reasonable and the supermarket well stocked. We were very pleased and we will be coming back soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andy290567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,209 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 483 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

hyde park lane bungalows was good for me, a pool, nice roomy bar .stays open till 12 30 for a night cap.the bungalow was nice. beds were ok,a little open plan kitchen good lounge,tv 30 channels lots of english speaking,nice gardens a small super market on site,restaurant ,snack bar,the receptionist will help you and get you a taxi to old town 5 euros or airport 12 euros,the strip is a 10 minute walk away ,lots of bars restaurants,shops also bus stop ,will take you to old town,i walked 20 minutes, its a very nice walk along the beach front, if to hot stop,have a cold drink,the old town has lots of bars and some good restaurants lots of live music lots of fun. will be back.

Room Tip: not near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamesthewedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Where to start.

Rude staff.

The receptionist was always talking to a gardener, if you tryed to talk to her she rolled her eyes and huffed. It was like my question was the most unimportant thing for her to deal with.

Dirty Bar

The bar staff didn't like to wash the glasses very often.
Or the tables.

Damp smelling rooms.

All the windows where open when we arrived.
And it still smelt damp.
The blankets smelt damp. Asked the maid to change them.
She shrugged her shoulders and said no English
Went to reception after 10 mins of her talking to the gardener she delt with housekeeping. 20 mins later the maid turned up with 2 new damp smelling blankets

The Beds

The most uncomfortable bed I have ever tryed to sleep in
Went and got a sun bed and slept on that every night.
The lady in the spa wasn't intrested in making any effort to make you feel welcome.

The TV
I didn't mind having to leave a deposit for the remote
We had 2 remotes before the third one worked
But then realized there where only 2 channels to watch.
And the signal was so poor you couldn't watch it anyway

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iowjolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.5 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#9 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
581 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hyde Park Lane Villas
Hyde Park Lane Villas
#53 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#19 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
738 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apartamentos Fariones
Apartamentos Fariones
#12 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
673 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acuario Sol
Acuario Sol
#31 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyde Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyde Park Lane

Property: Hyde Park Lane
Address: Calle Hungria, 6 | Puerto del Carmen, Tias, 35510 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#25 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyde Park Lane 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hyde Park Lane is a 10-minute walk from Los Pocillos Beach. Hyde Park Lane is set 2 km from the centre of Puerto del Carmen. This modern complex is set in 30,000 m² of gardens. Featuring 1 restaurant, 4 outdoor pools and free WiFi. Each air conditioned room has a TV with satellite channels, safe, desk, kitchenette equipped with a ceramic hob, fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle and a coffee maker. The private bathroom includes a hairdryer and shower. All rooms have a balcony or terrace with views of the surrounding pool or garden. (terrace with barbecue facilities) Guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast and dinner in the Hyde Park’s restaurant, while the poolside snack bar serves cocktails in the evenings. The property offers a 24-hour reception, playground, supermarket within the complex, a spa equipped with sauna, hot tub and ice baths, a wide selection of massages are available, tennis court, 4 paddle courts and billiards. During the months of July and August we have entertainment for children and adults, mini club and disco. Lanzarote Airport is just 10 minutes’ drive away from Hyde Park Lane Apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyde Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyde Park Lane Bungalows Hotel Puerto Del Carmen
Hyde Park Lane Hotel
Hotel Hyde Park Lane
Hyde Park Lane Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing