We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely chillout break”
Review of Relaxia Olivina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relaxia Olivina
Ranked #26 of 92 Hotels in Puerto Del Carmen
scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a lovely chillout break”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We are just home from the Riu Olivana hotel and as frequent visitors to the riu hotels and a riu member we never judge on hotels prior to staying in one ourselves. on arrival at the hotel around lunchtime we presented ourselves at reception to a smiling gent who advised us our room would not be ready for an hour but we could meantime have lunch and a refresh whilst waiting not a problem as it does say checkin is at 1500 hours and it was only 1300 we went down to the restaurant and was surprised at how busy the place was considering the time of year plenty of choice and no problem with the service the table was cleaned of plates and glasses whenever required and one of the hotel managers was available if any assistance was required. after lunch which was very nice we had a few vodka suns which is our fav cocktail then back to reception and collected our room key and safe key also which there is no charge for
The room was on the first floor at the far end of the long corridor very clean and a nice samsung telly with a fridge below it the floor was carpeted and was spotless room was kept clean and tidy for the duration of our stay a/c was never required due to the time of year but on trying it it did work very well bathroom also very nice bright and had a hairdrier but my wife says take your own for total satisfaction.
pool area is large and there were always riu staff going around taking names for games etc but never ever did they try and force anyone to take part. loads of sunloungers and no matter when you came down you were always able to select any area around the pool, our fav area was the fantastic padded chairs and tables beside the bar ha ha. beers wines juices and coffees were all self service as was the afternoon snacks and burgers, but the burgers and hot dogs you had to microwave yourself which was no big problem. This riu is not as large as some of the clubhotel ones we go to so on the drinks front it was all local beers sprits etc but was still highly rated cocktails are very nice and if you like the vodka suns then this is the place to be.
Now most of you will know what it can be like a evening meals etc cattle stampeds and all the rest of the pushing and jostling well we were the 20-00 setting and through years of experience we normally have a few drinks and let the mad rush pass us by this was no different so at around 20-30 we normally headed in to the restaraunt where on your first night you would be allocated a table which was your seat for the duration of your stay dinner was served from various serving stations and locations and anyone who says that they could not find anything to accomodate their taste are beyond belief we have to say the meals were very well prepared for the size of hotel it was.
Now one point I cannot comment on is there are also apts as a part of this complex and a few guests arriving were litterally shocked to find that they had been given an apt and not a hotel room this was a matter that we had read on here prior to going and although we booked with the riu direct we still ensured that we were in the hoteland not an apt. this is where on reading back I found a lot of the bad reviews on here were caused by this type of confusion which seems to be by the thomson group or tui. If you are looking for a lovely chillout break and value for money then I can reccomend you look no further than here but make sure if it is the main hotel you wish to stay then ensure that is what you book

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rab_scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    607
    895
    361
    91
    65
See reviews for
700
934
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2011

Stayed in the apartment section fron 16/23 Jan 2011.

GOOD POINTS
Resort very clean.
Grounds well kept.
Good food choice.
Self service for drinks apart from spirits.
Most staff friendly.

BAD POINTS
No pools were heated.
No heating in apartments - could get chilly at night/early morning.
Food often cold.
Bar service ends at midnight - at about 23.30 each night bar staff begin to pack up. At 00.01 was asked to leave the bar area and to sit outside!!! Very unprofessional.

All in all OK.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wales0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

We booked this hotel in Puerto del Carmen, Lanzarote for just one week, to meet up with family who were staying in the same place. And one night was enough!
After arriving at the hottest day of that summer (confirmed by locals) we just wanted to check in and have a good sleep. How dissappointed we were.
We are used at staying in Riu hotels and we checked in with our Membership card. None of the reception staff present at the time, seemed to know what to do with this card! After giving us the room key, we took off with our own suit cases, nobody around to help us with the suit cases and pointing us the way to our appartment. This appartment was situated in the old part of this hotel, so after a long walk we finally arrived to find an appartment which was outdated several years ago. Brown tiles in the bathroom should ring a bell. No airco in the appartment except for a small fan in the bedroom, which was placed to wrong way, so no cool air what so ever was available. No working fridge and a badly closing door to the balcony. Our daughter of 7 was supposed to sleep in a non airconditioned or ventilated room on a cough, although we asked at booking for an extra bed!! The swimming pool right in front of our appartment was gone: there was only a bunch of lava sand. The only reminder that there used to be a swimming pool was a lonely shower. We learned afterwards that the swimming pool was closed down that summer?
We went straight back to the reception to ask for another room. Unlucky for us, none was available anywhere in this hotel. When we explained the minors, the promised us that we could have another room the next day, but the receptionist also mentioned that we should contact our tour operator to get a stay in another hotel, because they could not chance the room availabilities and this complaint was known this whole summer!
Because there was nothing we could do at that moment, we went for dinner at the restaurant, which looked like a eating area at a motel, nothing for a 4 star Riu hotel. Food was mostly cold and staff was unusual unpolite towards the guests. As mentioned we are Riu members and we have visited lots of hotels with less stars also but with more class.
After a terrible nigth in which we were disturbed by a beautiful palm tree, ticking impatiently against our bedroom window whole night long at the rythym of the strong wind and a disfunctioning fan, the next day we immediatly contact our hostess and we asked for her help out of this dissapointing experience.

Tumbs up for our Holland International hostess, who immediate took proper action. No rooms available, so she arranged for us that we were able to check out another Riu hotel down the street. This hotel had some rooms and appartments available and were willing to help us out. We met a wonderfull receptionist called Ryan and he suggested several room to us from which we could choose and with a little extra amount we could check in the same day. All the staff in this hotel were polite and went out of their way to help us.
When we checked out at the Olivina Resort, they were suprised we only stayed for 1 night! Never again in this hotel.
Must point out, that although the appartments are terrible and have a 3star ranking which is mildly overrated, the hotel side seem to be worth the 4star ranking, but we are not sure: we did not get a chance to check this.
The remainer of our 6 days holiday we stayed at the Riu Paraiso Lanzarote Resort: check out my comments on this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jemielove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2011

I went for a week with my husband, two young children and mother-in-law. It was the end of October and the weather was pretty good. Pocillos beach is a fairly close walk, 10 mins and has sun beds to rent. The sand is really nice and not rocky.
It has been a couple months since I stayed at the hotel but I do remember thinking that I've stayed in worse. There was a cockroach in the eating area just the base of one of the buffet tables and one in my room. They are quite large too. I can't completely fault the property, the climate is conducive to cockroaches. It was by no means infested...so not that big of deal. Just gross. The pools were very cold. I had a hard time swimming in them. The kids club was fantastic as was the Mini Disco in the evenings. Big hit with my five year old. The food was fairly varied each day but was a tad bland. I like that they did seem to have some local dishes mixed in with the typical buffet food. I had to use a high for my youngest and they were rarely clean, even when we would be the first ones to use it for meals. My baby ended getting chicken pox at the end of the week, so I suspect she contracted it from the highchairs. The rooms were a good size and were cleaned daily. My husband loved the beer and wine on tap that you can get yourself.
I would recommend this hotel but I would also say to keep your options open. There was free internet in the lobby if you had your own computer. It's hard to describe the hotel. I think 10-15 years ago it would have been trendy but it could use some updating. This was my first time at RIU and I heard they were quite luxurious, I wouldn't say this hotel was luxurious in the least.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensatravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2010

Stayed at the Olivina from the 16th to the 23rd December. Myself and my husband in our 40's had a fabulous time. The hotel consists of hotel and apartments, we stayed in an apartment, the rooms were cleaned every day except Wednesday's which I think must be the maid's day off, fresh towels everyday and the maids were very freindly and polite. The food was excellent for all meals there was always something different, pastas, salads, meat, fish, vegetables, chips, potatos, pizza's, soup, all fresh and very tasty something for everyone, we never needed to eat out as there was always plenty of choice. I cannot say enough about the staff they are all very hardworking and all extremely polite and friendly and make you feel very welcome. The hotel was spotless clean, plenty of sunbeds to go around no matter what time of day you went to get one, the pools were also very clean there were 3 in total although we tended to use the one near our apartment, it wasn't heated but not that cold either just right to be honest. There are some great beaches also if you walk to the bottom of the road and then left, only a few minutes walk. If you walk to the right you hit the shops, and restaurants and bars, its a really lovely place and hope to go back again next year at the same time. Costa Teguise market is worth a visit but recommend to book with last minute excursions on the front it only cost 4 euro but if booked with Thompson it costs 16 euro for exactly the same. Also on the last couple of days we got bit quite badly with Mosquito's so make sure you take some spray !!

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank aloevera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We always try to book Riu Hotels as they are excellent for AI holidays with children, but this holiday was dissapointing because when we got there we quickly realised that we were not booked in the 4 star hotel, but actually in the 3 star apartments.
This is not mentioned when booking!
Food is good quality, staff are excellent and always try their best at keeping everyone happy. Childrens entertainment is OK but the small team are trying their upmost to do their best with little resources.
In this Riu hotel they don't give out bottles of water like they do in the Riu club hotels, but most people take empty bottles and top them up at the drinks station.
We have a lovely stay at this Hotel but wouldn't go back, quite a few British had booked through Thompson and were very dissapointed because of the 3 star status.
Very clean, but really could do with a revamp.
No problems with sunbeds loads available and 2 large pools 1 heated small childs pool.
There is a cafe bar at the apartment pool but this is not open in the off peak season, so it was quite a trek to get refreshments.
Not much on offer for snacks rolls,cheese, cold meats bit limited.
We booked direct and got quite a reasonable rate so all in all we felt we got what we paid.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pickysod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The complex consists Hotel and apartments and is situated on a fairly large site within a 10 minute walk from the beach. I stayed in a room on the first floor which was spacious and the balcony overlooked the large swimming pool. The food was very good, varied and definitely something for everyone's taste. Being an all inclusive deal meant that no money changed hands even for alcoholic drinks - the bars were open 24 hours. Towels were provided for the poolside, free of charge. The chambermaids ensured that the bathroom towels were made into shapes of various animals and it was amusing to see what they had designed on a daily basis. All members of staff were courteous and very helpful. Entertainment was provided on most evenings and some acts were very good. I did not venture to the beach but was advised that it was very black sand, no facilities, nowhere to purchase drinks and a charge was made for a sunbed. A very large lounge area provided for smokers.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vhg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Lanzarote Village
Hotel Lanzarote Village
#21 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,504 reviews
0.2 mi away
VIK Hotel San Antonio
VIK Hotel San Antonio
#24 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
1,790 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#29 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Las Costas
Las Costas
#7 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
705 reviews
1.0 mi away
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
Seaside Los Jameos Playa
#9 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
Apartamentos Barcarola Club
#11 of 92 in Puerto Del Carmen
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relaxia Olivina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relaxia Olivina

Property: Relaxia Olivina
Address: Calle Grecia 11, 35519 Puerto Del Carmen, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Olé Olivina Lanzarote)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Puerto Del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#14 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#23 Family Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
#26 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Relaxia Olivina 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Relaxia Olivina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Olivina Hotel
Relaxia Olivina Lanzarote/Puerto Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing